We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshingly different”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Smashing Tomato

Smashing Tomato
Ranked #75 of 891 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Refreshingly different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We like the subtle difference in the wood-fired pizza oven vs. the standard cookers. The pizza is tasty, especially if you order it "smashed", that is with a bit of spice in the sauce. This is a pizza that needs to be eaten right away. It does not travel well if you have any left to take home.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great pizza and salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We really like the pizza and salad special - especially on wine down Thursday. We split pizza and salad - get pepperoni with spicy sauce. Love videos of Italy - remind me of vacation in Italy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahetabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

I had the six inch pepperoni pizza, a fairly simple item. It was good, but not great. Their tomato sauce is pretty spicy. The pizza was cut into four pieces, as usual, with one pepperoni slice on each pizza slice. At $9.01 for pizza and a beer it is hard to beat, but I prefer traditional sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Masethephotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
“Fresh, tasty, and fast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

The sauce was a little spicy for the weak. The portions were large for the price. Overall, it was fresh and satisfying. Will definitely go back when I am back in town!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swarnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So...So...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I am a pizza fanatic! My first time at smashing tomato i was looking for a pizza that was to die for. For me it was so-so. The sauce is a but spicy which is a great change for pizza. The restaurant is super clean and the staff was friendly. My boyfriend and I split the pepperoni pizza. We took 2 slices home with us. I wont say that I will never go back, but it is not something I will go out of my way to get to!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chasidyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smashing Tomato also viewed

 

Been to Smashing Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing