We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Stay !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Stay !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed in one of the buildings that was built in 1844. The room was nice and clean with simple decor just like the life style of the Shakers . Beautiful grounds and well kept. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    78
    26
    5
    1
See reviews for
64
126
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting.
We stayed in the West Family Sisters' Shop. Room was simply but well furnished, large, and immaculately clean. Bathroom well arranged. Beds very comfortable (memory foam mattresses).
You do have to handle your own luggage, so that may affect room choice (no elevators).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 56Fiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alliance, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you want a really good Shaker experience, go to Pleasant Hill, and eat at the main dining room and stay overnight. Breakfast buffet was excellent and so was our dinner the previous evening. This is a great place to learn about the Shakers.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a room in the main hotel. We stayed in one of the other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 788jackw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrison, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stay at Shaker Village with a group of horseback riders every year and it is beautiful. The horse accomidations are as nice as the riders. We were there when they had a spirit walk so it only added to the entertaining weekend. A walk back in time that was very informative.The only drawback were the dead flies in the room but at least they were dead. Plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmptyNesterHavinFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

I have been to Shaker Village many times. We often took my sons and this was the first trip with grandchildren. They are 5 and 3. They loved it. The open fields, the lay-out, the hiking trails, the animals. They couldn't stay away from the rope swing attached to a tree branch.

The staff is excellent. Kentucky friendly! The restaurant is nice and the staff was great with the 5 and 3 year old. There is now a happy hour on the patio at the side of the hotel.

The rooms do smell a little musty although up-dated. When we stayed years ago there were no TV's. Now there are TV's in the rooms.

There was only one problem which I'll address in rooms selection.

Room Tip: I chose the Farm Deacon Suite for my son and his family. Parents, a 15 year old, a 5 and 3 year old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
283 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Although we live within an hour or so drive we had long thought of spending a night at this historic site and were glad we finally did. We chose a Thursday night when nothing else was going on and right before a big event. We also took our dog as the village had a room reserved for people with pets. We stayed in the east brethren work building which had all the ambiance of the 19th century while our room had a tv, a comfortable bed and modern bath with shower. We were on the second floor and only one other couple appeared to be renting a nearby room but it was very quiet. The room no doubt was not as nicely furnished as others and the floor showed signs of wear. My only problem given that we had a dog however was that room darkening curtains or shades to block the morning sun would give privacy and block early morning sun. The light curtains fit the decor but real curtains would be better for guests. The prices are reasonable considering the historic nature of the property. Each room would be different due to this I think. Coffee was available in a nearby building as was a sitting room with board games and vending machine. What we liked best was the chance to walk the farm and building area after hours and early the next morning. We did not require any special services and the room had everything in it we expected. There was no internet in the room and we did not try it in the main building.

Room Tip: You might check the website and then call if you have particular requirements. There are no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Shaker Village itself is very interesting. It is quiet and peaceful. We liked our room, which was actually two rooms with two separate bathrooms, which worked well for our family of four. The price was also reasonable for staying in a historic building and having what amounted to a suite. Aside from the mattresses being very hard, our actual time in the room was satisfactory. Our problems with Shaker Village were more staff related. The staff was very friendly and attempted to assist us. However, they did not seem to know the answers to our questions. When we arrived there was a figure on our bill which doubled the price. It was removed, but no one could figure out where it came from. We asked how long a certain tour would last, and the man at the desk didn't know, and couldn't find anyone who did know. The man who eventually led that tour must never have been on the tour himself because he was unable to answer the questions that he was asked about the building we were touring. Another staff member watched my children play with the children's games because she didn't know how to use them herself. Service at dinner was very slow, and three of the four meals were good (one was not), but nothing extraordinary. Also, when placing our reservation on the website, we were were only given two options for rooms that would hold four people, but when I called to see if I could get an extra night (schedule change) we found out that there were several other options (one of which we took) that the website didn't give us. The lady on the phone recommended that if we were to ever make a reservation with them again that we should call and not trust the website information.

Room Tip: Make sure you talk with someone directly and tell them exactly what you are looking for. The Truste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
6.3 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
13.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
12.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#16 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
13.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#3 of 6 in Danville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
20.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn

Property: Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn
Address: 3501 Lexington Rd, Harrodsburg, KY 40330-9218
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shaker Village has been a warm beacon of hospitality for more than 200 years. Named as a top hidden travel destination by BBC News, The Inn is much more than a traditional hotel. Guest rooms, suites and private cottages-each offering distinct character-are located in 13 restored Shaker buildings. Rooms are comfortably appointed with Shaker reproduction furniture, original hardwood floors and spectacular countryside views. This complete Kentucky destination allows you to be as active or as restful as your heart desires. Dine on seasonal seed-to-table menus at The Trustees' Table and take home treasures from The Shops, then explore Shaker Village's 3,000 acres of discovery. Shaker Village is within short driving distances from Kentucky's legendary bourbon distilleries, horse farms and historic sites. Whether you're planning a family vacation, weekend getaway, business meeting, destination wedding or other special occasion, The Inn provides the perfect stage for your most memorable occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Shaker Village of Pleasant Hill - The Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shaker Village Of Pleasant Hill Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing