We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Predictably wonderful”
Review of Mellow Mushroom

Mellow Mushroom
Ranked #72 of 903 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Pizza is our Art, Beer is our Muse, Good times are always on our menu. Home of the UK Wildcat fans.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Predictably wonderful”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I cannot take my mother anywhere anymore without her asking "Is there a mellow mushroom?" So we ended up here, chowing down in another city, in another MM.

This time I got my sister to try something other than plain cheese, and we all tried a bite of each other's food. The potato skin pizza is a little....strange, but very good. Reheats well too.

Also, I really appreciate the waitress just bringing us a pitcher of water: after walking around all day we really needed it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sasha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a great review! We are so flattered to hear that your mother is such an avid Mellow fan and that you have been to so many of our locations. We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chapmanville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

As always the pizza was great. Can't beat mellow mushroom crust. It's the best. Service was good also. If you are looking for a pizza in Lexington look no further than mellow mushroom!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank GracieWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for this awesome review, Gracie! We love hearing from loyal Mellow fans, and it sounds like you're one of them. We appreciate you spreading the word about our yummy pies. We hope to see you again soon, have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Love, love!!!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

The food & atmosphere are awesome! The staff is great! I could eat there every day for lunch if I worked closer to downtown! Also have gluten free pizza. Food is always fresh, & the best part they give you more pizza than you can eat, which means leftovers!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 143mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Sounds like you're a fan! We really love reading reviews like this, it let’s us know we’re doing a good job. Thanks for taking the time to spread the word to others, it’s greatly appreciated. We would love to have you again, have an awesome day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon Hills, IL
Level Contributor
105 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Traditional pizza this ain't.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Nice place with very friendly service, but if your looking for "normal" pizza, you might want to go somewhere else. Very little pesto sauce underneath generous amounts of toppings on a limp crust satisfied my hunger but not my urge to have pizza. Beer selection is good and plenty of TV's to watch the game on. Located right on the edge of campus.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Traditional we are not, Mike. Our style tends to be a little on the quirkier side, but we like to think that’s what sets us apart from others. Thanks for spending a few moments of your time to let others know about Mellow Lexington. We’re glad you enjoyed the beer selection and ample amount of TVs we have. Come back and visit, and maybe you’ll find a pizza that’s more to your taste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Good, fresh, food. ”
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to go. The food was fresh and great tasting. The pizza and sandwich was pleasing and filling. The only complaint was the kids menu wasn't the greatest. Laid back place.

Helpful?
Thank danielespinolajr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BoomerO26, Public Relations Manager at Mellow Mushroom, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for writing us this review, Daniel. We work really hard to take our Mellow fans’ sentiments into consideration, so thank you for taking time out of your day to share your opinion about our tasty pies and hoagies. We hope to see you again, and have an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mellow Mushroom also viewed

 

Been to Mellow Mushroom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing