We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2008

We have traveled to Kenlake Resort and Miller golf course from WI with 4-8 men for a long golf weekend the past three years in February. We have stayed in two bedroom cottages each year. The kitchen has a microwave, stove, and refrigerator. The cottages are clean and provide all the necessary amenities, plus the staff is extremely cordial. The cost is very affordable in winter. Five rounds of golf at Miller and three nights stay at Kenlake cost us less than $200 per person.

I am a business travelor and seldom have seen the quality of service you will receive at Kenlake Resort. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, this is the place. We will continue to stay at Kenlake as long as we continue our annual golf trips. I would not hesitate to take a vacation with my family here.

  • Liked — Staff very nice
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoopster26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    30
    19
    13
    3
See reviews for
36
34
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2007

We have stayed twice at the Kenlake State and Resort Park in a private three bedroom cottage. We have a family of 5 and the three bedroom cabin is such a wonderful options with 3 children, and very affordable at this state park. We take advantage of the beautiful pool overlooking Kentucky lake, the many playgrounds, golf course, the children's activities that the park offers daily with a list given to you when you check in (our favorite so far was the day the park ranger brought several animals for the children to see including a fox, a huge snake, large birds, a possum and other fascinating animals), and there is a wonderful restaurant in the lodge that we took advantage of when we weren't using the fully equipped kitchen in the cabin. But the best part of our stay is the location, just a few miles away is Land Between the Lakes with so many wonderful places to visit including the Bison Prairie, The homplace (an 1880's representation of a family's home and property including heirloom gardening, animals, outbuildings and literally they still work this farm and you can talk to all of the people there in their full costume-just a great learning experience for our kids!), a small zoo and if you drive to the north you can go to Pattie's 1880's Settlement for an amazing dinner and several shops in a wonderful quaint location. My children range in ages from 3 to 15 and they all enjoy visiting this place. If you had the opportunity to take advantage of the lake (if you owned a boat or rented one) this would be a fantastic spot for fishing and water sports as well. I highly recommend this state park and its facilities!!!

  • Liked — The many outdoor activities available nearby
  • Stayed August 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 466 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

Frankly, I have yet to be disappointed with a Kentucky State Resort Park. I’ve been to a few KY state recreational parks, but it seems the former tend to line the state line with Tennessee. What I really like most about this place is the strong schedule of events to keep you entertained. The premises are a bit shy on hiking trails, but have a wide variety of recreational facilities. There is a lake front park area that is ideal for a picnic or an afternoon of light reading. Additionally, KSRP has an ampitheatre situated on the lake for rock and blues festivals. So if you are headed to Grand Rivers or Land Between the Lakes I strongly recommend KSRP as a stop on your trip.

Helpful?
1 Thank jake_brake2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2007

We spent two nights at the Kenlake State Resort in July 2007. We rented a one bedroom cabin. The cabins are nicely spaced in a wooded area and quite clean and comfortable even though they have obviously been there awhile. The bedroom has two full size beds that were a little on the hard side. We did not think the cabin was big enough for four people (the beds are too small) but other than that it was a good choice. The kitchen is small but has all the basics. The air conditioner in the cabin works very well which is certainly needed in Kentucky in July! There is also a screened in porch with table and chairs that was pleasant at cooler times of day. The cost was $134 per night plus tax. There are two bedroom cabins as well but I think you have to book those pretty far in advance.

We rented a ski boat from the Kenlake marina for half a day ($360 including skis, tube, and gas) and had a great time on Kentucky lake. It was not crowded even though our visit was so close to the July 4th holiday.

There was a breakfast buffet at the main Kenlake lodge that had standard fare. We did not eat any other meals there. There is a nice small pool behind the main lodge that has a nice view over the lake.

I recommend visiting this location in the spring or the fall – unless you are in the water the heat and humidity of summer are hard to bear.

If Trip Advisor allowed it I would have given this location at 3.5 rating. It was pretty nice for a cabin.

  • Liked — Good location for a family reunion
  • Disliked — The cabin was too small to sleep four adults
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KTCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2005

The Kenlake Hotel is pretty old - it was built during the tourism boom that occured right after the Lakes were completed - in the 1950's. BUT this hotel has really been taken care of. It has just had another complete remodel in the last couple years so it's in great shape. The rooms are spacious and very, very clean and the food in the dining room is great. The hotel is also laid out well. All the rooms are on one level, with interior entrances off of one long hallway with the dining room, front desk, gift shops and main entrance in the center.

The prices at this hotel are also excellent, especially in the winter. You won't find anything comparable to this quality for this price anywhere in the area.

One disadvantage (you might consider it an advantage) is the hotel's location - it's not directly off any interstate, which makes it kind of secluded and tricky to find. Well worth it in my opinion, however.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardin
18.5 mi away
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
Kentucky Dam Village State Park
#1 of 6 in Gilbertsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
1.2 mi away
Early American Motel
Early American Motel
#1 of 2 in Aurora
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
20.8 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
13.0 mi away
Lake Barkley Lodge
Lake Barkley Lodge
#2 of 6 in Cadiz
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
6.0 mi away
America's Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenlake State & Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenlake State & Resort Park

Property: Kenlake State & Resort Park
Address: 542 Kenlake Road, Highway 94, Hardin, KY 42048-9313
Region: United States > Kentucky > Hardin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kenlake State & Resort Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kenlake State & Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenlake State & Resort Park Hotel Hardin
Kenlake State And Resort Park
Kenlake State Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing