We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a treat to eat!”
Review of The Miners Arms

The Miners Arms
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Whitecroft
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Greek, British, Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Miners Arms is a family run, award winning Freehouse Pub & Restaurant. It has a stunning 4 star Holiday Cottage with wifi, forest views and a hot-tub. The Miners is a popular, locally supported pub as well as being a destination venue for diners and live music lovers. It is host to Jazz and other music nights. A friendly place with log fires set at the gateway to the forest of dean. Owners Mario & Karen welcome walkers, dog owners, children, drinkers, diners and musicians! Good freshly made local produce cooked with love. All served in a clean and welcoming environment. Call to make your reservation, book your party or even to have a game of traditional skittles! The Miners is open 7 days a week from midday every day of the year. Lunch and dinner is served daily and booking is always advised!
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Always a treat to eat!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

By far the best restaurant in the FOD for its food and real ales -- staff always courteous and never fails to be an enjoyable experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariominers, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you Stuart for your kind words!

See you soon

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    57
    37
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely choice of food. All presented well and tasted great. Portion sizes were also spot on. All the staff were polite and service with a smile. Will definitely be back to try more of the menu out :-)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariominers, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave us these nice words! I am just off on my hollibobs and you have made me leave with a smile and confidence in my hard working team!

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good night out and look forward to more”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We had just got back from holiday in Greece and friends dropped in for the night of 15th. We needed somewhere to take them for dinner, not too formal or expensive but menu that could cope with differing appetites and tastes. We'd previously been to The Miners Arms so knew of the restaurant side of pub. Our meals were very good, I'm veggie and had the most amazing cajun veggie burger, tasty and filling, the chips were scrummy. Having just got back from Santorini and a week of eating Greek food my husband continued the theme and had the Cypriot Meze grill which he said was delicious. Our friends thoroughly enjoyed the food and great ale. We'll definitely visit again to try the rest of the menu. The service was good and restaurant very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariominers, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review!

Kali Orexi!!!

The Greek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

good food ,nice menu, good service, nice range of beers good environment, grill night twice a week is excellent value

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank grooby186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariominers, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Succinct, positive and we are grateful for your review!
Come again!

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Music and great food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is my most favourite pub and restaurant in the forest of dean. They have a great selection of food and beverages. I've also listened to some awesome bands while being there.
Keep it up!

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariominers, Owner at The Miners Arms, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to say nice things, I am all warm and fuzzy!

See you soon

Mario
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Miners Arms also viewed

Parkend, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 
Lydney, Forest of Dean
Clearwell, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The Miners Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing