We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant meal was delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Restaurant meal was delightful”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

We were staying in a bed and breakfast close by and ate here one evening. We were warmly welcomed by name as we walked in the door and shown to our table. Although there was a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant due to only two other tables being occupied, we had a fantastic meal! The food was amazing, the service nicely balanced between formal and friendly, with a particularly funny waiter talking to us now and again. The menu was balanced and the food fresh and expertly presented. We felt that it was good value for the quality. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fullamfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for your recent review and feedback on your stay with us here at The Colwall Park Hotel.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and that our team in particular made your stay extra special .

Our new menu will be launched within the next month, so if you can tempt yourself to more gourmet delights we would love to welcome you back. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    367
    158
    36
    20
    10
See reviews for
85
340
15
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malvern
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We chose this hotel for our celebration, we had an afternoon tea with canapés and welcome drinks in the garden.

It was all that we wanted and the staff were so attentive and served us so well.The food was excellent

We did stay over for two nights, the room was lovely, but just lacked some finesse with hospitality provision.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter although it is a small village so fairly quite wherever
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funkynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you for leaving us your feedback following your celebrations here with us.

Your comments on the room amenities have been noted and will be taken into consideration during our refurbishment plans.

We thoroughly enjoyed hosting your special day here and what a lovely day it was. Congratulations once again and we hope you visit us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Fascinating to read the recent and very varied reviews! We stayed for one night recently, prospecting the hotel for a group break next year, and it certainly ticked all our boxes!
Admitting that it is a little tired and a trifle overpriced in both room rate and wine charges, the pluses more than compensated for this.
Location - in an ideal position for walking the Malverns (with some walks available from the door) and close to a rapid and regular train service into Worcester, Hereford and Ledbury.
Rooms - certainly our Classic room, to the front of the hotel, was adequately spacious and equipped, with a comfortable king-size bed and modern bathroom. Public rooms were plentiful and welcoming.
Food - really very good. We expected a good dinner at a 2 rosette hotel, and we got not only that but also one of the tastiest full english breakfasts I have experienced. Not that wide a choice at either meal but real quality, presentation and originality
Staff - the unseen catering staff were clearly on top of their game, but also the front of house staff were welcoming and helpful to a degree not always found in English hotels.
So a great success in our view, and we cannot wait to return for a longer break with four other couples in 2015 (and to see what changes the new owner has made!)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank donjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Colwall Park Hotel.

As you may already be aware, the hotel is recently under new ownership and our plans are to spend some time on updating our rooms and therefore you will be able to experience the changes on your return visit in 2015.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stow on the wold
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We have used Secret Escapes on a number of occasions and have enjoyed the times that we have had away, but this break away for an anniversary was beyond description. I have never ever in my life walked away from a hotel especially one that was already paid for.

We had booked an paid in advance for one night plus dinner and a bottle of sparkling wine for our wedding anniversary

Looking at the photographs on the web site the aerial photograph of the hotel and the description leads you to believe that the hotel is surrounded by open countryside the landscaped gardens.

This is not the case, as you arrive in front of the hotel you turn in off the main road that borders the front of the Hotel into the railway station yard and a small industrial complex, which separates the Hotel from the Malvern hills.

Putting our initial disappointment to one side we parked the car and entered the Hotel to be greeted by a dark, very dated reception and a prevailing smell of mustiness and stale cooking, coupled with what can only be described as a very heavy and depressing atmosphere.

When the staff came to the reception in response to the old fashioned desk bell, she was very friendly and we thought ok lets see the room that was described as looking over their landscaped grounds and there might be an improvement on our opinion of the Hotel.

No! the room if anything was a backward step and could be described as a cell with an en-suite that took over most of the area. The described splendid views were looking out at the hotels waste pipes and brick walled void . The sky was somewhere above but not seen and there was no view of any landscaped garden or countryside.

We quickly decided that this was not the hotel for us to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we went back to the reception and informed them that we could not stay. The staff apologised for the room and immediately showed us another which looked more like the accommodation as shown on the web site. Although a far better room the views were still of the buildings opposite, no garden or countryside just dull dark bricks and mortar. The room still had the prevailing smell which was getting into your nose and imprinting itself on our memories.

We informed the staff that we would not be staying or eating at the hotel and left

I will add that this is not to be reflected on the staff as they were courteous and attempted to assist us.

However, this we feel is a direct reflection on the ownership and management of the hotel where it is obvious that investment is required to bring it to the standard that it advertises it is and in keeping with what people spending in excess of £160 per night expect.

This is not the standard that we have come to expect from Secret Escapes and you only have to look at the web site to appreciate how we were mislead into looking forward to something that is so far from how it is portrayed and the truth.

We are greatly disappointed with how this hotel was presented

Room Tip: do not believe the photos! the back bedroom was dreadful, old and musty with dated furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Catinstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent visit to The Colwall Park Hotel. As you’re aware we are located in a rural village and although we have access to the Malvern Hills towards the back of the hotel, we are not set in isolated countryside.

The hotel was taken over by new owners 6 weeks ago and some of the points you have raised in regards to our room décor we are aware of and have a refurbishment schedule in place to start within the coming months.

It was a great shame that you were unable to stay at the hotel and experience our restaurant and other facilities but appreciate that our location didn’t meet your expectations and therefore felt that you were unable to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Overall we were disappointed in this hotel and felt it was poor value for money.

The hotel is situated in the quiet village of Colwall, conveniently at the foot of some nice walking tracks. Common areas resemble an old-fashioned country house hotel and are roomy and adequately appointed; there is a nice garden at the rear. Staff are friendly. Our room was a comfortable size.

However the decor and facilities have been frozen in time from 30 years ago. Walls are covered with dull yellow and cream wallpaper. Our room on the top floor was up a little, gloomy corridor and had pine furniture units and chintzy soft furnishings. Our child's bed had a chintzy valance but no attempt had been made to hide a coarse brown blanket on top. The public areas have a certain smell that we associate with hotels from 30 years ago. Overall it resembled visiting someone's Granny in her modest house in the country.

The shower was useless - an Aqualisa heating unit which could barely produce enough water to remove a little shampoo. The heating was - as in so many English hotels - controlled by the calendar instead of the thermometer: luckily the hotel responded quickly to our request for a portable electric heater when the overnight temperature dropped to 5 degrees. The bed sagged in the middle and was absurdly springy.

Service, while universally smiley, was full of (metaphorical) shrugs - ie faced with a customer problem there was not enough followthrough or thinking creatively about solutions. The wifi does not work: shrug. There are no croissants today although they were here yesterday: shrug. We unfortunately forgot to bring toothpaste, can you do anything to help: shrug.

Breakfast was dull. Materials sourced from tins and packets (with some chopped melon) were the first course. The cooked breakfast was normal B&B fare - generous but nothing special. Porridge was poor.

The atmosphere felt soulless and lacking in life. Although the bar had some custom, the breakfast room, common areas and foyer were a bit depressing - even though we were told the hotel was very busy. The staff hide in the kitchen and other private spaces and this encourages the general gloom. The front desk did not respond on several occasions when the bell was rung: it's a big place and the staff were conversing elsewhere. Spending a rest day in the hotel, we couldn't help think, "Where is everybody?"

Poor internet service (barely working in the room, marginal in common areas, absent in breakfast room) was a particular nuisance. When will UK hotels get the idea that internet access is now like hot water for many guests: it is a necessity - even more so in areas where there is no mobile phone coverage. It is how we read newspapers, keep in touch with friends, do a bit of work, research places to visit, plan our day. At this hotel the whole design is wrong - a half-hearted attempt to stretch coverage across a huge property by adding a wireless extender instead of cabling properly - and there is no technical support available to the staff, by day or by night - not even an outsourced helpdesk. That's just not good enough these days.

I suspect guests of a certain age may find this establishment comforting. But it is not a hotel for the current era despite the potential the large building could offer. Next time we will return to nearby Verzon House which excels in almost all aspects - engaging and responsive staff, lively yet relaxing atmosphere, good food, modern facilities - where the young manager is very much present and dedicated.

Overall our perception was strongly influenced by feeling we were receiving very poor value for money. We paid £185 per night for our room (2 adults, one child on a sofa bed). We felt this was hugely overpriced. At £75 per room per night we would have been fine; but at £185 per night in a village hotel we should have had far more energetic service, modern decor, and working wifi.

At checkout I waited for a while to see if we were asked about our stay, but once the credit card was processed the staff member moved on to other things. No real interest in our experience.

We were advised that the hotel was bought 6 weeks ago and the new owners plan improvements. There is no sign of that (or of the new owners) yet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnONeamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such detailed feedback. I was disappointed to hear that overall you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Colwall Park Hotel.

As you have mentioned, the hotel was taken over 6 weeks ago and our main focus is to bring the hotel back up to date. Some of the points you have raised such as décor, WiFi and water pressure, we are aware of and have been added to our refurbishment schedule.

The refurbishment schedule is due to start in our quieter months of autumn and winter. Due to summer months being our busiest time, we wanted to ensure that our work does not impact our guests.

Guest comments and feedback are extremely important to our ongoing development so we appreciate you taking the time to contact us. Please accept our apologies that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Near Bath, England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived to find our Secret Escapes booking had not come through (something that the hotel blamed on Secret Escapes and vice-versa). However, the receptionist (a lady who lived in the village) couldn't have been more helpful, arranging a room for us without hesitation, booking us in and then showing us to our accommodation. The mix-up was sorted out by the hotel without fuss the following day.

The room itself was comfortable and nicely equipped, with cookies in a jar (to keep them fresh) and real bone china cups. The shower was large with plentiful hot water. We had a good night's sleep, following an excellent dinner in the restaurant.

The hotel itself is well-located for Malvern (a short drive away), with easy walking access to the hills, local pubs and restaurants in and around the village. There is a train stop a few minutes walk from the hotel and a large car park.

The hotel itself is a lovely Edwardian building, stylishly decorated and furnished, with pleasant grounds and good guest facilities, such as a bright and airy lounge on the first floor. We enjoyed our short (2 night) stay and would recommend the hotel to couples and families with older children who are looking for comfortable accommodation, with good service and a family-run feel, not too far from Malvern and yet in a quiet and pleasant village.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mal_bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your review yesterday.

I'm sorry to hear that there had been some confusion with your booking but glad to hear it was resolved with ease. I'm glad you enjoyed the homemade biscuits in your room, they are very popular, as you can imagine!

It's great to hear you took advantage of our facilities and also had chance to explore our beautiful countryside and towns. We all look forward to hopefully seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very friendly staff and very accommodating in terms of serving food in different areas and at odd times, excellent food and drink and clean rooms.

We had a good night's sleep, even though the room was up in the gods and a little cold.

Great breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluetealeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huw W, Owner at Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear you were a little cold in your room. We do offer additional blankets and heaters on request but I appreciate that you may not have been aware of this.

It's great to hear you enjoyed all other aspects of your stay and we do hope you visit us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Colwall
1.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
925 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.6 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
91 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant

Property: Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Address: Walwyn Road | Colwall, Colwall, Malvern WR13 6QG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern > Colwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Colwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renowned for superb food and friendly efficient service, Colwall Park is a luxury hotel in Malvern located halfway between the Cotswolds and Welsh Marches and just 15 minutes from M5/M50. Enjoy the warmth and comfort of a welcoming country house hotel complete with walks on the Malvern Hills direct from our gardens! Dine on gourmet food in our award-winning Seasons Restaurant, indulge in afternoon tea in a Worcestershire setting, and try our popular Lantern Bar - a meeting place for locals and residents alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing