We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Part of Trip Was Staying at this B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lexington
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Essence of the Bluegrass
Ranked #2 of 6 Lexington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Goldsboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Part of Trip Was Staying at this B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

My family and I were in Lexington for a family wedding this past weekend. This bed & breakfast is located in a beautiful part of horse country and is approximately 10 minutes from downtown Lexington, where the wedding festivities were held. Christy and Jerry were excellent hosts and very friendly and helpful. Homemade breakfast was served every morning and was delicious. I particularly enjoyed sitting on their porch late in the afternoon enjoying a beverage and looking at the sun setting and the horses in the surrounding pastures.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnc2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
87
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Wow – the photographs on the website do not do it justice. This place is surrounded by beauty that cannot be captured with a camera. You have to see it to believe it. My wife and I arrived early evening due to a late flight and an hour’s drive from Louisville. The innkeeper, Jerry, contacted us en route to inform us that it was Christy’s birthday and they would be out for a celebratory dinner when we arrived at Essence. He let us know how to get into the Equestrian Room, that his wonderful and friendly dogs would greet us and where we could find a cold beverage when we arrived. We were awestruck as we pulled into the driveway and immediately realized that we hit the jackpot on our first night of a Kentucky/Tennessee adventure. After bringing in our bags, we played with their dogs and were greeted by beautiful horses as we took a walk down the narrow country lane adjoining the property. We enjoyed dinner in nearby Georgetown and Jerry had the hot tub heated up and ready for us upon return. The warm, bubbling water under dark skies and abundant stars made for an amazing end to the evening.
The following morning, we were awakened to the delicious aroma of breakfast and Christy was a wonderful hostess for our meal. She even shared some of her abundant wisdom with my wife (who recently had some back surgery) from her former life working in the medical field.
Prior to our departure, Christy topped our stay off with a tour of the barn and their beautiful horses. What a great treat! I only wish that we had another night or two to stay and experience this beautiful part of Kentucky.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

My new wife and were on our way from Ohio to Daytona Beach for our honeymoon and while planning our trip we stumbled upon this place. And we are more than happy we did. We called to reserve our room and due to time we would be late to check in. They told us that would be no big deal and we would have a note on the door. We arrived and to our surprise, a very kind gentleman was waiting up for us to greet us and make sure we got settled in. Then we saw the room, and wow. Nothing short of perfection. Very clean and tidy and beautifully decorated. When we arrived it was dark and when we woke up we had a nice surprise. This place is surrounded by beautiful horse farms and the landscape is just stunning. So for the overall appearance and upkeep this place is unbeatable. Now for the wonderful people, we had three people that were helping us and we were blown away. The true definition of southern hospitality is right here in Lexington. I cannot say enough about this place and we will be back for our anniversary. And not to mention, we had a great bottle of wine and two glasses waiting for us on the bed. If you are considering staying here, do it. You will not regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmarcum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McLean, VA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Essence of the Bluegrass! My wife and I and our dog Gracie stayed in the Equestrian Room and it was perfect. A very comfortable bed, with a large bath and shower. Great to be able to park and load in so easily. I'm always looking for unique and different kinds of places to stay (usually B&Bs) and this fills the bill. Not only does this beat almost any motel/hotel by a mile, it is far more interesting and fun, too! We hot tubbed in the evening and first thing upon waking up, went outside to greet the horses. It's spotless, as other reviewers have said, and we really loved Christi's massive breakfast. The surrounding countryside is quintessential Kentucky Horse Country and it's absolutely beautiful. They're an interesting and fun couple to chat with. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Have a dog? Pick the Equestrian Room. Want to load in easily from the car? It's the Equestrian R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misterphotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyrone, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

My wife and I stay at B&Bs whenever possible. Often they are in town homes, of an age, that have been restored and have lots of character and perhaps a few quirks. Essence is very different. It is out in horse country on the north side of Lexington in a very rural setting but at the same time very convenient to Lexington and especially some of the farms you are likely to want to see in the area. It is also a large modern home with excellent facilities. As mentioned in another review, this experience is very like visiting with friends. Christy and Jerry are excellent hosts who make you feel very welcome. Their website says something like "continental breakfast" but Christy puts together wonderful breakfasts that are varied and delicious. We have never visited Lexington before but probably will again and when we do we'll stay at Essence of the Bluegrass.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shireguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Staying at the Essence of the Bluegrass was like staying with friends. It was so comfortable and relaxing. We stayed 3 nights and always looked forward to getting back to the Essence when our day of touring and site seeing was over. This is defiantly a place we would recommend. Everything was clean and well put together. The owners are a joy to be around and we feel blessed to have had the opportunity stayed at their lovely B&B.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

This place is incredible!!!! Highly recommend. We spent two nights in the Keeneland Suite and loved every minute of this fabulous mansion!!. The owners were the most genuine down to earth people that made you feel very comfortable in their home. This place is immaculate....the breakfast was fabulous...and we will come back!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ja11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
4.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
10.0 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Lexington
8.9 mi away
The Campbell House
The Campbell House
#17 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
7.7 mi away
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
21c Museum Hotel Lexington
#2 of 71 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
10.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essence of the Bluegrass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essence of the Bluegrass

Property: Essence of the Bluegrass
Address: 4343 Mount Horeb Pike, Lexington, KY 40511
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Essence of the Bluegrass, located in Lexington, KY provides the perfect accommodations for your visit to the bluegrass region of Central Kentucky. Enjoy the height of sophisticated comfort and friendly service as you lounge in the main family room, with its 25 foot ceilings and stone fireplace, or rest in serene privacy in one of four spacious rooms. Five minutes away from the The Kentucky Horse Park and fifteen from downtown Lexington and Keeneland, your stay will be the best of the Bluegrass. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing