We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful”

Kentucky Fudge Company
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Harrodsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Diner, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Historic Soda Fountain/ Pharmacy now a casual restaurant/ pub/soda fountain
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

This wonderful cafe is in an old, beautifully restored drugstore across from the Courthouse in Harrodsburg. Good salads, delicious soups, and what looked like good sandwiches were available. Plus they had great ice cream choices with sundaes, shakes and banana splits that were the real deal. Good prices as well!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lazonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrodsburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mixed Opinion”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

First visit . . the place looked great, old fashioned drug store/ice cream parlor setting (mostly original) nice to see some Old Harrodsburg . . Riley Burger was great. . cole slaw horrible . . . not happy with à la carte menu . . . ordering items separately makes for an pricey lunch. My friend and I each had a sandwich, one side, and a fountain drink . . . bill was $19 (and change) . . . these are dinner prices, not lunch prices. The waiter delivered our food and that was the last time we saw him . . . if you wanted anything more you had to go to the counter and wait for someone to help you. I am not opposed to going back because the burger was really very good. While I was there, I discovered a bar in the back, so they do serve alcohol . . . weekends live music and open until midnight . . . might be worth checking out again just for this reason.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoLuvsDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“love it! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

First, the inside is absolutely beautiful! They really have tried to keep the pharmacy feel utilizing original display cases and shelves. Secondly the food is TO DIE FOR! It's so so delicious. Wheat her you're getting a quick ice cream treat or sitting down for lunch you will have an amazing experience. We are locals and we go at the very least once a week. Super friendly staff and the whole place is very very clean

Helpful?
Thank Followell6912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Kentucky Fudge Company is a charming restaurant in this historic town that will take you back many years since the building formerly housed a pharmacy. There are displays on the wall of old products that were sold there back in the first half of the 20th century. There is also a soda fountain that adds to the quaintness of the restaurant. My wife and I both had gourmet grilled cheese sandwiches, both delicious, while my wife had tomato bisque soup and I had homemade cole slaw. Both were very good. In fact, my wife said it was the best tomato bisque soup she has ever eaten. Besides sandwiches, the restaurant also offers various desserts, from pie to ice cream to cookies. My wife finished off her meal with a scoop of chocolate ice cream on a sugar cone. The restrooms are clean and the staff is very friendly and courteous. I'd advise checking out restaurant's website to get information about the history of the place, menu, etc. It is certainly a restaurant I'd recommend and return again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amelia, Ohio
Level Contributor
186 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice setting, very good sandwiches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The selection of food, desserts and ice cream are excellent. My wife and I got sandwiches and sat out on the back deck. Not a great view, but comfortable. The sandwiches were excellent. I had the Applewood bacon BLT. Very well done.

The set up can be a little confusing. Order at the counter and they deliver to the table. There's a small bar. It may be a Kentucky process, but there's no alcohol on the menu board. I believe you have to consume in the bar.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dayhiker3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kentucky Fudge Company also viewed

 

Been to Kentucky Fudge Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing