We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Choices for a simliar price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
University Inn Hotel
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better Choices for a simliar price.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2009

If location, location, location is your only requirement; this is a great stay. It is very close to the UK campus. However, I believe there are much better stays neary by for a similiar price. The lobby was worn and had a synthetic clean smell, almost like a hospital. The rooms were average size with two double beds and a refrigerator. The rooms were clean enough. The bathroom had been recently re-modeled and was very nice. The pillows were very thin. The receptionist said "No more were available". The walls of the room were very thin. I heard the guests next door hit the snooze on their alarm several times. The continental breakfast was tired looking toast, bagels and milk. We opted to drive thru a nearby McDonalds.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cctigers1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    39
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
40
16
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WV
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

I had trouble finding a hotel room for the weekend that I'd planned to visit Lexington. All the well-known hotels were booked up, so I was leery of staying at this hotel, especially since the price was considerably lower than others. But I needed a place to stay downtown close to the Rupp Arena, so I took a chance.
I was pleasantly surprised by how nice the hotel was. It was in the heart of downtown, near the university, and in a nice neighborhood. The staff was helpful and genuinely friendly, the room was clean, and overall it was a pleasant stay. For the money, I wished the breakfast bar had more than cereal and bagels/danishes, but I didn't go hungry! Also, if you are a light sleeper, request a room upstairs away from the street. Our room was on the ground floor near the parking lot and lobby, and I didn't sleep well due to the loud, late night partyers outside. This wasn't the hotel's fault, and I didn't complain...just an FYI.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KelKelWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkins, Ky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2009

Just stayed at the University Inn last night. The place was very nice and clean the room was pretty large. Free internet is a big plus and the speed of it is great. They offer a decent breakfast with cold cereal, bagels, danish, muffins, toast, fruit and coffee as well as juice and tea. The staff was very friendly also and it is very close to the hospitals for anyone with family in there this is a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderingwildcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

This hotel is close to the UK campus and within walking distance of Commonwealth stadium. The room needed some updating, but it was very clean with comfortable beds and quite roomy. The breakfast was small and simple with limited choices. The staff was friendly and the lobby was clean. Lots of grassy space for tailgating and the parking was plentiful. Nicely located to lots of restaurants and shopping on Nicholasville road. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BosMany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2009

Made a phone reservation and the lady taking the call was very courteous. Check in staff person was pleasant. Room was very large. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Continental breakfast was good but selection was limited. Room price was very reasonable. Very convenient location. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daylilylover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
0.8 mi away
Inn on Broadway
Inn on Broadway
#47 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
1.7 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to University Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Hotel

Property: University Inn Hotel
Address: 1229 S Limestone at Waller Ave, Lexington, KY 40503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The University Inn offers unique amenities at a value price. We are the closest hotel to the University Of Kentucky Medical Center and Commonwealth Stadium. We offer single, double and king bedded rooms and suites and are a completely non-smoking facility. Special pricing is available for AAA, AARP, groups and medically related stays. We are your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing