We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one of the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Horse Pub

White Horse Pub
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Whepstead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one of the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'm a regular customer since a stroke five years ago. Each time I visit the staff are friendly and helpful and the food and service are excellent.If there are times when I can't cut the food due to weak hands the kitchen staff will cut it up for me before it is served.any change in the menu is no trouble for them The chef lets me know if there is something I might fancy.Fishcakes,crab cakes and vegetable broth are delicious.I have been very lucky to have such a welcoming place so near home.I don't hesitate to take visitors knowing that they will enjoy their meal and be well looked after.Jenny Stewart

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    44
    19
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We dined here on Saturday after hearing such high praise for the place. Firstly the staff are so welcoming and friendly and nothing is too much bother. The food was fantastic, it really was cooked to perfection and everyone in our party of 5 felt the same. Will definitely be returning and highly recommend for food, ale and atmosphere

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmaleene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maldon essex
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and genuine food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Warm and welcoming atmosphere and good food - we had mushroom and fennel soup and rib eye steak and both were lovely. A nice country pub worth a visit if you are in the area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank maldonian11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I went for a meal on a Friday evening with my sisters and we recieved a warm and friendly welcome from the amazing staff. We ordered our food and the service was very quick but not rushed. The every detail of the meal from the chicken curry to the side salad! There was a great atmosphere with the staff and the other customers. I would deffinatley recommend this pub to anyone for a lovely meal and high class service!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CamBrown95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Crowded and unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Our first time here, we popped in hoping for Sunday lunch and a drink. It was heaving. After a time we managed to get two short stools and a small drinks table in the crowded bar area. We ordered pre lunch nibbles while choosing from the menu.

The landlord brought our nibbles but said we would have to stand up shortly because he had a table for four in soon for lunch and wanted to push ours and another set together for the diners.

Firstly we weren't happy because we were faced with standing and trying to juggle drinks and a couple of plates of olives and breads, let alone our coats and handbag.

Secondly we wondered how on earth the table for four were supposed to dine on four stools and a very tiny bar table ( about 18 inches wide). Were they to be like us and hold the plate as they ate?

Either way we were appalled. We stayed long enough to witness a table being told to hurry as their table was due to be used again in half an hour. The poor things had just sat down!

I won't be returning. The landlord is obviously busy enough he doesn't need new custom anyway!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitehorseWhepstead, Owner at White Horse Pub, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
I am sorry you found the The White Horse crowded. It is a very popular & often busy Sunday lunch destination & because of this most customers make a reservation. We are happy for people to call in if they are passing & are most welcome to eat if we have a free table. They make their decision, we do not make it for them. The 4 people you spoke about we're aware that they were sitting at the tables you described, they made the choice & were very happy with it, thanking us for making room for them at the "last minute". On rare occasions we offer an early booking on a later reserved table, the customer is made aware of timing & they make the choice of whether to book or not. We would never ask a customer to "hurry", we would confirm with them what had been discussed when taking the booking, which perhaps you overheard. I hope you choose to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse Pub also viewed

 

Been to White Horse Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing