We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational and Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I decided to spend one night at Shaker Village to learn about the community. We arrived at 4:30p so by the time we checked into our room, it was too late to tour the grounds. (Almost everything closes at 5p). The next day, we expected to walk around for 2-3 hours and then leave. Boy were we mistaken. After approximately 6 hours of walking around, talking to historians, attending a music performance, and shopping the two on-site shops, we had to tear ourselves away to get on the road to our next destination. I was told that this was a one-day visit location; I disagree. I would say it is definitely a two-day visit if you are interested in really learning about the history. We talked to several historians and learned so much about the Shaker religion, the appeal of the community, the buildings, etc. It was fascinating! The staff is extremely educated and nice. I love that they don't pretend to be Shakers; they talk about the community in the third person. It is much more believable and realistic.

There were several negative reviews about the food, especially breakfast. We found our meals to be a little expensive, but the food was very good. Dinner was definitely cuisine, not "local favorites", but the chef did a wonderful job. The breakfast buffet was fair.

Our room was simple, but nice. They did not have any King or Queen size beds so we got 2 double beds. Our room did not have Wi-Fi, but it was available in the other building. The bathroom was a nice size and the shower had good water pressure.

We would definitely go back at least for another couple days as we did not get through all the buildings open for touring. I must say, when we went there were not a lot of other people there. In fact, in our building, I believe only 2 other rooms had guests. It was quiet and was in located in a beautiful area of KY.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay. If you visit here, be sure to stay overnight. After all the day visitors leave and the crowd thins down, you will really feel as if you've traveled back to another time. It's so beautiful. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. While the dinner is not cheap, they had an outdoor picnic option available as well. There are so many picturesque paths for walkers to enjoy in the early evening. I just love the village.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScreenName008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

A stay at the Shaker Village is very enjoyable, as long as you know what to expect. If you want luxury hotel accommodations, this is not for you. But if you want a restful, simple place, with amazing history--then this is the place. We stayed at the West Lot Dwelling. The room was clean, with simple Shaker furniture, no TV, and pegs on the wall to hang belongings. The room has A/C, but it would have been nice to be able to open the window. The only downside was lugging a suitcase up 3 flights of narrow stairs. We enjoyed the rocking chairs on the porch, and the view was lovely. We had a very fine dinner at the Dining Room; service and food were good. The restored buildings of the Village are fascinating, the interpreters/docents are first-rate, and we only wish we had allowed more time to fully explore the grounds and trails.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tortuga_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by this place. Unlike any other "village" I've ever visited. Everything about it is beautiful! We didn't meet an unfriendly person there. Everybody was exceptionally kind. To gain the full experience be sure to stay at the Inn. Allow a full day to wonder the streets and listen to the tour guides. A perfect place to allow yourself to unwind, relax and live in a simpler time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiana2thebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have stayed here in the past, always nice and relaxing, the hiking is really nice and the area has lots to do with historic towns, wineries, whiskey tours and good activities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

My family and I have stayed at Shakertown a number of times over the past 20 years. We have enjoyed the rural respite from urban care that a visit to the village offers. The past five years, we also have enjoyed an excellent chamber music festival at the village. Our most recent visit has prompted us to question whether to return for any future overnight stays. Several problems now exist. We can only hope that the management will remedy them.

One of the great treats about a visit to Shakertown is the opportunity to stay in a restored Shaker building. The quality of that experience, however, is seriously compromised by the fact that televisions bleat from adjoining rooms into the night and that one cannot open one’s room windows to let in the country air. The windows are sealed shut. This resulted in a miserable night in our rooms when the heat in our building was turned on despite the mild temperature outside. The rooms quickly became stifling hot, and the sealing of the windows made it impossible to vent the heat. Management did not offer even an apology for the night’s sleep we all lost.

In the past, another treat at Shakertown was dining in the Trustees House. This experience no longer is worthwhile. The quality of the food has declined to mediocre at best. A fish dish was flavorless and dry. Fried chicken rested in a puddle of oil. A bountiful relish tray once included with a meal has shrunk to a plate of Wal-Mart pickings that costs extra. The buffet breakfast was simply awful. The service ranges from friendly and inept to diffident and inept. For no discernible reason, the host one night kept my 90 and 89 year old parents waiting 40 minutes past their reservation. Again, not so much as an apology from the management.

Shakertown is worth visiting for its history and beauty, but unless and until the current management decides to operate its lodging and dining in a manner appropriate for a real hotel, one should consider other options, e.g., the Beaumont Inn in Harrodsburg.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Godzillabird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My husband & I stayed there 2 nights while in Kentucky to take in the Bourbon Trail. It's the perfect place to stay for someone wanting something unique and away from the hustle & bustle of a city. In keeping with the attention to restoration, you aren't going to have some the amenities like other regular hotels, but no one booking a room here should expect that. What you WILL have is an incredible experience.

Our room consisting of 2 double beds was very clean as was our bathroom, and both were HUGE! I was somewhat concerned as it was located at the top of the staircase & I was worried that we'd hear a lot of traffic up & down the staircase, but that was never the case. (We found the tempurpedic mattresses were not really to our liking, but we were thankful that we got to try them as we were considering them for the future. Others, however, might really like them)

As for the restaurant, we've dined all over in some of the best restaurants in the world and can truthfully say that we had superb service and the meal of the ribeye and the seared scallops was very delicious . Breakfast, although buffet-style, was basic buffet fare, but very good.

The best part is being able to wander the beautiful grounds at leisure. One can just walk around the village or hike on the 40-mile system of trails which surrounds the village. Unfortunately, the only nice day of our trip was the day that we arrived and so we weren't able to get outside on the second day. One word of caution. . . . we hiked through many meadows and in doing so brought back LOTS of ticks with us. We THINK they're just wood ticks, but still, with all the deer tracks we saw we felt it necessary to put our clothes & shoes into plastic bags to bring home.

The only down-side I can see is that if one is looking to lounge in one's room, this might not be the best place. However, that may depend on the room. Our room had 2 dbl. beds and 2 rocking chairs. But if you're just using your room as a place to sleep, relax before dining, etc. it's perfect. It's a wonderful way to step back into time!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julenka63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
6.5 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
14.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
452 reviews
12.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Lexington South
Comfort Inn Lexington South
#2 of 4 in Nicholasville
63 reviews
11.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nicholasville
22.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range: £56 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing