We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss Old Friends”

Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Georgetown
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Horse Racing's Living History Museum! At Old Friends, the non-profit Thoroughbred Retirement Center in Georgetown, KY, the horses may not be racing anymore, but they are winners everyday. Founded in 2003 by former Boston Globe film critic Michael Blowen, Old Friends cares for more than 135 horses across three states, many of them stallions whose racing and breeding careers came to an end. A "Rural Hall of Fame", the farm welcomes visitors to get up close and personal with such stars of the turf as Breeders' Cup Champion Gulch, Belmont Stakes winner Sarava, millionaire gelding Arson Squad, and many more. Hear their stories, meet them in person...Er..Horse. Our guests come to visit a few ex-racehorses, they leave having been touched by the heart of a Thoroughbred hero. Tours are daily at 10:00, 1:00 & 3:00 with a reservation.
Union, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't miss Old Friends”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

The helpful woman at the Tourist Information Bureau recommended Old Friends to me and it is a wonderful place! I loved being able to feed the horses carrots and pet them and hear their life stories. The volunteer guide was wonderful and enthusiastic even on that chilly afternoon. I learned so much in a hands-on way. An unexpected treat in Georgetown.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucindaUnion_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    24
    8
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“amazing experience”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

As a lifelong horse lover, and because our time living within easy driving distance from Kentucky is coming to a close, my husband and I took a trip to Old Friends this year for my birthday. There are just not words enough to explain what a wonderful experience this was.

This farm is a place for retired thoroughbreds to live out their lives with comfort and dignity. In a lot of cases, once a racehorse is no longer earning money for its owners from racing or through breeding, it will be sold or abandoned. This farm was started in response to some high profile cases of famous racehorses sadly ending up being slaughtered.

Some of the horses here are donated, some are purchased from dismal conditions. Some still belong to their previous owners, but are living at the farm for their retirement, and some belong to the farm outright. Some are quite famous, having earned a lot of money throughout their careers, while others are virtually unknown. They all have a home here.

The tour costs $10 and lasts about an hour. The tour guide takes you through the farm, between the paddocks, and introduces you to the residents of the farm. You have an opportunity to feed treats to the horses while your guide tells you some of the history of each horse you meet. The horses are all accustomed to the tours, are eager for some carrots, and are all mostly good about being fed by hand. It is clear, even from a few minutes of interacting with them, that each horse has a very distinct personality, which helps to make the mission of the farm more powerful - how can you look at these amazing individuals and see them as a commodity?

The farm has a visitors center with a gift shop, and all of the proceeds go to the farm, which is a nonprofit organization. It is worth every cent you spend and donate to help these amazing animals. This was really one of the most amazing and humbling experiences, and I recommend it to horseracing fans and animal lovers alike.

Keep a look out for the farm's miniature horse, Little Silver Charm, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank headbuckaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great horse retirement farm!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been following the Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm for years online and finally got to visit this wonderful farm in person! We took an afternoon tour - had a wonderful tour guide who was so knowledgeable about all the horses on the farm, and many that lived there before they died. What a wonderful facility these beautiful horses have for living out their final years. This 3 hour tour was so worth seeing! Don't forget to visit the gift shop - there are so many horse-related gifts to buy! Anyone in the Lexington area should visit Old Friends!!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virginia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davie,Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to visit”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

There should be more places like Old Friends. The retired horses at Old Friends are as glad to see the visitors as the visitors are to see them. While our tour guide took us from horse to horse and told us about each amazing athlete we were able to take pictures and feed them carrots. Each horse has it's own personality and own story of accomplishments on the track (or not) or in the breeding shed (or not). Since most people don't get to be around horses in this day and age Old Friends provides a way to get up close and personal with these wonderful animals. It is an experience that you don't get every day, but one that will leave you wanting to go back again.

They rely on donations and I believe a minimal donation is now required to take the tour.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank equinefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DON'T miss -- Young and old alike!”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

We took the 10 a.m. tour on a gorgeous October day. Our guide was excellent and the atmosphere low key. There is no admission fee, but donation suggested. You will love it! There is a gift shop with a very nice selection of items. Many on our tour seemed to be repeat visitors. A charming stop in the Lexington (Georgetown) area.

Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm also viewed

 

Been to Old Friends at Dream Chase Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing