We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worse hotel I have stayed at in 10 years”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #19 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My car was vandelized in the parking lot with $2900 of damage and received no hotel management support. The local police were helpful but informed us of other similiar situations at this hotel. The room was equally disappointing. It was probably a good hotel in 1971. It's an easy decision to simply choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Not a safe location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1965dansek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (791)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

787 - 791 of 791 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2013

Full of Kentucky charm I recently stayed at this hotel on business overnight for the third time. I booked through one of the discount websites and was assigned a double room. It was very large and spacious. Check in was a bit tedious as evidently the desk clerk I had wasn't familiar with booking "pre-paid" internet bookings and it took a few minutes for a supervisor to get things corrected.

Beds were comfy. Beer at Bogarts (hotel bar) is good and cold. I didn't try any of the food but what I saw just glancing around looked good.

This is a great deal hotel if you book it on one of the discount internet sites. It's a 3.5 star hotel in South Lexington, just for your point of reference.

Also, the walls are concrete between rooms, at least mine were...so I heard no noise from rooms around me.

It's a classy older hotel with a lot of Kentucky charm. I love it and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Like walking back in time. Looks like an old plantation style home. Friendly staff, comfy beds (if you like tempur pedics), spacious rooms and plenty of hot water. The food in the restaurant is tasty, yet pricy. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smachica03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank Drcamposmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mcurd, General Manager at The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jella83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,227 reviews
1.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
488 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
4.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2703 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £93 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing