We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider Other Options”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consider Other Options”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My family and I have stayed at Shakertown a number of times over the past 20 years. We have enjoyed the rural respite from urban care that a visit to the village offers. The past five years, we also have enjoyed an excellent chamber music festival at the village. Our most recent visit has prompted us to question whether to return for any future overnight stays. Several problems now exist. We can only hope that the management will remedy them.

One of the great treats about a visit to Shakertown is the opportunity to stay in a restored Shaker building. The quality of that experience, however, is seriously compromised by the fact that televisions bleat from adjoining rooms into the night and that one cannot open one’s room windows to let in the country air. The windows are sealed shut. This resulted in a miserable night in our rooms when the heat in our building was turned on despite the mild temperature outside. The rooms quickly became stifling hot, and the sealing of the windows made it impossible to vent the heat. Management did not offer even an apology for the night’s sleep we all lost.

In the past, another treat at Shakertown was dining in the Trustees House. This experience no longer is worthwhile. The quality of the food has declined to mediocre at best. A fish dish was flavorless and dry. Fried chicken rested in a puddle of oil. A bountiful relish tray once included with a meal has shrunk to a plate of Wal-Mart pickings that costs extra. The buffet breakfast was simply awful. The service ranges from friendly and inept to diffident and inept. For no discernible reason, the host one night kept my 90 and 89 year old parents waiting 40 minutes past their reservation. Again, not so much as an apology from the management.

Shakertown is worth visiting for its history and beauty, but unless and until the current management decides to operate its lodging and dining in a manner appropriate for a real hotel, one should consider other options, e.g., the Beaumont Inn in Harrodsburg.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Godzillabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    84
    27
    5
    1
See reviews for
67
134
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jamestown, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband & I stayed there 2 nights while in Kentucky to take in the Bourbon Trail. It's the perfect place to stay for someone wanting something unique and away from the hustle & bustle of a city. In keeping with the attention to restoration, you aren't going to have some the amenities like other regular hotels, but no one booking a room here should expect that. What you WILL have is an incredible experience.

Our room consisting of 2 double beds was very clean as was our bathroom, and both were HUGE! I was somewhat concerned as it was located at the top of the staircase & I was worried that we'd hear a lot of traffic up & down the staircase, but that was never the case. (We found the tempurpedic mattresses were not really to our liking, but we were thankful that we got to try them as we were considering them for the future. Others, however, might really like them)

As for the restaurant, we've dined all over in some of the best restaurants in the world and can truthfully say that we had superb service and the meal of the ribeye and the seared scallops was very delicious . Breakfast, although buffet-style, was basic buffet fare, but very good.

The best part is being able to wander the beautiful grounds at leisure. One can just walk around the village or hike on the 40-mile system of trails which surrounds the village. Unfortunately, the only nice day of our trip was the day that we arrived and so we weren't able to get outside on the second day. One word of caution. . . . we hiked through many meadows and in doing so brought back LOTS of ticks with us. We THINK they're just wood ticks, but still, with all the deer tracks we saw we felt it necessary to put our clothes & shoes into plastic bags to bring home.

The only down-side I can see is that if one is looking to lounge in one's room, this might not be the best place. However, that may depend on the room. Our room had 2 dbl. beds and 2 rocking chairs. But if you're just using your room as a place to sleep, relax before dining, etc. it's perfect. It's a wonderful way to step back into time!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julenka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We stayed in late December, just before their 2 day Xmas break. I think only 2 other couples were there. We had asked for a different building when we made our reservations. Upon arriving they asked if we would not mind staying in the Trustees building so that all guests were in one building. We said yes. They in turn gave us a much upgraded room AND free admission tickets. All at the original price, that of the least expensive room.
It was v. cold outside, but we had the place practically to ourselves. Explored at night under the moon. Had a rousing game of Skittles. The next day we danced and twirled in the main meeting house! Wow!
The food was not bad. Though I would guess the summer fare is better.
The guides were very helpful and knowledgeable.
Well worth a visit for a taste of a uniquely American place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph_Mitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2011

we stayed at the inn for a friend's wedding in august on a friday & saturday.
our stay was absolutely lovely.
the rooms are very simple & bare, but clean & welcoming in the shaker way.
(we checked for bedbugs, since the topic was so frequently in the news, but we didn't find any).
the views of hills & farmland were bautiful & stargazing is spectacular.
the staff is amazing ~ very friendly & ready to help.
the breakfast buffet was good, but we wished there were more grain/carb based options like pancakes, french toast or oatmeal. there were scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, syrupy sweet apples, melon and small boxes of cereal.
we ordered lunch to be delivered to the wedding site, since we were preparing bouquets with the bride. the staff was incredibly accomodating / lunch included wonderful fried green tomatoes, among other flavorful, farm fresh specialties.
the dinner following the wedding ceremony was also wonderful with locally grown/farm fresh ingredients.
cell phone reception is spotty, but nice in a way, if you are looking to escape & step back in time with the shaker way of life.
we wish we had more time to explore the village & hike the property, but we had wedding activities to attend to.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettyselective
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake of the Ozarks, Missouri
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We knew what we were getting into when we made our reservations, as our options were a bit limited for the World Equestrian Games, and my wife thought it would be a nice change of pace. I have to admit if it had lived up to their Website and other reviews and recommendations it would have been great, but after staying for 5 nights we were definitely ready to leave and unimpressed.

The rooms were ok, but not all that clean. Our wood floor's were pretty dirty and the residence hall we were located in needed some upkeep and repair. The Coffee pot in the common "kitchen" was not working, although they did have an ice machine and wi-fi.

They received limited TV channels, even with the satellite, I am not sure why they choose to do that. We were unable to watch a big college football game since they only get about 10 satellite channels, and no sports to speak of, as well as the remotes not working in the shared common area.

We shared a 2 room family "suite" with another couple, with a single bath on the first floor, but the worst part was the room above us and the foot traffic all the time. They had wood floors and the sound proofing was non-existent. The first couple of nights were not too bad, but then a small family with a baby and toddler came in and it was impossible to get much sleep with the toddler running all over the room above and the baby crying several times during the night and early a.m.'s waking up the toddler for more running. The beds were nice though, so when it was quiet it was good sleep, just not enough of the quiet part.

I get the idea that this was a quaint Shaker Village experience, but think the fact we were there 5 nights was way too long. It was not a bad drive into Lexington for the World Equestrian Games, but if I had to do it over again, would have stayed somewhere else.

This would be a nice place to go for an overnight, or max two night B&B style stay on your way to somewhere else, but get a room on the top floor, or rent one of the other suites where you have your own building.

The other strange thing is the Restaurant...and the "Reservations" policy. We did make reservations in advance as requested, and I am sure that helps them prepare the right amount of food and staff for the breakfast buffet or dinner, but they take a prison style approach on how and when they will seat you. We were traveling with a small group and one a.m. told the hostess that we thought it would just be the two of us instead of four as our roommates were still sleeping (the kids left early that day). She kind of huffed and puffed and said it would "be a bit" (penalty minutes?) while they got our "new" table ready. (We could see plenty of empty tables, plus we had eaten there two previous mornings and it was not that crowded). After waiting approx 10 minutes, a different couple in our group showed up and we asked the hostess (warden) if we could have the original table of 4 back, and she said "that will be difficult"????? (No one else had come in while we were waiting) She acted like it would be a huge problem, so the other couple just said forget it as they thought the breakfast was overpriced and not that good for what you get, plus the hostess attitudes each a.m. while they seat you was just over the top. So of course when we were seated after about 15 (penalty) minutes, there were 3 empty tables for 4 right around us that were never used while we ate breakfast. (Maybe they don't need the $$$) We also heard her huff around a couple of times during the other a.m.'s when folks came in without reservations, like it was a huge burden to actually seat folks at the empty tables they always had. (She always made them wait) That was just poor customer service, and on top of all of the other maintenance and facility issues, they really need to fix that. This place is already on the edge of not being that great, and to have poor customer service is not helping anything.

Overall we had an okay stay here, but there is nothing that stands out as spectacular about the place. If you wanted to learn about the Shaker's and do an overnight or weekend B&B type stay, it would probably work well. It is in a beautiful setting and the outside of the buildings are scenic and pretty.

One Tip, go into the town of Harrodsburg (About 5-10 minutes) and eat at Eddie Montgomery's (Montgomery Gentry - C&W Duo) Steakhouse. Huge Log structure, great food and steaks and neat atmosphere. We had our best dinner of the trip there, and if I had known about it earlier would have drove to town and watched the football game in their bar area (with ton's of TV's) and NICE FOLKS!! That was a great place with GREAT customer service!!!

http://www.eddiemontgomerysteakhouse.com/

Gentry's steakhouse understood Customer Service, unfortunately the restaurant staff at Shaker Village does not.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CardsFan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

The hotel was great. We stayed in a suite in the Trustee Building. Very ckean and well appointed. Just as the Shakers kived. Enjoyed the food, too. We love to stay in historic buildings.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravleler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed for 4 nights in the East Family Dwelling. The village is wonderful. Small, quiet, lovely setting, great animals. Our room was spotless and the bed was terrific. There were some maintenance issues(tv barely worked, phone didn't work, sink stopper not connected, tub faucet rusty & barely working), but the room was large, bright & comfy. No internet except in the West Family Dwelling.The restaurant was disappointing. Breakfast was very sub-par (cold eggs, unripe fruit) & no variety. After the last day, we were very glad to not eat there again. It is not easy to "run out to get breakfast" anywhere else. Also the service in the restaurant was not good. Slow, somewhat surly waitstaff. Dinner was somewhat better, but again the same limited menu night after night.All the same, we really enjoyed our stay and plan on returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
18.9 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Property: Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing