We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Your Average B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Essence of the Bluegrass

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Ranked #2 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tyrone, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not Your Average B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stay at B&Bs whenever possible. Often they are in town homes, of an age, that have been restored and have lots of character and perhaps a few quirks. Essence is very different. It is out in horse country on the north side of Lexington in a very rural setting but at the same time very convenient to Lexington and especially some of the farms you are likely to want to see in the area. It is also a large modern home with excellent facilities. As mentioned in another review, this experience is very like visiting with friends. Christy and Jerry are excellent hosts who make you feel very welcome. Their website says something like "continental breakfast" but Christy puts together wonderful breakfasts that are varied and delicious. We have never visited Lexington before but probably will again and when we do we'll stay at Essence of the Bluegrass.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    15
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
86
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Staying at the Essence of the Bluegrass was like staying with friends. It was so comfortable and relaxing. We stayed 3 nights and always looked forward to getting back to the Essence when our day of touring and site seeing was over. This is defiantly a place we would recommend. Everything was clean and well put together. The owners are a joy to be around and we feel blessed to have had the opportunity stayed at their lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is incredible!!!! Highly recommend. We spent two nights in the Keeneland Suite and loved every minute of this fabulous mansion!!. The owners were the most genuine down to earth people that made you feel very comfortable in their home. This place is immaculate....the breakfast was fabulous...and we will come back!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ja11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 2 wonderful nights at Essence in the Vineyard suite and wanted to share our experience. We were on a driving vacation and had been staying in hotels. We wanted to end our trip by staying in and seeing some of the beautiful horse country around Lexington. We like staying in B&B's when we can but I figured we would not find anything outside of Lexington itself so we were thrilled when we found Essence. As others have mentioned this is a large modern "manor" house and a horse farm itself. It is on a beautiful property and surrounded by the exact horse country scenery we were looking for. The house is well appointed, spotless and Christi and Jerry (owners) are terrific; they are friendly and helpful (ask them for dinner recommendations) but still give you a lot of privacy so you can just enjoy the house and surroundings. I am a morning person and a reader so both mornings we were there I made a cup of coffee in the gourmet kitchen and sat outside in the lovely gazebo ...petted their dogs ... listened to the birds ...watched the colts in the adjacent pasture and ... "Oh yes" even did some reading. Then in to breakfast which was fantastic we had Christi's French toast as well and it was truly yummy!! What really surprised me was how close we were to Lexington. We went in to dinner each evening and it took no time to get to and from Essence. For us it was the best of "downtime" with easy access to good restaurants, antique shopping, etc. We are planning a trip back in the fall to stay with them again and see a horse race.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed at the Essence of Bluegrass after driving for 14 hours. Our hosts were amazing. I felt like I slept on clouds. We were greeted in the morning with a mouthwatering homemade breakfast! We will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ur2ys79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I went on a small road trip recently and stayed at 3 quality inns (here, a B&B in Gatlinburg and The Inn at Biltmore Estates) and the Essence of the Blue Grass was our favorite. We arrived late and the owners, Jerry and Christi, were extremely accommodating. We slept in the downstairs bedroom which hat outside access. It was more than spacious and the bathroom was very sizeable for our needs. The entire house is very clean and organized. In some places I insist on wearing sandals everywhere but here I did not mind walking around barefoot at all. There were snacks and drinks available any time of the day and at our convenience. Christi and Jerry were a joy to talk to and made us feel very welcomed. We met their horses and go to see Hercules close up! Christi's french toast with bananas and Nutella was to die for. I would stay there another night just to have that for breakfast again, which is why we will be back there someday. This is the only place we would stay and you should too!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dkwst9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno Nevada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We just left an amazing stay here. We were a family with 3 teens and totally loved it! You are treated as a friend and house guest with free reign of the mansion property and kitchen. My kids loved the 24/7 snacks and drinks. Mom and dad loved the welocome home bottle of makers mark!

We are on a summer road trip and my kids and wife say this is the highlight of the trip. Some highlights: Awesome breakfast. Jacuzzi overlooking the pasture and horses. Fantastic rooms beds and baths. House is a mansion. You are free to play with the horses - feed them carrots etc.

Bottom line. WE WiLL BE BACK!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Not a bad one in the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nevadanorthclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
10.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
8.9 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#16 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
3.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
7.6 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#3 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Property: Essence of the Bluegrass
Address: 4343 Mount Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing