We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character and Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #18 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We made this reservation when it was Crowne Plaza for the AL-KY ballgame, but as of Oct 1 it is now just the Campbell House. Thought about changing hotels but I am glad we didn't. It is very charming and elegant with a wonderful restaurant and gift shop. It is like driving up to the grand White House! It could use some updating in certain places but there is so much I wouldn't want to change about the place because of the character and charm. If you like old historic houses and southern elegance, stay here. I am giving it a 4 review just because they didn't clean our room. Don't understand why, but nevertheless they did bring us towels and the stuff we needed. I would stay here again. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got the 3rd floor. But there is a bar/lounge at hotel and we could he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gmann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

796 - 802 of 804 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place is in dire need of a makeover.Booked it because other places I have stayed at were sold out due to the opening weekend of Keeneland and UK parents weekend.Price was fine,front desk staff were very nice,bar also good.Room was large,#2043 two places for a fridge but there were none,two flat screen TV's only one worked,bathroom clean room too dark hallways dingy carpets also need to be replaced.Mgmt.must be changing ,hopefully! Roof was leaking big time cups and drink glasses left over from the night before pizza box's overflowing the trash can outside.Shuttle service is nice to have.Booked only out of desperation! I have stayed several times in Lexington before both Holiday Inn Express and the Hilton downtown and they are way better.Avoid this location if possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharkman122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

this lady is due for a face lift. The staff was very nice and the courtesy shuttle was unbeatable. The rate was very good as well. I found my room with a cracked vanity and ridges in the carpet. The television had a good selection of channels. The bathroom was small with the toilet paper stuck where you just about couldn't find them (yes, there were two separate rolls.) The side of the room nearest the closet was dimly lit and there was not light in the closet itself. Seeing your clothes was somewhat difficult. Near the track, but it is a little way from downtown. They did have good cookies and a free USA today. All in all the whole place could use a redo and lighter brighter colors.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Plaztik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This is no longer a Crowne Plaza and really isn't up to Crowne Plaza standards. The exterior is really kind of sharp, but the interior is dated, dark and rambly. The furniture has it's fair share of dings. The bathroom is tiny and it's not possible to store cosmetics near the sink. The shower could have been cleaned better. This place looks like it had it's time and it's time has passed. The service at breakfast was slow. There were plenty of staff, but getting coffee refills was tough. The buffet was a little neglected and wasn't refreshed. I would order off the menu if I had to do it again. Of course, I didn't realize that was an option until I saw others doing so. There were some positives. The hotel definitely feels safe and the mattress is excellent. Also, the price was pretty reasonable. It was about half of the Hilton or the Hyatt. It's not on par with either, but if you need a safe, reasonably clean hotel that's a little cheaper, this may be an option.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherHoustonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My car was vandelized in the parking lot with $2900 of damage and received no hotel management support. The local police were helpful but informed us of other similiar situations at this hotel. The room was equally disappointing. It was probably a good hotel in 1971. It's an easy decision to simply choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Not a safe location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 1965dansek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Full of Kentucky charm I recently stayed at this hotel on business overnight for the third time. I booked through one of the discount websites and was assigned a double room. It was very large and spacious. Check in was a bit tedious as evidently the desk clerk I had wasn't familiar with booking "pre-paid" internet bookings and it took a few minutes for a supervisor to get things corrected.

Beds were comfy. Beer at Bogarts (hotel bar) is good and cold. I didn't try any of the food but what I saw just glancing around looked good.

This is a great deal hotel if you book it on one of the discount internet sites. It's a 3.5 star hotel in South Lexington, just for your point of reference.

Also, the walls are concrete between rooms, at least mine were...so I heard no noise from rooms around me.

It's a classy older hotel with a lot of Kentucky charm. I love it and will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoubleB65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Like walking back in time. Looks like an old plantation style home. Friendly staff, comfy beds (if you like tempur pedics), spacious rooms and plenty of hot water. The food in the restaurant is tasty, yet pricy. Good location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smachica03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.6 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,245 reviews
1.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
513 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#28 of 71 in Lexington
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 1375 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2703 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £84 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally built as a small two-story building in 1949, the Campbell House is Lexington's most recognized and cherished hotel. Our recent multi-million dollar renovation has transformed this local jewel into one of the finest hotels in the Kentucky. Featuring 250 guest rooms and suites and over 15,000 square feet of flexible function space that can accommodate everything from board meetings to conventions, the Campbell House is the perfect location for groups, meetings and social events. We are centrally located near various tourist attractions such as: The University of Kentucky, Keeneland Race Track, Rupp Arena & Commonwealth Stadium - Home of the Kentucky Wildcats, Tattersalls, Redmile, The Lexington Convention Center and Calumet Farm. Whether you are seeking a personalized experience for you next business trip, and inspirational setting for your next meeting, an unforgettable wedding, the perfect backdrop for a romantic getaway, or an unforgettable vacation, your adventure into a world of beauty, luxury and tranquility awaits you at the Campbell House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Lexington
Crowne Plaza Campbell Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing