We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous and Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irvine
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Irvine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Gorgeous and Peaceful”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My husband and I stayed for two nights in the cabin by the creek. The colors of the trees were gorgeous. I can't remember the last time we saw so many stars in the night sky. We were able to hike on the property and Natural Bridge and Red River Gorge are only 45 minutes away. Barbara's food was wonderful. It was a very peaceful weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    172
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
35
96
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Truth or Consequences, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The setting is beautiful. The people warm and friendly. The cooking beyond stunning. We look forward to many visits to Snug Hollow.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George87901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

My spouse is a vegetarian so I was drawn to the inn for the food to celebrate his birthday. We started with dinner on Sunday and were blown away by the delicious salad and bread -- that came before the main course and dessert... we were full for sure. The other guests were fun to interact with and it kicked off a relaxing two days. The summer storm that blew through also provided welcome cooler temps and breezes. We did not take as many hikes as we would have liked (there was a storm after all that burned down a neighboring home). We left each morning so full we had only light fare until evening. Barbara knows the local opportunities and everywhere we went we were warmly greeted. The artisans around and in Berea are top-notch. I dare you to return home without something. The cozy cabin was a private and restful retreat and we loved sitting on the back porch listening to the birds and other beasts. Turkeys welcomed us each day. Quite a restorative retreat.

Room Tip: The cozy cabin can sleep up to ten - but the 185 year old log cabin is quaint, sturdy and clean. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no2h8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our 31st anniversary. It was a very special place. Nestled in the valley of several mountains, the peacefulness surrounds you like a warm blanket. We stayed in the new cabin, which was very roomy. There is a microwave, fridge, toaster, dishes, etc. If you want do do any cooking, take an electric skillet.

Their breakfasts were terrific and extremely filling. Barbara is a great hostess, full of energy and enthusiasm. She also cooks dinners upon request, but we didn't take advantage of this. We wish we had, because you are very isolated there. And once you get there, you don't really want to leave!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetepster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2011

This was the best b&b I've ever been to!! Luxurious and charming. Gormet, but not pretentious. Barbara is a true Kentucy folk hero, and it was a joy to be treated by her and her family to this taste of the quiet country life. The drive alone is worth coming, such beautiful backroads. Breakfast was astounding. Vegetarians rejoice, there is a place for you in Kentucky.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joelmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

After reading all of the glowing reviews, we expected a much better experience. Certainly, the setting was idyllic and the food was tasty, but the latter was overpriced and underwhelming. I don't normally write up bad reviews, but the owner, Barbara, specifically asked us to log on to TripAdvisor to give her a "raving" review, and that was just the cherry on top of our stay. In contrast to the other reviews, I did not feel welcomed at all, nor was the stay relaxing, and the eco-friendly display was little more than an out-dated charade, substituting efficiency for sparing use of resources. I found the owner and other guests (self-proclaimed regulars who swear by this B&B and no other) rude, pretentious, and self-congratulating. Initially, I had qualms about writing up a bad review because of the beautiful setting, admittedly healthy fare, and reminiscences of simpler summer vacations spent with my own grandmother, but I have no doubt that Barbara knows she is well-loved by countless other visitors and locals and will shrug this poor review off, continuing to rest on her laurels and condescend to whomever else stumbles across her path. If you want a quiet getaway or an eco-friendly farm experience with no judgment from your host, seek greener pastures than these.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Scandinasican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2011

A peaceful and scenic haven. Great food and a great hostess.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakota5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
13.8 mi away
Boone Tavern Hotel
Boone Tavern Hotel
#1 of 10 in Berea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
21.8 mi away
Cliffview Resort
Cliffview Resort
#1 of 2 in Campton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Richmond
Hampton Inn Richmond
#1 of 14 in Richmond
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berea
18.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Richmond
La Quinta Inn Richmond
#4 of 14 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
23.0 mi away
Natural Bridge State Resort Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: 790 McSwain Branch Rd, Irvine, KY 40336-8951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Irvine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast invites you to visit our 300--acre mountain retreat in the heart of Kentucky. Where the seasons set the stage for restorative rest, relaxation and reconnecting, offering comfortable accommodations, walking trails, quiet surroundings and delightful dining. Ideal for corporate or personal retreats and workshops. Enjoy a 150 year old log cabin, spacious farmhouse , Cottage with a View and a cedar/pine cabin. "An Environmental Inn ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Hollow Farm Bed & Breakfast Irvine, Kentucky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing