We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible room”

Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bright Leaf Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I bought food my first night to take to lunch with me the next day, and when i woke up the next morning it was covered in ants. I was on the 3rd floor!!! I also had to fix the shower myself, and even had to buy a new shower head, just to be able to take a decent shower. The room was super cheap, but i would gladly pay more to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Don't buy any food that doesn't go in the fridge! It will be eaten up by ants!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyldpixie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Public Relations Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

We appreciate your feedback. Guest reviews are the best way to gain insight on improvements that would make your stay at Bright Leaf Golf Resort most enjoyable. We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We are in the process of an extensive remodel of 40 of our rooms. We would love the opportunity to have a second chance to improve your impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Bright Leaf Golf Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

I went to Bright Leaf for the first time recently and found it to be a pretty decent value golf resort, but it needs quite a bit of work before I would consider going back.

I really liked the course, it was pretty open and not long which plays better to a large group of varying skill. The fairways and greens were in really good shape, but the tee boxes need some work. I also liked the short Executive Course (9 hole); it's shorter, but has more water and makes for something you can play pretty quickly if you want to get another 9 in before the sun goes down.

The restaurant was just OK. The wait staff is extremely friendly and they do a good job. The food is decent for what it is, which is a lot of fried food and a ton of salt. The good thing (or bad) is that it is endless since there is always something on the buffet. The variety is pretty good, but the food quality is nothing great. The décor of the restaurant was very 1980's and basic, but serviceable for serving a bunch of golfers.

The accommodations is where I had my biggest issue, they were very basic and they were in large need of a significant upgrade. The rooms were generally picked up and vacuumed, but the floors and carpets had obviously not be well cleaned in some time. The towels were thread bare and everything seemed dated and stale. A friend who has been visiting here for 30 years told me the building we were staying in was not there when he started going. I found this hard to believe since it appeared to be a 1960's style hotel construction that may have been renovated in the 1980's.

I understand that they are in the process of a large upgrade in conjunction with their 50th anniversary and have started with the main building rooms. Maybe next year they will have the other building done.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly renovated rooms.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Owner at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We appreciate your feedback, CincyTripper. We completed a renovation project of 65 of our rooms in 2013. If you plan to visit our area again, I believe you will be pleased. Thanks for taking time to post a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We went with a large group of guys for an early season winter dustoff. The course is set up for fast, wide open play, ideal for knocking the cobwebs from your game. If you accept that this is the intent of the course this time of year, you'll be more than pleased.

That said, the lodgings are clean, and, well functional. Fine for a group of guys, but I wouldn't take anyone there who was looking for a "nice" place to stay. It's a place to sleep when you're playing golf. Oh, and yes, all those bugs in the room this time of the year are june bugs. Harmless really.

Food in the restaurant is like the lodgings... functional. Oh yes, the county's a dry county. Take in your own beer and liquor if you're so inclined.

Room Tip: Ask for course-side.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for taking time to post a review, D J M. 65 of our rooms underwent a major renovation over the past two winters...I believe you will be more than pleased with the results! We would love to earn your repeat business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Really fun weekend, for the second year in a row. We were greeted by a staff that was very welcoming and friendly. The room was clean and have plenty of room. We played 45 holes the first day including two loops on the main course and the nine hole executive course. All 27 holes were in great shape with receptive greens that were still running fast. The course is not that challenging, as it is pretty short and very wide so it is good for any level of golfer.

The convenience of the stay and play is a big plus. Waking up, getting breakfast and checking in at the pro shop for the day is nearly seamless. The food is ok, not 5 star but not bad. Reasonably priced.

Bright leaf could use a ranger on the course as the pace can get really slow as they allow group play ( we ran into a group of 8 playing a cart scramble, with 3-4 open holes in front of them). Outside of that one minor complaint the trip was well worth it. We will be coming back next year.

Room Tip: Request a golf course view. It gets you away from the road noise and its a nice view and big room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for taking time to post a review, Josh J. We are glad you enjoyed yourself! We do have a ranger on the course, but apologize that your situation was overlooked. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

In September 2012 I played the Par 3 golf at Bright Leaf. Wonderful little course, less than 100 yards per hole and GREAT short game practice. No tee times required and a mere $5. Not state of the art but great fun for a short round with your golfing buds. The regulation 18 hole course looked nice; I did not play it but there was a steady crowd.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the lodge but heard it needed some updates.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Lynn A,

Thanks for taking time to post a review! I am glad you enjoyed the Par 3 course. 65 of our rooms underwent major renovations over the past two winters; if you are ever back in our area we would love for you to stop by and check them out!

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Happened by this place by chance. Last place in town that had a room available. Was pleasantly surprised by staff, we got to upgrade to a villa for about $12 more for the weekend special. Villa was clean, large you could easily have 8 people share this villa. Full kitchen, dining area, living room, 2 tv's and couldn't complain about the view.. Clean.

Room Tip: If you are able to upgrade to a villa it's worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for taking time to post a review, Julie J!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

We live very close to this place and had never been there. A friend rented a room by the pool to take her daughter swimming for the day and invited us to go. We loved it. They have a very large outdoor pool. The place does have some age on it but the rooms and the pool area were clean. They also provide grills and plenty of rocking chairs and table to sit at out side the rooms. The restaurant is right next to the pool and, for us anyway, it was close to home. If you are a golfer with a family or just want a place to swim and eat this is a great location.

Room Tip: They have package deals for golfers.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvstravelky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blgr, Manager at Bright Leaf Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thanks for taking time to post a review, luvstravelky! 65 of our rooms have just been remodeled (including the rooms near the pool). The pool will be opening in the next couple of weeks. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrodsburg
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Harrodsburg
5.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 6 in Danville
145 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Danville
Hampton Inn Danville
#1 of 6 in Danville
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Danville
Red Roof Inn Danville
#4 of 6 in Danville
120 reviews
7.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Danville
21.5 mi away
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
Best Western Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bright Leaf Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bright Leaf Golf Resort

Address: 1742 Danville Road, Harrodsburg, KY 40330
Region: United States > Kentucky > Harrodsburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Harrodsburg
Price Range: £64 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bright Leaf Golf Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bright Leaf Golf Resort is a family owned and operated golf resort located in the heart of the Kentucky Bluegrass. We offer 27 regulation holes and a lighted nine hole par 3 course in addition to 105 units in our hotel, The 19th Hole Restaurant, health club and pool. Group express check-in is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Bright Leaf Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bright Leaf Golf Hotel Harrodsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing