We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
22
3
0
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
22
3
0
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2018 via mobile

The name had changed to Lafayette Golf Resort. The staff were all very nice. Its the only golf course around that I could find. Some of the players said that the course was used for hay 2 years ago. Lets just say they are really making it playable now. The prices are reasonable and they offer several discounts. I would say this course is a diamond in the rough!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Shae1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase G, General Manager at Falls of Rough Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hey we really appreciate the compliment and understanding where we are vs. where we are going. We hope you stick with us as we continue to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

We had a great experience at the Falls. My husband and I and another couple spent 2 nights in the very comfortable cabins along the river. We were pleasantly surprised how nice the cabins were. Big enough to sleep six comfortably with 2 bedrooms, full kitchen, cable tv and a great front porch with rocking chairs to watch the river go by. They were also air-conditioned which was a great since it was really hot. Chase and the rest of the staff were so accommodating and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. We also enjoyed the beach a few miles away at the state park.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Mauradj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase G, General Manager at Falls of Rough Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

We're so glad you had a great time! Thank you for your compliments on our cabin and our staff. We appreciate your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

I hate to leave such a terrible review, since the young kid trying to run this place was clearly doing his best, but this place was just a disaster. The two employees we met while there were wearing blue jeans and everything was beyond unprofessional.
The web had said drinks and a snack bar were available. Not true, no menu, no tables..we did find a nonemployee who looked around and could make us a burger since we were famished. There is no pro shop here, no pool, no front desk for check in, no information on services, no falls, no cell phone service, no internet, no employees except one kid and a room cleaner. Not even ice. Stained towels in room, dirty floor. Perhaps worth half of what we paid. Not a resort at all!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dvoorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase G, General Manager at Falls of Rough Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2018

Hi there. I definitely agree that we have a lot to work on. We are a start up, and there are certain aspects of this business that we really have to focus on more than others at this time. This year's focus is on getting the course back into shape after years of neglect. That does leave us lacking in other departments (hence why we have so few items in the pro shop). This is a dry county so it is not possible for us to have a bar right now (although that could change soon) and the pool is being worked on and will open up this month.

These concessions aside, I am befuddled by most of your complaints. We definitely have a snack bar, from which you purchased burgers; we have so many tables that we rent the area out as event space. We just did a graduation party in that area for about 50 guests. There is a beautiful bridge constructed in the early 1800's where you can watch and listen to the falls. Hence the name of our town, Falls of Rough, Kentucky. We sell ice at the clubhouse, which you were provided at no cost.

Our cabins are beautiful and you are the first to find any major fault with them. Your cabin was cleaned right before you arrived (I remember because we let you check in an hour and a half early.) Not to mention, our owner just purchased brand new towels for us last week, so I sincerely doubt they were sullied in any way. These cabins are worth more than the $129.00 per night we ask for them, but we lowered the price because like you said, we don't have all of the amenities and activities we will one day have here at Falls of Rough Resort.

I do want to reiterate that for us to be a top flight destination, we need to add a lot to this place, which will be a gradual process. However, at $129.00 a night our cabins are priced comparably to anything in this area. We hope you enjoy the remainder of your bicycle journey across the country, and we apologize for not meeting your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2018

Falls of Rough?! How about diamond in the rough! While the course could still use some TLC (it's recovering from poor grounds keeping and is under new owner ship/management), it's still a wonderful play and the over all property is absolutely breathtaking. Cabins are sweet and cozy, yet very spacious, and were beyond immaculate. They come with every accessory needed to make you feel at home (a/c, bedding, towels, toiletries, kitchen appliances/pots/pans, coffee!), and the beds were super comfy -- or maybe we just had too much fun. Regardless, we slept like babies! Wifi is only at the club house, and service is pretty slim, but we didn't mind "disconnecting". The Green Farm Mansion (B&B) on the property is stunning, and although we weren't able to sit on on the complementary breakfast in the mornings we were able to "peek around" the rooms after checkout one morning and it smelt wonderful! There is a pool close to the clubhouse, and if fishing is your thing you'll be happy to know that there are some hefty Striper flowing through the river and over the falls. We were also given permission to catch and release from the course ponds in the evenings after the course cleared. The property sit right up next to an ATV park and is only a ~5 minute drive to the Rough RIver Dam State Resort where there is an air port for those who fly and lake where you can rent watercraft. The beach there was fairly clean and so was the water. Also, the owners of the course own Kentucky Down Under (an adventure zoo) and we were offered a great discount if we chose to make the hour drive to visit there. Overall, there aren't enough good things to say! The staff on the property couldn't have been more welcoming, and it's no joke when I say we left feeling like family. We cannot wait to return, and hope that others will check it out and support the course as it comes back to full health. Thank you, Chase and the rest of the staff for making this a life long destination for us!

Room Tip: For a river view cabin, request cabins 1-3, communal fire pit between cabins 4-5
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank chomstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chase G, General Manager at Falls of Rough Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

We're so glad you had such a great time! You were amazing guests and we loved having you.We look forward to having you stay with us again next month!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Cabins are big, 2 beds 2 baths, fully equipped with porches, fire pits, and all the amenities. Boat access to lake is great and we did use. The young man at the dock was awesome and took really good care of us.

The restaurant we ate at in the Lodge was great, buffet and good menu. The service was also good and they were able to provide receipts for 5 different people.

Room Tip: Cabins would be great for 2 people to share, or a whole family.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews