We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kob Inn Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Trennerys Hotel(Kei Mouth)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$164
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayfair Hotel(Mthatha)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hole in the Wall(Coffee Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Prana Lodge(Chintsa)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
137
74
10
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
74
10
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson the rockshorse ridingwild coastthe riverdirt roadhoneymoon suiterelaxing holidaygreat foodsea facingfishmazeppa baythe pubgo the extra mileseafood nighta wonderful staywhales and dolphinshome from home
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is an excellent hotel in a wonderful setting. A beautiful lagoon beach and miles of footpaths on beaches as well as inland. The hotel itself is very nice and the bar area are right at the edge of the sea - really nice. The staff were also very professional and friendly.

Room Tip: Go for sea facing ! Beautiful sunrises.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The Kob Inn provides good old fashioned hospitality in the familiar style of the Wild Coast and Eastern Cape. Good food, good laughs and a breath-taking view! Very friendly and helpful staff who go out of their way to make their guests feel welcome and looked after. The rooms are clean with very comfortable beds. A rustic gem in one of the most beautiful areas of the Eastern Cape. Well worth many visits!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarellevGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The road is not up to city standards naturally, but no problem for our little rented car at all, you have to watch it for the pot holes of course, but at no time was there any prospect of getting stuck, if fact the entire trip was an adventure, in particular the ferry crossing.
The rooms were rather tired and need a complete refit, but quite acceptable food altogether, can recommend the seafood platter.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J0llyR0dger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

After reading the other reviews, we were pleasantly surprised with the road leading to Kob Inn. It is a dirt road, but not as bad as we thought. We arrived late and there was someone to show us our room and dinner was waiting for us. Definitely a plus!
The views are amazing! Our room, in front of the pool (maybe not a good idea during holidays if you want peace and quiet!) was nice and clean. Service was friendly and we enjoyed the activities. Horse riding is definitely the best way to explore the region!
Being there in summer, we would have liked a more seasonal menu in the restaurant. We found oxtail and stews a bit heavy for the season. There might be room for improvement there. I was nevertheless rewarded with oysters for breakfast on our departure day! Thank you!
It is a pitty that there is not a "Good" on Trip Advisor, as Kob Inn is more than average.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We spent two nights at Kob Inn. They kindly allowed our dog as well. Luckily their dogs ignored ours but then came for a walk with us on the beach later. Kob Inn has the best location right on the coast. The service is great, we were given a guava juice on arrival (it was a hot day so it went down well). Because we had our dog we were given the cottage (it has an enclosed outside). There was no view but his didn't matter as you just have to go to the bar and look out to sea - just wonderful. We walked to Mazeppa Bay and back (6km each way). This is a nice hike, not too much climbing. The roads in the Transkei are literally terrible so travel is slow but worth it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the sea are really nice, but be careful not to get the one in front of the pool as it can be noisy in season.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank B0kk1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews