We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cosy”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willowvale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kob Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful setting. A beautiful lagoon beach and miles of footpaths on beaches as well as inland. The hotel itself is very nice and the bar area are right at the edge of the sea - really nice. The staff were also very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing ! Beautiful sunrises.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Kob Inn Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Kob Inn provides good old fashioned hospitality in the familiar style of the Wild Coast and Eastern Cape. Good food, good laughs and a breath-taking view! Very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and looked after. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds. A rustic gem in one of the most beautiful areas of the Eastern Cape. Well worth many visits!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarellevGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The road is not up to city standards naturally, but no problem for our little rented car at all, you have to watch it for the pot holes of course, but at no time was there any prospect of getting stuck, if fact the entire trip was an adventure, in particular the ferry crossing.
The rooms were rather tired and need a complete refit, but quite acceptable food altogether, can recommend the seafood platter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After reading the other reviews, we were pleasantly surprised with the road leading to Kob Inn. It is a dirt road, but not as bad as we thought. We arrived late and there was someone to show us our room and dinner was waiting for us. Definitely a plus!
The views are amazing! Our room, in front of the pool (maybe not a good idea during holidays if you want peace and quiet!) was nice and clean. Service was friendly and we enjoyed the activities. Horse riding is definitely the best way to explore the region!
Being there in summer, we would have liked a more seasonal menu in the restaurant. We found oxtail and stews a bit heavy for the season. There might be room for improvement there. I was nevertheless rewarded with oysters for breakfast on our departure day! Thank you!
It is a pitty that there is not a "Good" on Trip Advisor, as Kob Inn is more than average.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent two nights at Kob Inn. They kindly allowed our dog as well. Luckily their dogs ignored ours but then came for a walk with us on the beach later. Kob Inn has the best location right on the coast. The service is great, we were given a guava juice on arrival (it was a hot day so it went down well). Because we had our dog we were given the cottage (it has an enclosed outside). There was no view but his didn't matter as you just have to go to the bar and look out to sea - just wonderful. We walked to Mazeppa Bay and back (6km each way). This is a nice hike, not too much climbing. The roads in the Transkei are literally terrible so travel is slow but worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are really nice, but be careful not to get the one in front of the pool as...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The hotel doesn't adequately warn you about how bad the road is to the river mouth where Kob Inn is located. It really is a bad road. I would recommend doing it in a 4x4 vehicle, although we did it in a normal car, with some difficulty. BUT, once we were there, we were in Eden. What a beautiful and relaxing place. The proprietor, Daan, was friendly and welcoming and made sure to speak to each guest. The food is homely and plentiful - no one will ever go hungry. We booked late and could only get a non-sea view room, but it was still great. The staff were helpful - they prepared a picnic basket for us and we rented a small boat and had a wonderful day on the river. There are loads of activities - we also did horse riding. This resort is suited and designed for families with kids, but we don't have kids and we loved it just as much. A real treasure on the Wild Coast.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a sea-facing room. The view is wonderful.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeoHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

"Having recently spent two of the most relaxing weeks holiday at this unpretentious jewel on the Wild Coast, the urge to share the news, is mandatory.
As with all things bounteous and good in life, the journey to the destination is a challenge for sturdy vehicle and resilient driving, as one bounced, bobbed, slid and crawled along the last 35 km from Willovale, grateful for sturdy tyres and common sense.
The Kob Inn is a fitting reward for an interesting journey, tropical in nature, wild and unspoilt.
It is breathtaking in its position, rich in birdlife, right on the rocks, where the Indian Ocean thunders and sighs as the tides sweep in and out, reminds us of the wild yet simple nature life intends us to live, free of the relentless demands of 21st Century lifestyles and electronic devices.
Comfortable accommodation, complemented by friendly staff, excellent service and delicious simple daily fare are guaranteed.
If you have fishing luck, Dean the resident chef and his team will turn it into a culinary delight, and if it’s large enough, all the guests get to partake in the daily catch too.
There are all sorts of activities, from horse riding, walking, tennis, canoeing, boating, fishing, quad biking for the adrenaline junkies, to snooker, cards, swimming and the best; whale and dolphin watching.
Cooling off in the ocean or at the pool, sunbathing, snoozing after lunch, and bird watching, is all there to restore our connection to the earth and nature.
The local women come down from the hills to sit on the lawns whilst creating beautiful beaded work, add to the calm relaxed atmosphere of the place.
The pub has the best location in the world, right on the rocks, nothing like sundowners with Aggie in attendance, whose quirky insistence that one either 'fits in or.....' get the uninitiated to join in the bonhomie pretty quickly.
The bar prices are reasonable and friendly to the pocket and the sea food buffet on Saturdays is a banquet worthy of mention.
Daan and Violet and their trusty team provide the simple and excellent hospitality geared to encouraging family holidays to be just that, a true holiday for everyone to enjoy.
A holiday, with the family doing things together.
So if you are looking for leaving your children in others care all day, this is not the holiday venue for you.
Happy entertainment is provided, for times of the day, meals for the under 10's are provided early in the kiddies dining room, and baby sitters are available for the evenings. There are entertainment rooms for the little ones, and the teenagers, allowing for valuable adult time for the parents.
So there is roundedness in the type of holiday that Kob Inn provides, catering to the needs of old and young alike, and with that the appropriate boundaries are in place to ensure this, so to get the best out of the "jewel" it’s advisable to play the game according to the rules.
It is well to note that Kob Inn is not a pet friendly establishment, and being a licensed premises, one is not permitted to "bring your own".(Corkage can be charged, but the wine list is comprehensive and affordable )
There is a shop too where fishing tackle, clothes, and various emergency over the counter medications are available for sale.
" If you can remember the days before cell phones, ipads, wi fi, i pods, lap tops and note books, when playing outside with your friends, climbing trees, laughing so much until your stomach hurt: hopscotch, hide and seek, leapfrog, stingers and riding bicycles; eating sherbet made with icing sugar and enos, ice lollies made from Kool Aid frozen in Tupperware holders, peeling skin, mozzie bites, and the smell of suntan lotion; skipping, egg and spoon races, three legged races and tug of war, pickup sticks, marbles and Eskimo Pies; being disciplined by an adult to know your manners and your place, being naughty and teased by your siblings who were your staunchest protectors, falling asleep at night exhausted from playing, learning how to fish, watch birds, eat weird things....being scared of the bogey man and kisses better with a band aid strip...if you can remember these things then you have truly lived and it’s time to bring them back...." This is the place to live again.
All in all, a highly recommended destination for a great holiday, on the Wild Coast of the Transkei.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the swimming pool have best views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Suzie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willowvale
19.6 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Umnenga Lodge
Umnenga Lodge
#1 of 3 in Wild Coast
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kob Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kob Inn Beach Resort

Address: Qorha River Mouth | Wild Coast Eastern Cape, Willowvale 5041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Willowvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Hotel Class:3 star — Kob Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Kob Inn Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing