We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow... Was I ever Surprised”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Went to Harlan recently for a High School football reunion and stayed at the Comfort Inn. Was I ever pleasantly surprised. As run down as everything has become in Harlan County this motel was clean, very well kepted up, quiet, good parking, great location, and had a very friendly staff. Also the breakfast was excellent, and the breakfast area had plenty of tables. I had heard that Mount Aire Motel was pretty bad so I am really glad I picked the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our Comfort Inn Harlan, KY. The Staff and property are great. We are very proud of the Staff and Management at the hotel. We too are glad you chose to stay with us and hope on your next visit to the Harlan area you will once again stay with us. Until then, Safe travels........Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

When we arrived the staff was outside smoking and we had to let them know we were there to check In. Later we tried to call the office several times and there was no answer. The next morning WE had to go outside and find the staff who was smoking to tell them we were ready to check out.
The POOL was too cold to swim.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerY1566JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We apologize in reference to your comments about our staff. We use our TripAdvisor reviews as a training tool and I can assure you that this review will be discussed with our staff. This is not our standards and we appreciate you for letting us know. We do hope on your next visit to Harlan that you will give us another try. Safe Travels and Best Regards, Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My hometown club, Rosenwald Harlanites, Inc., has been meeting in Harlan every other year since the late 1980's. We have blocked rooms at the current Comfort Inn ever since it opened as a Best Western in 1993. This year's experience was the very best ever. The remodelling, the new elevator, and the new management style were awesome!! As a result, coming home was extra special. We are all looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms at the ends of the hallways are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and your recent reveiw of the Comfort Inn in Harlan. The Staff and management have been looking forward to your group's arrival. I am so glad to hear that you all had such a great time. We look forward to your next gathering in Harlan. Best Regards, Cindy Addison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had several family members come to Harlan for a reunion and booked 3 rooms at the Comfort Inn. I arrived early with my granddaughters and, although our room wasn't ready, the staff let my granddaughters swim until things were ready.

The breakfast was delicious (much better than you might expect for a free breakfast at a hotel) and the staff was MORE than accommodating,

I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: on the 1st floor there is a room with a hot tub --- it looked great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiaOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for your recent review of the Comfort Inn in Harlan, KY. We first want to say Thank you for selecting our hotel for your family members. Second, we are so happy that you all had a great time during your stay. The Staff and Management pride themselves on taking care of our guests. We hope on your next trip to Harlan, you will once again stay with us. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was my families first stay here. It used to be a different hotel. All my in-laws live in Gordon Ky which is about a 40min drive from Comfort Inn. We wanted to have some privacy so we decided to stay at a hotel. We really enjoyed the new place!! There was a little confusion with my reservation at first but they fixed it immediately! The hotel was very busy..we were there on the 4th of July. But my check in was very quick. Wanda was excellent to us from the time I made my reservation from the time we checked in. Rooms were very clean and comfortable!! Lots of room in the bathroom..we had a dbl room. Breakfast was really good. I wish they had kept going an hr later. Other then that food was delicious!! They ran out of things pretty quick..biscuits, eggs, sausage but there was more within minutes. Like I said it was a very busy time so that may not typically happen often. If so you didn't wait long to get new. I had asked for a late check out..Brittany at the front desk took care of us with no problem!! I adored Brittany she gave me a lot of information regarding my choice privileges that I wasn't aware of..it had been awhile when I stayed at a choice hotel so she made sure I was up to date..& gave me my points without me asking. She's really great and good at her at job!! Pool was nice and clean as well as the area. I can honestly say I have no complaints..we come to visit my family ALOT and that will def be my home away from home for sure!! Pets are welcome too!! :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smmeins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thanks you so much for your recent review of the Comfort Inn Harlan, KY. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. Your comments on our staff members are appreciated. We do have great people working for us. On your next visit to Harlan, we hope to see you. Best Regards and Safe Travels, Cindy Addison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

As a business traveler clean, comfortable and friendly staff are always a plus. We found it at this hotel. Staff was very helpful when we inquired about the area and places to eat. Our room was great. With a good night sleep and good breakfast we were ready to go.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlackTie360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The staff and management are very pleased with the completion of our renovations and that now we are a Comfort Inn with a new elevator! We hope on your next trip to Harlan you will once again select our great location! Safe Travels. Best Regards, Cindy Addison

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel on 06/15 and it has just switched from Holiday Inn Express to Comfort Inn. The hotel has been renovated and the rooms very nice. Breakfast was unusually good, with great sausage and ham.

Room Tip: The back side with windows overlooking the indoor pool is not the best if you are wanting peace and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ONUalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RDOSWIP, Regional Director of Sales at Quality Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2013

Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Comfort Inn Harlan. We are so pleased and proud of the conversion that was completed in May from the Holiday Inn Express to the Comfort Inn. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. It's nice to have a great breakfast in the morning, complimentary! On your next visit to Harlan, we hope to see you again. Best Regards, Cindy Addison, Regional Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Address: 2608 South Highway 421, Harlan, KY 40840-5509 (Formerly Comfort Inn Harlan)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harlan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Harlan
Price Range: £85 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harlan Hotel Harlan
Holiday Inn Harlan
Harlan Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing