We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wedding review!”

Talon Winery & Vineyards
Ranked #33 of 117 things to do in Lexington
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come out to Talon and enjoy a day of wine & scenery. Located on 300 acres of Kentucky farmland, Talon Winery offers a country get away just minutes from the city. Taste our wines & buy a glass or bottle to enjoy in our picnic area. Come out Friday & Saturday for some live music from local and surrounding area artists. Friday 6-9 (April - October) Saturday 4-7 (Year Round)
Versailles, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great wedding review!”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Upon choosing Talon for our daughters wedding we were a bit apprehensive due to some negative postings. My fears were quickly put to rest. Our experience was great, Sharon our coordinator, answered the phone everytime I called and answered all my questions with patience. The day dawned and personnel were there to greet us when we arrived early to decorate and continued to assist us throughout the day (Laura & Ryan were both great). Sure there were visitors to the winery that day but no one interferred unless you call kind words and ooos and awws from the few folks who saw the beautiful bride as she made her way to the ceremony.an interference. Sometimes the family members of a bridal party can be too needy, too sensitive and too picky and post unrealistic negative oppinons. As for us we understand that this a public facility that do many weddings successfully but you can't please all the people all the time. Please hear the words of this mother of the bride, our experience at Talon was great from start to finish!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    34
    10
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
141 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Strawberry-Chocolate Wine!”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stopped in here about 7 minutes before they were scheduled to close. Bonnie graciously let us taste several of the wines so that we could make our purchasing selections. The strawberry-chocolate wine was amazing. And, we were pleasantly surprised with the prices (very reasonable).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amjar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canon City, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheapo”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We went to Talon Winery and left insulted. The Kentucky countryside is beautiful with its grasslands and serene race horses but Talon is cheap. We were told to wait in the gift shop while the server “finished up” with another couple. Ten minutes later we were granted permission to enter. You have to drive way out into the countryside and then pay for samples. If you pay for a sample it's not a sample, it’s a drink. My wife and I have enjoyed one or two glasses of wine a week for a long time but the Talon wine we tried was bland. We decided to get a desert wine for the wife and it was $26 but when the server put the bottle on the counter, it's tinny. I would guess that it isn’t even 500ml. Talon Winery is a rip off.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuckmiceter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views of KY....while drinking wine!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Great Views! Great Service! Great Food! Great Wines - a wide selection of both dry and sweet! Great Place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LizKY_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun winery and great tasting experience”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I visited this beautiful winery on a Sunday afternoon. The tastings were $5.00 for 6 generous samples; we were given a cheese spread with crackers and chocolate kisses to accompany our tastings. Our server was knowledgeable about the wines and able to answer our questions. We would definitely return here on our next trip to the Lexington area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank SilverPack09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Talon Winery & Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Talon Winery & Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing