We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great facility with a super staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salato Wildlife Education Center

Salato Wildlife Education Center
Ranked #5 of 38 things to do in Frankfort
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great facility with a super staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Salato has become a favorite excursion when we visit Kentucky. Our grandson who lives in Louisville, loves to visit the center's reptile room (his favorite is the alligator turtle) and to walk the well-ordered macadam paths outside to see native wildlife.The paved walkways are easy to follow and easy to walk - probably good for those who use wheelchairs.too. There's a pretty stream and waterfall outside, and under the little waterfall is a short tunnel with an aquarium window to view some of the below surface stream life. Each habitat has a roofed overview platform, to look over its enclosure - bison, deer, elk, bobcats, black bear, etc. - the habitats are spacious. There is a new native plant walkway and we also enjoy the center's super wetland habitat. We brought our granddaughters from Black Mountain, NC, their Dad, our grandson and his Mom and Dad - it was a full day of healthy,fun entertainment. There is now a very modest per person fee to visit - just $4 per adult, $2 per child (under age 5 is free) - a very reasonable price for a wonderful day of in- and outdoor entertainment. When your little explorers finish their Salato adventure and it's time to refuel, down the hill from the center is a large picnic pavilion. Make it day of it!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Grannysjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    25
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First Time-Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have lived in Frankfort for about 10 years now and I have NEVER been to Salato. It dawned on me to bring my mom because she loves animals and so do I. The education center was pretty awesome, plus the guy at the front desk was super helpful-and not to bad on the eyes either... I wanted to see the Buffalo's and the Bald Eagle. When we came to the Bald Eagle he was sitting there looking away from us and we walked up and he turned and looked right at us and didn't break his stare at all. He wasn't in a cage, from what I saw, so I wonder how can they combat him staying in? Anyway, it was a hot day and the animals were either in the shade cooling off or drinking water on their way to get into the shade. They have a new baby buffalo! He was born May 15! So cute and HUGE! This is a must go to for anyone in Frankfort or passing through!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank iJWhitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgewater, Florida
Level Contributor
72 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The Salato Wildlife Education Center is a place everyone should visit whether they live in Kentucky or just visiting. The staff is friendly and knowledgeable. There are numerous events happening there throughout the year. You can get on their mailing list (or email) so you can stay up-to-date. There are live animals native to Kentucky in natural displays. They have educational sessions and they also have events where they may travel to another part of the state for something such as eagle watching. Visit their website to learn more.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Kentucky
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Many "hands on" activities for the kids. Wildlife galore and friendly, helpful staff. Spend an hour or the whole day. Go out of your way, if you must. Don't leave the area until you pay this place a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvsTravel273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to take your family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Called the 'Game Farm' by local residents, the Salato Wildlife Center offers a great look at several native animals of Kentucky in the natural habitats. You can see buffalo, elk, deer, turkey, eagles, bears, bobcats, fish, and many more. They often have animals out that you can see and touch, such as snakes, owls, turtles, and other reptiles.

Many of the exhibits are interactive and offer a great resource and learning opportunity for children. You can also get a one day fishing license which allows you to fish in one of two lakes on the property. Walking trails cover much of the area and are great places for exercise as well as learning.

Admission is affordable and you can get a family pass. Definitely worth the time to take your family out for an afternoon.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Dchoward5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salato Wildlife Education Center also viewed

 

Been to Salato Wildlife Education Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing