We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ribs”
Review of Old Owl Tavern

Old Owl Tavern
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Bar and Grill located adjacent to Beaumont Inn. Full service, lunch and dinner with full bar.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Ribs”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We did a premium tasting with Dixon which was a highlight of our trip. He is extremely knowledgable and the tasting was very informative. We followed this with a meal in the tavern - my ribs were the best I have had, they just fell off the bone. My husband wasn't as fond of his catfish but that was not a reflection of the food more personal preference. The salad and vanilla crunch pie were amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jensugarandspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    61
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but not Great”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My wife and I went for lunch on Valentine's weekend recently, Great atmosphere, good service, my wife ordered a hamburger and fries which was very good, My grilled chicken was nothing special as in same as Mcdonalds along with really thin sliced and greasy homemade onion rings. Might go back here but will order something else.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roamer7456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corning, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My Old Kentucky Home”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Old Owl's Tavern is part of the Beaumont Inn, a famous local hotel and restaurant. It serves authentic Kentucky cooking with friendly service and a wide range of Kentucky bourbons, not to be confused with Tennessee whiskey. I ordered the Tavern dinner which is a piece of country fried chicken breast with a piece of country ham. If you have never had country ham, it is dry and chewy and very salty. But it is delicious when paired with a moist chicken breast. The special side dishes that night were a pasta salad with mayonnaise dressing and spiced apples, which I used as a dessert. They have several local microbrews on tap, of which I tried the Kentucky IPA which was pleasantly hoppy and light.
This was a business dinner and it was very comfortable to relax after work and make acquaintances.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CorningPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wacken, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must Visit...”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Possibly the finest Old Fashioned cocktail in the country made with the premium bourbon of your choice. Excellent menu of local and Southern fare that will far exceed the expectations of even the choosiest foodie. The fried green tomatoes are a must try as is the fried chicken. Local produce and meats are featured by the kitchen and the staff is truly dedicated to the details of your visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hawkti62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fine food at a fine price!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

My wife and I had dinner with another couple recently at the tavern and enjoyed it tremendously. The atmosphere is great, the wait staff is very good, the adult beverages were excellent and the food was delicious. I especially enjoyed the shrimp and grits, as well as some of their drink specials. We try to get to the tavern at least 4 or 5 times a year and have never had a bad meal. It's one of our favorites!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Owl Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Old Owl Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing