We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“go for the scotch egg, charming owners, and wonderful night's sleep” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Meeting House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Frankfort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Meeting House
Ranked #1 of 4 Frankfort B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“go for the scotch egg, charming owners, and wonderful night's sleep”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

The rooms are cozy. The sitting room is lovely and relaxing- a wonderful country cottage just feet from the transportation building. The owners are charming. The coffee (made by a Bostonian who knows his coffee) is delicious. The breakfast is amazing. The apple dumpling is warm melty heaven, and the scotch egg was new to me, but a regular treat at my own home now. Meet friendly folks at the breakfast table, and come back for a tasty lunch. The rooms are simple, country charming, redone with a lot of love and a flair for simple art, folk americana. Just a wonderful place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andiralaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    8
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
29
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

The Meeting House is a wonderful historic home in the heart of Frankfort and our hosts shared their home with much warmth and care. Roses culinary efforts were much enjoyed each morning in the formal dining room and my husband became quite spoiled with the sweet treats she presented us with, on each evenings return. We look forward to a return visit and sharing stories in Gary and Roses company.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goneracingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

And we have always loved our room and the service. The location is so convenient, walking distance to several great restaurants, a bookstore, Kentucky History Museum, a free trolley sightseeing tour, free boat ride on the KY River. A short drive takes you to the Buffalo Trace Distillery which also offers a free tour. Many other historical sites, museums, gift shops, etc. We have never run out of new things to do in Frankfort!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank apsmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

The Meeting House is located is a nice historic area of Frankfort, Kentucky. Parking is available on the street only. When we arrived, the front step was broken and a chair was placed over it. The note on the chair that said the step was broken, was faded so we had to look to see why it was there.

Upon entering, the house smelled musty which causes a problem with allergies. There were many antiques, etc. throughout the house. The rooms were large and well equiped, but the bed was very uncomfortable.

The hosts were nice and very sociable and it was a good location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

The first thing you notice upon entering is the musty, stale smell. The owners are very nice and the breakfast was good. (Coffee was not available until 8 a.m.) The facility and the furnishings appear old and worn. There are too many knick knacks around. There are not even places to put what you bring with you. The beds are definitely antique (with antique springs) that make a lot of noise every time you move. The location is fine, Frankfort is a nice town. However, there is on-street parking.

We would not have stayed if we had not arrived after 6:30 p.m. and would not return. It was $150 per night, per room.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothbury
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

Bracing ourselves for the rat race journey into the capital of Kentucky on a Saturday night, we were met by tranquillity in this sleepy town. The Meeting House was o a leafy avenue of elegant houses surrounded by plum trees. The interior was beautifully adorned with antiques and collectables such as hats, spectacles and shoes. Our hosts were interesting, informed and enjoying talking to their guests and sharing stories. Breakfast was a culinary experience with a fruit "sorbet", a lovely cooked breakfast served with freshly baked poppyseed bread. The room was extremely roomy, light and airy with a knitting basket for casual knitters who fancied a go after many years. The location of the Meeting House was close to downtown with some good restaurants as recommended by our hosts and from there it was easy to cross the river to walk right up to the front door of the Capitol building and the Governor's mansion and gardens. A lovely location for a city break.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RothburyLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dearborn MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2009

A lovely, warm and cozy place to stay with real "Southern Hospitality". I thoroughly enjoyed my visit and will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinlife4evr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capital Plaza Hotel
Capital Plaza Hotel
#6 of 10 in Frankfort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 10 in Frankfort
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
12.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Meeting House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Meeting House

Property: The Meeting House
Address: 519 Anne Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing