We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We had a blast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rough River Dam Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Falls of Rough
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We had a blast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

THANK YOU SO MUCH for the wonderful stay! We brought our border collie, so we had to stay in a "standard" cottage! It was perfect and beautiful! So peaceful and quiet! We can only imagine what the deluxe & executive cottages are like! Staff at the lodge are awesome - and at the marina, too! Highly recommend the chicken breast topped with onions and mushrooms, mashed potatoes and green beans! Yum! We'll be back - leave a light on for us!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 428AnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
To 428AnnB:

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. When we renovated some of our Standard Cottages we made them “Pet Friendly”, because so many people prefer to travel with their pets. We are also glad you enjoyed the food at Grayson’s Landing Restaurant. We hope you visit us again soon.

Michael – Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    21
    4
    7
See reviews for
22
19
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I was in the area on a house hunting trip. A friend and her husband invited me to fly up in their Piper for dinner. We landed at the lovely little airport chocked down the plane and walked a block or so to the Lodge. It was lovely and had many places to relax if staying at the Lodge. The view of the lake was beautiful in the twilight. The food on the buffet was tasty but the best was the Double Crusted Blackberry Cobbler!!! It reminded me of the Cobbler that my grandmother made.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OakwindTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
To OAKWIND TN:

We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Grayson’s Landing Restaurant. We have had many favorable comments about our food and service. Thank you for your visit and your kind words. Please come and see us again whenever you are in the area.

Michael – Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
152 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately the once-stylish facility is now overall in pretty rough shape with the exception of the banquet hall. Each of our meals at the resort restaurant were either bland or simply down-right terrible, deep-fried, frozen fare. We also made the mistake of reserving a "cabin" instead of a less-awful hotel room. The cabin was decorated in frathouse castoff style with stained carpeting and centipedes in the bed. The bathrooms were in dire need of major cleaning and updating. Do not reserve a cabin if you are looking for an intimate, cozy, experience.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank itineraryWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
To ItineraryWI:

I am extremely apologetic that your stay at our Park was not what you had expected. We do our best to take care of our customers and are disappointed when we fall short. I understand your comments on the cottage condition. We have been gradually upgrading our cottages with new flooring and furniture. We have completed two more cottages since you were here in December, most probably including the one in which you stayed. While we have been getting good comments on our food, I am sorry that your meal was not to your satisfaction. I hope that we can host you again at some future date and make your experience more enjoyable.

Michael Ricks, Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Falls of Rough hotels

Stamping Ground, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed staying here. We stayed in a pet friendly lodge room. The staff are great, friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable and all have balconies overlooking the lake. Food at the restaurant was good and the restaurant was pretty. Hope to return

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phyllis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
To Phyllis D.:

On behalf of our staff, we thank you for your comments and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you can come back in the summer when the Lake is at summer pool and the weather is prettier. Of course, we would enjoy hosting you any time you come our way. Thank you again.

Michael Ricks, Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This was just perfect place to spend night. Was really tired and they made me come back to life after they were so nice. The food and guest services were great.I would stay here with my wife on a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
To Richard S.:
Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you had a relaxing time here at Rough River. It is our goal to make sure that we do our best for all of our guests. Hopefully you can stay longer on your next visit and enjoy the lake and the other park activities.
Michael R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
772 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I love staying at this place whenever I am in town visiting family. I have stayed in the hotels rooms overlooking the lake most times. The last few trips here I decided to rent a cabin instead and really enjoyed it. The views of the lake can be breathtaking. They have a nice outdoor pool, par 3 golf course, beach and putt putt golf. The rooms are always clean and comfortable that comes at a fair price.

Room Tip: Rent a cabin or cottage overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
To Kyle L.: Thank you for your kind words regarding our Park. You point out that you prefer our cottages. You are not alone. Of our seventeen 2-bedroom cottages, we have re-modeled six over the past 2 winters. We will be working on four more this fall and winter. While our restaurant is popular, guests also like to utilize the kitchens in the cottages for family meals. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Michael R., Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union, Kentucky, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Our family just spent a few days at Rough River Dam State Park, We enjoyed a cottage near the marina, nicely kept and clean, very comfortable, and the rate was good. The front desk staff was very receptive and took care of all of our needs in quick fashion. Very professional and friendly.

The park has excellent hiking trails and a well equipped marina, again the staff was eager to help and receptive to needs. A great day on the lake. The Buffet dinner was excellent and again the staff was above and beyond, a very good value for the family. Pool area was great and again staff on duty and friendly! Everyone we came across made us feel like we were at home, which is important in today's world, thanks to all of them.

Would rate this as an excellent experience, Thanks Rough River Dam Park Staff!

Room Tip: Cottage was a very good choice for us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bennett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael R, Manager at Rough River Dam Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
To Bennett A: Thank you for your comments. Ours staff works hard to make sure that every one of our guests is treated with care. Our hope is that you will visit us again and again. Thank you very much for staying with us and your comments mean a lot to our team. Michael R., Park Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rough River Dam Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rough River Dam Lodge

Property: Rough River Dam Lodge
Address: 450 Lodge Rd, Falls of Rough, KY 40119-6100
Region: United States > Kentucky > Falls of Rough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Falls of Rough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rough River Dam Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rough River Dam Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rough River Dam State Resort Park Hotel Falls Of Rough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing