We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 6 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Clarion Hotel March 22 flying out the next day from the Lexington airport. Our reservation/check-in was wonderful. The clerk was outstanding--quickly getting us checked in, registered our car for the park/fly and arranged for our shuttle time and set a wake-up call. The airport shuttle was exceptional--our drivers were prompt, friendly and very professional. Excellent and dependable property--would stay here again every time and recommend to anyone wanting a very nice hotel, excellent airport shuttle and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Request recently upgraded room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrangeCountyIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We appreciate your business and can't wait to see you again soon. Whether you are here for the park and fly, weekend getaway, or here on business we will do our best to make your stay enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (702)
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 702 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2013

I travel for work all the time. I've stayed in multiple hotels. The clarion in lexington is definitely one of the best I've ever stayed at. They also have a bar and restaurant. The staff is great and our server Sarah definitely kept us entertained during our stay. I would recommend this stay to anyone traveling through

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littleking24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2013

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel in Lexington KY. We appreciate your comments about your stay and Sarah and can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great accommodations as host hotel to Obbie Schlom and Road to the Horse. Convenient, wonderful staff in the restaurant and comfortable accommodations. It was very conveniently located near the Horse Park. Will plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and will return again. We loved hosting your event and can't wait to do so again next year.

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This hotel is RIGHT off of the freeway, and we stayed the night for $89, including the breakfast buffet.

EVERYONE at this hotel was EXTREMELY friendly and accommodating. We stayed here for one night before a flight to Florida, and wandered into the sports bar for dinner. We expected standard fare, but the food was EXCELLENT (coming from a couple of foodies :) ) The Big Pig sandwich is a hotel invention - pulled pork on sourdough bread that's been beer battered and fried. My fellow traveler had the quesadillas, which were incredibly fresh with HUGE chunks of peppers. The drinks were great, and the bar staff was attentive, but not oppressive.

The hotel will also allow you to park your car there while you're away - I parked mine for a week at no charge, and they shuttled me to the airport.

Our room had a Tempurpedic bed, which was very comfortable, and we're told that the first floor is filled with them.

We checked out the indoor pool/gym/arcade area, and it was HUGE, with its own snack bar. Regrettably, we didn't have any time to spend there, but I'm looking forward to that next time :)

Room Tip: If you like memory foam, you can request a Tempurpedic bed. If you don't like it, ask for a room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpookyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Hotel in Lexington KY. We appreciate your business and for you taking the time post a review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and had a chance to have dinner with us as well. I can't wait to see you again soon so you can enjoy the FunDome and all the hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We hold a yearly state speech tournament at the Clarion Lexington involving hundreds of room nights over two weekends, every available convention/business space, and two huge banquets. Over the years, we have built a great working relationship with staff members who literally treat us like family--we look forward to seeing them year after year as we would family at a reunion.

An informal poll of many of the coaches reflected our feeling on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Even though the hotel was sold out for one of the nights we attended, we never experienced anything but courtesy and good service from what had to have been an overwhelmed staff.

Room Tip: No elevator, so request the first floor if stairs are a problem.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We love being the host hotel for your event and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I'm originally from Lexington and moved out of state 2 years ago but return every other weekend to spend time with my 10 year old sons and I stay at the Clarion every time and wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. I have stayed at The Clarion on at least 25 occasions over the last 18 months. My sons wouldn't allow it if I even considered anywhere else. Every aspect of the Hotel is awesome, especially if you have kids. The front desk personnel is friendly, efficient, and accommodating. They are all great but our favorite is Heather who my sons adore. The rooms are always spotless and roomy and comfortable. There are always to sets of pillows on each bed, some with down feathers and some without for the ones with allergies. The flat screen HDTV are nice and are easy to plug a video game into. The TV lineup actually makes sense. The locals, kids, news, sports, and movie channels are all grouped together which makes channel surfing a breeze. The folks in the rest/bar are always friendly and we almost always get a great meal at a fair price. The complimentary breakfast is always hot, the buffet is always stocked so you can get cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage and pancakes or do it yourself waffles (fun) without a wait. Usually there are several kids and teenagers staying but the Sargent at Arms, Ray does a great job of keeping the wild ones in check. He is a great guy and very helpful so look him up if you need any help. On one of my stays, I had a TV go bad so the staff gave me a new room and it seems like everyone (security, housekeeping, etc) helped us move into the new room and to top it off, the owner (yes, the owner) stopped me to make sure everything was okay and gave me his number to call if anything needed attention. Charles is very hands on and stays at the hotel on occasion. His commitment, attitude and and work ethic has filtered down to every single employee that I have encountered. I love this place almost as much as my kids do. I'm biased to the Clarion because they earned it. Great City, Great Hotel, Great Value!!!!

Room Tip: book early so you can get a room. All the rooms are nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you for your wonderful comments. I am so happy that your boys like the FunDome area, it is truly a great area for kids and those young at heart. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our staff and appreicate you making mention of those who go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. We appreciate your repeat business and can't wait to see you again.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Close to I-75. Check-in was swift - - probably the quickest we've experienced.. As the hotel GM mentioned in response to an earlier review we requested a room with the new upgrades - - and king-size bed - - non-smoking. The receptionist accepted our $69 Hotels.com (formerly Room Saver) coupon. We stayed 3/1/2013.

Our room was on the ground floor (hotel only has two floors - - don't think there is an elevator) off an internal corridor.

The lobby is decorated nicely with on open stairway to the second floor. There is a (24) hr. coffee maker in the lobby. The carpeting in the well-lighted corridors looks new.

Our room was very large and clean - - king-size bed with very comfortable memory foam mattress, new pull-out couch, microwave, small refrigerator (both looked new), large flat-screen TV, coffee table and work desk with computer chair. Our room was well lighted with a floor lamp, desk lamp, two bedside lamps and a foyer light.

The bathroom was small but clean (no mold) - - new curved shower rod and shower curtain
and new mirror and over-the-mirror light. The bathroom was freshly painted.

There are two computers and a printer just off the lobby for guests to use.

Being a former Holiday Inn there is a holidome with a large pool, hot tub and game arcade which we think kids will enjoy.

The restaurant is connected to the hotel - - it was just down a short corridor from our room.

The free buffet breakfast was probably one of the best we've experienced. Each guest needs
a ticket which we got at check-in. The buffet was extensive - - already-prepared oatmeal (not in a package), (3) cold cereals, several juices, apples & oranges, pancakes, scrambled eggs, diced potatoes cooked with peppers and onions, sausage links, biscuits and gravy, bagels, coffee..

We ate from china plates and coffee cups and real silverware - - not styrofoam and plastic.

There were three buffet attendants who kept everything well stocked.

The only negative thing - - a maid was vacuuming the end corridor about 6:15 A.M. - - it didn't bother us though as we were getting an early start after the buffet breakfast which opened at 6:30 A.M.

We will stay here again when passing through Lexington on our way home from our three-month winter stay in Myrtle Beach, SC

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BKCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We appreciate your business and can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#33 of 71 in Lexington
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#49 of 71 in Lexington
438 reviews
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £70 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing