We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic cafe” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malvern Hills GeoCentre

Malvern Hills GeoCentre
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Colwall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Malvern Hills GeoCentre is a technology based visitor information centre situated with stunning views on the western slopes of the Malvern Hills. Use the interactive ipads, large video wall and wall maps to find out about the archeology, geology, water, nature, walks and history of the Malvern Hills. Cafe H2O within the Centre serves a range of locally sourced or homemade refreshments and sells maps & souvenirs. Free wifi.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Basic cafe”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fairly basic cafe with some touchscreens on sticks. Not really worth stopping. There are better facilities in the area, such as the Wyche Inn.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emphilpott, Owner at Malvern Hills GeoCentre, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us. We love the Wyche Inn too - our visitors often stay there and enjoy the amazing views over the other side of the hill.

When you visited our cafe I am glad you saw the ipads on sticks which give local information on geology, archaeology and history. I hope you also saw the video wall, large wall maps and fossil displays. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food and coffee - but dogs not allowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

This is a great place to break a walk on the hills. The food and coffee are good - and very cheap too. The staff are always pleasant, and there is a lot of information available.

But ... no dogs allowed in. Can't se why this is as there are lots of other cafes and pubs around which welcome well behaved dogs. In an area that attracts walkers with dogs the Centre might be missing a trick in not allowing them in with their owners.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paulboy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emphilpott, Owner at Malvern Hills GeoCentre, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thanks very much for your review - we are glad you enjoyed the food and coffee at our reasonable prices!
The question about whether to allow dogs into the centre is always difficult - we find just as many people who feel strongly that they do not want dogs in the cafe. On a nice day you can sit on the benches outside with your dog and we are always happy to provide lots of water for them. Lets hope we have lots of sunny days this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
176 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good stop off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Nice stop off between the Beacon and British Camp, we only had a water and ice lollies to be fair, but great toilets and facilities generally. Very new and sparkling. We like!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo_Sulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emphilpott, Owner at Malvern Hills GeoCentre, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thanks for your review - we are very glad you like! Do come again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Tasty food, good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

I have visited three times in recent weeks, more for the cafe than the geocentre aspect, as it's a great place to meet before or after a walk on the hills.

It is managed by different staff on the weekend to in the week (I've been at both times) but the service has been consistently friendly and the food tasty and good value. There is usually an excellent range of cakes, scones, local juices, teas, coffees, sandwiches etc. I think the menu is extended at weekends and we enjoyed breakfast pancakes with bacon and syrup.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emphilpott, Owner at Malvern Hills GeoCentre, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Thanks very much for your review and I am glad you like our food. The home made Tiffin is my favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

We cycled to the Centre and enjoyed freshly made sandwiches outside in the sunshine. Great service and lovely location and atmosphere. Looking forward to my next visit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emphilpott, Owner at Malvern Hills GeoCentre, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thanks for your lovely review - I am glad you avoided the rain and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Malvern Hills GeoCentre also viewed

 
Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to Malvern Hills GeoCentre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing