We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could take this place with us as we travel...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Westminster, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wish we could take this place with us as we travel...”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were in Lexington only one night, but would come back here again. The staff was friendly and attentive, our room was spacious and bright, the common areas were attractive and comfortable, and the breakfast was quite nice. Mmmm...cinnamon rolls.

Room Tip: We had room 301, a corner room on the top floor, with windows on two sides. If you are a light slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollegePaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    63
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
121
68
9
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Marion, NC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My kids and I stayed here Friday night, October 4th after visiting Keeneland Race Course. We have stayed here two or three other times prior to this and have enjoyed it every time.

This time, however, the staff went above and beyond to help us on Saturday morning. I sent my son and his friend, both 10 1/2 years old, to the car to get some medicine, but instead they started horsing around and dropped my ring of keys down the storm grate at the front of the car. Needless to say, I was highly upset, as the keys to my whole life were on there: house, vehicles, master keys for the college campus where I work, keys to my parent's home and vehicles, etc. I spoke to "RJ" at the front desk. She was extremely calm, friendly and helpful and called her maintenance person to come in to help, thinking he could run a pipe snake with a magnet on it to pull up the keys, about 10-12 feet below the surface. Before he arrived, however, Mariella, another employee, came out to take a look and got a third employee, Poncho, to come help. Poncho found two long pieces of some type of wire, used pliers to crimp them together and form a hook on one end. Then he laid down on his belly and reached his hand and arm as far down the grate as possible and fished the wire around until he hooked our keys and pulled them out of the drain. With titanium rods in my back, even if I had the equipment, I could not have done that. I was elated. When we went back in the hotel, RJ even asked to take my keys and clean and sanitize them from the "gunk" in the storm drain.

If this isn't top-notch service, I don't know what is!!

As if a very clean, comfortable room and hot breakfast (w./eggs, gravy, biscuits, sausage, bacon, cereal, yogurt, etc.) weren't enough to keep us coming back during spring and/or fall meet (at Keeneland), the exceptionally kind and helpful staff will continue to make this our favorite spot in Lexington.


P.S.--The front desk person from Friday evening was also very friendly, but I forgot to take down his name.... Jon, I believe.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichaelMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benson, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were traveling to Branson, MS by way of St. Louis and spent one very restful night at this Holiday Inn Express. We were very tired after driving for 9 hrs. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The free coffee and breakfast was just what we needed to start our second day of travel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garland95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We happened to stay the same night as a lot of screaming girls in town for a concert, so we got to really test the way sound carries from the hall. I don't know that any hotel walls and door can block THAT out, though.

Check in was a bit strange -- I had booked online and had an email confirmation for a king bed, but they ended up putting us in room with two doubles instead. When I looked surprised, the man checking us in shrugged and said that's not what he had on file -- no explanation. Okay then... same rate as my original quote, so I guess that's fine. Just strange. He also gave us bad keys, so that was unfortunate. (The woman who helped us when we returned for usable keys was MUCH more friendly!)

Other than that, the room was nice -- not all HIE's have fridges AND microwaves, but this one did. Wifi was pretty solid, too (they have boosters all over). Breakfast was standard. I will say I was a bit shocked that this is so highly ranked in Lexington -- all of the fixtures, especially in the bathroom, were a bit off-kilter. I can't imagine what OTHER hotels must be like if this is one of the best in the area.

I wouldn't say the location is prime, but it's no more than a ten minute drive to downtown. And, if chain restaurants are your thing, there are PLENTY of those in the hotel's immediate area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank radioactive_piano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was a very clean well maintained hotel. Area is very good, plenty of food options within walking distance. Room was very clean, well maintained. Breakfast was good continental with some hot items. Short drive to University of Kentucky.
Only complaint was rude staff in the evening but very pleasant staff the next morning. Wouldn't keep me from staying again.

Room Tip: We were on first floor, which I really liked but we were the first room past the hallway that has th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

I liked this place as the property was modern and clean and the staff were most kind and helpful. The hotel has a good pool, which, given temperatures in the 90s, was most welcome.

I liked the location of the hotel as it was near restaurants and shops etc.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had a very nice stay here in this home from home sort of place. The staff were very friendly, helpful and professional and this was most appreciated. Breakfasts were ok but some fresh fruit salad would have been nice (just a suggestion).

I would have given this place 5*s had there not been a couple of minor niggles:
Noisy air-con
No bread available at breakfast on our first day
Wi-fi on third floor non-existent necessitating trip to reception every time we needed access

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petite100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
3.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#33 of 71 in Lexington
210 reviews
5.8 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#27 of 71 in Lexington
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast
Address: 1780 Sharkey Way, Lexington, KY 40511-2028
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Lexington
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#14 Business Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Offers Comfortable Accommodations in Lexington, KY Take a Take a virtual tour of the hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Lexington Northeast is located near many of Lexington s corporate centers and horse racing facilities. Just a few miles from Lexington Bluegrass Airport (LEX), corporate travelers will find our hotel in Lexington close to many businesses. Within one mile, there are 23 major companies including Amazon.com, Coca-Cola Bottling, TAC AIR, FedEx and UPS. Within two miles, you'll find Rupp Arena and the University of Kentucky, the Lexington Convention Center and downtown Lexington.Our hotel is near the Keeneland Race Course, Red Mile Race Course is also nearby. The Kentucky Horse Park, located 10 minutes from our Lexington accommodations, offers museums and exhibits about horse racing, as well as a venue for equestrian and racing competitions. Downtown Lexington boasts museums, historic homes and unique shops. No matter what brings you to Lexington, our hotel offers guests premium amenities, including free high-speed, wireless Internet access and a free hot Express Start breakfast. You'll enjoy the lovely new rooms along with the well-equipped Fitness Center and heated pool that are open every day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington Northeast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Lexington Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing