We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Capital Plaza Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Frankfort
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
“always enjoy”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is the fourth or fifth time we have stayed at the Capital Plaza and we have enjoyed our visit every time. Yes, the room is a little dated, but when you have a comfortable bed, a hot shower, and a roomy place to rest, who cares about the décor! Terry, at the front desk was very, very helpful and fun!! Our only concern was the dining room. We had eaten there in the past and would not go back this time. It is very strange that a nice facility like that does not have a better restaurant. People from the fountain shops were not even eating there for lunch, so we figured they knew something we did not. When we ate there before, the food lacked something to be desired. There is much room for improvement and could be quite good if it was upgraded. We were there for the 127 yard sale trip and found this a great place for weary travelers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    63
    42
    25
    19
See reviews for
32
36
5
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Capital Plaza Hotel because we were attending an event at the Convention Center. Location was good, and just a walk across the courtyard to get to the convention center. Parking was in enclosed garage, plentiful and free. Check in was smooth. Common areas of hotel was nice. We did not use the lounge, restaurant, gift shop, or beauty salon located in the lobby of the hotel. There was also an indoor pool and workout room, but we did not use these services. Our room was large and clean. Rooms are out dated. Sort of like walking into the 80s. Décor was drab. We had a king size bed. The mattress was not good. It was actually broken down on the ends, which forced you to have to lay in the center of the bed. The outlet behind the bed was pulled out of the wall, thus making one lamp with outlet not work. The electrical outlet in the bathroom initially worked then stopped, and would not work after trying to reset. So plugging in electrical items was a bit of a challenge. The TV was the old boxy type, approximately 25". TV Reception was not good. Internet service was good. There was no microwave or refrigerator in the room, although there was microwaves in the lobby available, but who wants to go to the lobby every time? Towels were thin, dingy, and poor quality. During our stay, only one or two elevators were nonfunctioning (there was 3, but no sign that one was down or attempts to repair, a second worked intermittently). Reservation was made on hotel's website. Out check out, clerk was argumentative and did not honor that price and was down right rude. We asked for manager's card, but did not contact manager as his last name was the same as the rude clerk. Although price was ok, and location good, would look for other lodging options in future unless major remodel completed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed here for a week. Very clean room and surprisingly big bathroom. On the older side, but I think pretty good given that Frankfort is not really cosmopolitan. No mini fridge and the outlet on the lamp is for laptops only, so there was no convenient place to charge our cells. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were strangely small. My friend asked for more though and they gave her some no problem. The elevator can be a little slow at times. They have a small indoor pool and a very small fitness center. Free parking. Centrally located. Nice AC. Probably the best place to stay in Frankfort and a good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This hotel is suffering from old age. Several guests complained of molded shower tile and curtains. One told a story of spiders and other insects. It also has major water problems in one meeting room with plenty of mold that left several with coughs and headaches.

Our experience resulted in damage goods from standing water in a meeting room, but I have to compliment the hotel management for making good on the loss. While the facility needs some major work, the staff is courteous and professional.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tennswo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

My stay at the capital plaza hotel has been very nice. There are a couple areas that could use improvement. They need to offer coffee in the lobby. The outlets in my room were so old some of them didn't work at all and others I had trouble getting the plugs to stay. The furniture is a little dated but it was clean and that was the most important thing. Overall my stay was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwn1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

A really friendly convenient hotel in downtown Frankfort, KY. You can count on a good night's rest at this hotel with newly refurbished rooms and newly updated swimming pool. It is located nearby to local historic buildings in a charming downtown area with candy shops, good restaurants, crafts and antique shops .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel. My husband and I were in town for a wedding and really enjoyed our time at the Capital Plaza. The pool is currently under renovation, so I was a little disappointed that we weren't able to use it. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. The only negative was that there was no mini fridge or microwave in the room.

While you're there, take a tour of Buffalo Trace Distillery. It was very interesting.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kygirl73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
3.1 mi away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#4 of 10 in Frankfort
85 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
577 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
18.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Georgetown
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Shelbyville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Property: Capital Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd, Frankfort, KY 40601-1849 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Frankfort
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing