We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely breathtaking”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Ranked #3 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The house was stunning, truly breathtaking. Jerry was extremely hospitable and made great recommendations around town. He room was huge and beautiful and had an amazing bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AdreanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Essence of the Bluegrass
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

My fiance and I spent our wedding night here, and even though we got in very late (far past normal check-in), our host got out of bed just to greet us and show us around, He also let us stay past check-out time the next day, and was very gracious about everything. And, of course, the entire property is gorgeous! Every window has a wonderful view of green pastures and horses and barns, and the decor is elegant and very upscale. Our room was huge and had every amenity we could ask for. What a wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the Keeneland Suite! Great views, lots of room.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We were met in the driveway by our host, who took us into his home and showed us around and to our room. He encouraged us to make ourselves at home in the kitchen and family room and the refrigerator! There is a horse barn and apples to feed the horses. There was a hot tub outside our room door and we were told to use it if we liked.
The house is new but really beautiful with a gorgeous kitchen and many accoutrements. Comfy bed with great towels and linens..
Breakfast was waiting for us when we arose, but was pastries and fruit...not a warm meal.
The owner's dogs could have been off putting to some. They barked at us on arrival and every time we went in and out. We like dogs but that isn't true of everyone.

Overall, we were quite pleased with the experience. We would stay there again and recommend it to others. It is located in a beautiful area north of Lexington and the surroundings are delightful.

Oh. And we received a pint bottle of local premium bourbon as a parting gift!

Room Tip: We liked the Equestrian Room on the ground floor but the master suite is magnificent.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anniebonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Had a wonderful two night stay in the Vineyard room. The house is gorgeous, Jerry is a great and friendly host, and everything was just fantastic! And perfectly close to the Horse Park. Just what we wanted to have a relaxing trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Wow! We so enjoyed our stay at Essence of the Bluegrass. Jerry is a great host! When he says make yourself at home, he means it! The beds, the views, and the fabulous morning pastries! The B & B is located close to anything you'd want to see or do, but far enough from the hustle and bustle, you can have a true country experience. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: If you enjoy the sunrise, ask for the Bourbon Room. Beautiful!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and it was lovely. The home is so beautiful as well as the surrounding farms. Jerry has thought of every necessity including wi-fi internet, TVs, towels and soaps, snacks, etc. The house is sparkling clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower nice and relaxing. He puts on a lovely breakfast, fresh fruit, juice, cereals, etc. There was a whole spread even though we were the only guests. He even went downtown to get amazing pastries. We really enjoyed playing the piano, playing with the farm dogs, and visiting with the (very sweet) horses.

Room Tip: We stayed in the least expensive room and it was great. Apparently the Keeneland room is very specia...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eleanor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

My husband & I were looking for a relaxing, comfortable & beautiful place to stay in Lexington.
We found it, Essence of the Bluegrass was a perfect fit for us. Our host Jerry, was gracious & accommodating. We stayed in the Keeneland room, gorgeous! Overlooking the paddocks of beautiful horses, bonus.
We've been staying in B&Bs for 20yrs, this was one of the best!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
7.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#4 of 71 in Lexington
361 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Campbell House, A Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
8.3 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
7.1 mi away
Lyndon House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Address: 4343 Mount Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range: £110 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing