We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

Toyota Visitor Center and Plant Tour
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Toyota Kentucky, located in Georgetown, is Toyota’s first and largest vehicle manufacturing plant in America. Each day, around 2,000 Toyotas are hand crafted by skilled Kentuckians, including America’s best selling car for 13 years running, the Camry, as well as the Camry Hybrid and Toyota’s flagship vehicle, the Avalon. Tours run five days a week, last about an hour and require a reservation to guarantee your seat.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My husband was like a little kid. Impressed with the cleanliness, efficiency and wonderful guides.
Recommend making your reservation weeks, if not months, ahead of time or you probably won't get in. Remember no small children under 1st grade are allowed on the tour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gin h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    28
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
184 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Make sure to call ahead for a reservation. Tour runs 1-1.5 hours and consists of a little introduction followed by a tram ride through the factory, with some time for Q&A at the end. Very informative and well-planned. Everyone we encountered was very knowledgeable and friendly and the tour as a whole was very interesting.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
192 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Make a reservation!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Tours are at 10, 12 and 2. They each take over an hour maybe evan and 1 1/2 hours. We were driving through and didn't have a reservation but we stopped at 12:10 and got on the stand by list for the 2:00 tour. Then we went in to town to eat. Ask for recommendations about lunch. We got several options and they even had pre-printed directions to the place we chose to eat! We returned to the factory at 1:45 with a full house of visitors waiting for the tour. We were 1st standby with 8 other people on the list behind us. Not everyone made it.
Well worse the stop. Tour guides are amazing knowledgeable! CAr facts, production facts, employee facts, management facts, job opportunities, schedules it didn't matter what kind of question you threw out the answer was quick and correct. Almost no walking so great for all hours!
Leave your phone and purse in your car. Only thing you should bring is your identification.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nsenn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Large factory tour that goes by too fast. The guide sits in the front of the tram and points out things that the people sitting in the back of the tram can't see until the tram advances. Amazing to see the automation as the cars are built. You see the cars starting as a roll of steel then progress along an assembly line until a finished product rolls off the assembly line 28 hours later. We saw Avalons, Camrys and Venzas being built. They were making 2,000 cars a day!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank phyllis644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“World Class Organization!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Make a reservation first off. They just opened up one Thursday afternoons.
It was simply amazing the level of production, automation, organization, and quality control they have going. Different car models come out of the assembly lines in less than a minute directly to the dealerships. They claim that each car produced is already a car sold!!
The Toyota Production System is world famous and used as a guideline in manufacturing. Don't miss it, it was well worth the hour and a half I spent there!

Note: You will not be allowed to enter with cellphones/cameras/videocameras

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jorgindelperu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toyota Visitor Center and Plant Tour also viewed

 
Georgetown, KY
 

Been to Toyota Visitor Center and Plant Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing