We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Reunion” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenlake State & Resort Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kenlake State & Resort Park
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Holmdel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family Reunion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

We attended our family reunion at Kenlake State Park this past weekend. As a reunion we had a wonderful time with our family. But we were disappointed with the condition of the cabins. There was a definite smell of mold and must. My husband became ill because of the mold. There were cobwebs all over the place with bugs in them including the top of the dvd player and under the bed. The rugs were filthy, where if you walked barefoot your feet would be black. The food was diner style, just ok. The view is beautiful. Would not travel back there.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jlramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    19
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
32
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Martin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

We were looking at some vacation homes and decided to stay near Kentucky Lake for the night instead of driving back. We were encouraged to stay at the KenLake Resort. It is not a five star resort by any means, but it was clean and the employees were pleasant and helpful. We have placed this on out list of places to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okawville Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

When checking in, we were informed the A/C in our room was not working, so they immediately set us up in a one-bedroom cottage. This was very acceptable to us, but a bit of a walk to the main lodge and the wedding festivities. The cottage was a little dated but basically clean and very private. Some of the cottages have 2 bedrooms and a nice screened in porch which was a great place for several friends to gather one of the evenings. The pool was closed at first due to some technical difficulties, but it opened in an hour. The pool area was a nice place for our friends to gather to spend time before the late afternoon wedding. There is a very nice view of Kentucky Lake from the pool patio and the upper reception area deck. We were pleased with the buffet breakfast for the price both mornings we were there. The wedding food was very good, and the staff was attentive to the guests. The guys in our group enjoyed golfing on the resort's golf course before meeting at the pool. The wedding was held at the bottom of a pretty steep hill but right on the water's edge. It was a very nice setting for the wedding. This resort is located in a dry county, so you need to BYOB, but there is a vote to allow alcohol in the county coming up in July 2012.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoIlliniMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We r just finishing our stay at Kenlake. This is a state run facility so it is not the most up to date but it is a beautiful setting and beautiful lake and a very nice experience. Probably would not eat at the restaurant except maybe for breakfast. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I recently stayed at the resort during my stay for a weekend wedding. I loved our stay! For my wife and I, a big part of why we loved it was that they have a few rooms that accommodate dog owners. It was really nice to be able to have our dog with us because is very well behaved and was easily able to be a part of the festivities. I can only assume this might be a problem though if there is a dog staying in one of the rooms and it barks but I'm sure the staff would handle the situation because they were really great people.

There is a decent size pool that has an amazing view with the lake in the background.

To defend the place a bit, it is dated but I feel like it was not rundown or anything. In fact, I like that it was a little dated.

The restaurant downstairs was okay. We ate breakfast both mornings we were there and I would say the buffet was a step above a continental breakfast. The wait staff seemed to be short on help when the place started to fill but if this is uncommon I can understand being a little short staffed. However, even though they ran behind, the staff was once again quite nice and helpful.

We also had many friend/relatives stay in the lodges available and we were able to visit them. The lodges are quite nice and offer plenty of space and privacy for families who don't want to stay in the hotel. They are set in the woods so if you want a lake view you should stay in the hotel.

Thanks again to the staff who were great to our entire family and group of friends.

Room Tip: I'm not sure but I think it might be possible to get a room with a view of the lake. If so, I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The resort sponsors a weekend and goes out of its way to make sure that you have a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adhunt9305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

The first time I came to Land Between the Lakes, we winged it and ended up staying at a cheap motel in Cadiz. This time I researched before our trip and found Kenlake. I've never stayed at a State Resort Hotel and was pleasantly surprised. The breakfast was included and quite a delicious spread in the restaurant on the ground level overlooking the lake. The waitress was very nice, poured coffee and bussed the tables. The room was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was small (NO counterspace). We didn't have a chance to check out the pool since we were only staying overnight and it was Oct., but we will definitely stay here again. The location for anyone visiting Land Between the Lakes can't be beat and it was a good value!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoundHouseCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hardin
20.6 mi away
Patti's Inn & Suites
Patti's Inn & Suites
#2 of 4 in Grand Rivers
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kuttawa/Eddyville
13.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN University Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn- Land Between The Lakes
12.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Murray
6.0 mi away
America's Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenlake State & Resort Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenlake State & Resort Park

Property: Kenlake State & Resort Park
Address: 542 Kenlake Road, Highway 94, Hardin, KY 42048-9313
Region: United States > Kentucky > Hardin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hardin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kenlake State & Resort Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Kenlake State & Resort Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kenlake State & Resort Park Hotel Hardin
Kenlake State And Resort Park
Kenlake State Hotel Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing