We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very weird vibe, not worth money or long drive”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Willowvale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kob Inn Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very weird vibe, not worth money or long drive”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I selected Kob Inn for a family trip and were very disappointed on nearly every front. The drive was far longer than anticipated. We were hoping it would be worth it but I can tell you it was not. The entire place needs extensive renovation. The rooms and all other facilities smelled of strong mildew. The food tasted like a heated frozen dinner and canned food--one of my worst meals ever in recent memory. I know there are several who report this as a "gem," and my husband and I just couldn't figure out why. We will never return to this resort and will discourage any friends/family from going there as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LoD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    64
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
69
63
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Highly recommended for a family trip. Relaxing and enjoyable. Simply loves the breathtaking ocean view room. Beautiful resort with immecable food, service and decor. A truly hospitable husband and wife team who ensures all our needs are taken care of. Thank you so much Daan & Violet!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Salfoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at Kob inn 6 days a month for the last 5 months, and every time the hospitality and service is outstanding, from bottom to top staff and management, the food menu varies from day to day which leaves you a surprise of what to expect, when leaving the restaurant you leave with a complete satisfaction. I am a stickler for bad service and cold food etc , but I have never experienced this at Kob Inn, I look forward to coming back and experience the stunning shore line, hospitality and scrumptious breakfast, lunch and dinner menu's and most of all the feel of being with people that care not only as a guest but as a friend or family as well.

Thank you all for a awesome stay!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Enrico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We have just spent a most enjoyable visit to this resort after having been recommended to do so by friends who go often. The main roads through the Transkei have been vastly improved as to how I remember them and although the few kilometres to the resort on a dirt road is not too clever, the end result is infinitely worth it.
From the moment we arrived at this spotlessly maintained resort we experienced the pleasure of what old Transkei rustic resorts were all about.
The room was well appointed with all amenities except for the dreaded TV which was available in 2 lounges should one need a dose and the staff were a total delight being friendly and all too anxious to please.
THE SETTING !!! WOW !! Situated virtually right on the beach with a pub that would make any other resort green with envy.
The food was excellent with 3 meals a day and a 4 course dinner laid on every night apart from the seafood buffet on Saturday evenings.
Our children are grown up so we do not have the necessity to "entertain them " but the Kob Inn certainly does and what a pleasure to see healthy outdoor activities provided instead them sitting in dark rooms glued to the internet or whatever .
I wholeheartedly recommend this fine resort which offers exceptional value for money and the management and staff should be congratulated.
All strength to them.

Dave Smith
Durban

Room Tip: If you can, get a sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave & Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We just spent 8 nights at this lovely family hotel. You instantly feel at home. Good value for money, excellent service, delicious meals (especially the seafood buffet), breathtaking location, something to do for young and old.
Over the years my wife and I stayed at 6 different Wild Coast hotels. Which is the best? Difficult to say, each hotel has its own character and charm. But Kob Inn certainly rates amongst the best!
Thank you to Daan and Violet and staff.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms #9 to 14 or 28 to 32
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Kob Inn lived up to all our expectations and more. If you want to be closer to the sea you will have to go on a cruise! Enjoyed horse riding along the beach on a well trained and obedient "gentleman" of a horse named Yummy :) Highly recommend it. Chef Dean makes the best Bread and butter pudding south of the Sahara. Be prepared for a bit of a 4 x 4 track after Willowvale - just take it easy and enjoy the scenery - it's well worth it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 30 - any closer to the sea and we would have been in it! Lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee-ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wow! What a treat staying at Kob inn! Great food, lots to do and incredibly friendly staff.
We stayed in the Pezulu honeymoon suite, which offered some privacy as it was separate from the other units, but still has a GREAT seaview with crashing waves putting us to sleep at night!
The room and the rest of the hotel offers such a relaxing atmosphere after all the activities during the day.
We will certainly go back.... SOON!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room, all the rooms that have a view of the sea are literally 30m from the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RouxneJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willowvale
19.6 mi away
Trennerys Hotel
Trennerys Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kei Mouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gecko Guest House
Gecko Guest House
#1 of 5 in Coffee Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Umnenga Lodge
Umnenga Lodge
#2 of 3 in Wild Coast
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Freedom O Clock
Freedom O Clock
#3 of 3 in Mdumbi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Kob Inn Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kob Inn Beach Resort

Property: Kob Inn Beach Resort
Address: Qorha River Mouth | Wild Coast Eastern Cape, Willowvale 5041, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Wild Coast > Willowvale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Willowvale
Hotel Class:3 star — Kob Inn Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Kob Inn Beach Hotel East London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing