We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great West African treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sav's Grill

Sav's Grill
Ranked #89 of 891 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great West African treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful bowl of stew on fufu, and plantains with tomatoes and onion. It was delicious and such a nice treat. It was nicely decorated and the owner/chef was very hospitable. Having children from Ghana, we would make the trip to take them for some familiar homestyle cooking! Worth a try, really delicious and a great hot sauce too!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    18
    2
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This place is authentic and very good. We tried several dishes including the fried plantains and leafy greens with couscous all were good with great flavors. Make sure you try the hot sauce to spice it up. Sav's also has a good beer selection. Try the Kenyan beer. I will go back regularly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Love Sav's!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have been a patron of Sav's Grill for a few years now. The staff of our small office frequently has their staff meetings at Sav's over lunch. The food is great and the service is even better! And if you like hot & spicy, make sure you get some of his homemade hot sauce. The flavor is amazing!! And for dessert, venture across the street to Sav's Chill for some great ice cream!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SherriEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yay For Sav's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I've been a patron of Sav's since it first opened, simply because I'd previously had West African cuisine and actually prepared West African foods in my home a few times (there's a great African & Caribbean market in Eastland Shopping Center), so I was definitely interested in a new place that offered this specific kind of food. Don't go expecting a million options. There are several choices but it isn't a place offering steaks, fajitas, sushi, and burgers. It's a simply menu that works.

With the exception of one slightly raw hen experience, I have loved every single dish. I think they do couscous very well, so I really like the attiéké salads. I have yet to try the ice cream place across the street, but hope to get around to it when the weather warms up. I'm just glad Sav's is standing and expanding, because I worried when he first opened that the food wouldn't reach people. So glad it did and still does!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lahdeefrickindah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington,KY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A taste of West Africa in Lexington”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

Interesting and different for Lexington. Great food at a great price. Casual setting, friendly staff. Owner is originally from West Africa, and so the food is authentic. Especially like the peanut chicken and the Attieke salad.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ABReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sav's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Sav's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing