We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kiwi visits Lexington - Clarion.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #25 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed five nights at the Clarion and enjoyed the pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff. The hotel is an older style with generous rooms, plenty of towels and a good restaurant and bar. We especially valued the breakfasts which came as part of the service. Jack the concierge, was especially helpful and went out of his way to provide for us. Thanks to all the reception staff who were courteous and ready to provide information. We especially enjoyed the hot drinks in the lobby. You do need transport but the hotel was close to Kentucky Horse Park and with a car you can easily get to other places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darylle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

I am so happy to be a part of your visit. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay and hope that you will come to see us again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

April 2014 Checked in for a two day/night stay. Have always reserved and stayed with the Comfort Inn and Suites Brand for years. I am a member of Choice Privileges. This hotel I thought would had been a classy nice place to stay. It is a very old property that used to be another chain. The room I booked was comfortable, but well used. Room wasn't very big or had a separate couch/seating area. Refrigerator was totally broken and unusable. Maintenance did bring up a small bar size replacement for me to use. Kept cold what I needed. Carpet had cigarette burns and the bathroom counter also had cigarette stains on the edge. Bed was comfortable. Room was well used. Floor was quiet, so we slept OK. Hallways smelled musty and there is no elevator, lots of stairs. In defense, they did have a lot of employees who did housekeeping. Friendly staff. Front desk was cheerful. Restaurant served average fare. Pool area was being used by families and looked good. I used the outdoor deck for several hours to sit and read a book. You do hear a lot of traffic coming off the expressway outside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I apologize if you were unsatisfied with your stay. While we are an older property we pride ourselves on offering a good clean room with great amenities such as the FunDome including indoor pool, game room and basketball court as well as a full hot breakfast buffet at a good value.
I am excited to announce that we are currently undergoing renovations with all rooms receiving new carpet, wall treatments, refrigerator and microwaves as well as installing an elevator.
I hope that you will come to see us again and experience the level of service and value we strive to provide to all of our guests.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Easy to get to, but I do like hotels in a less busy area where you can walk to something besides a gas station. We stayed here because it has the big pool, game room, basketball court. Over half of the video games were broken when we stayed here, and the basketball court was being refinished, which I thought was weird during spring break busy season. When we got there, our nonsmoking room smelled terribly like smoke, however the staff quickly moved us to another room(a lot longer walk from the pool), which smelled clean and was decent. My son is a late sleeper, so we used to get carryout breakfast here for him and my husband while myself and my daughter would eat in the restaurant, but now you are not allowed to do that anymore, so we had to wake my son up to get to breakfast in time. Due to the numerous problems we had here, we will probably pick another hotel to stay at on our drives south from now on.

Room Tip: Being far away from the pool is a long, cold walk, but they smell better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lurlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

I wanted to thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am sorry about the issues you experienced during your stay. The basketball repair was a last minute issue that had to be taken care of immediately due to our guest safety. We do always try to arrange projects and inform our guests to minimize the disturbance as much as possible. I am sorry we were unable to do so during your stay.
Also for your convenience we do offer room service throughout the hotel for all meals at a very reasonable cost if you are unable to take advantage of the complimentary breakfast buffet.
Again I apologize and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel was right by I -75 it had everything Large pool,hot tub,sauna,big game room even a basketball court indoors.Had a family restaurant and a bar/restaurant food was real good service was good.The hotel staff was very friendly and above helpful with everything from directions to extra towels.We would defiantly stay here again !

Room Tip: I was told to ask for a room in main building It was fine but a lot of traffic going to pool,game ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Once again thank you and we can't wait to see you again.

Thank you,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed here four nights and couldn't have been more pleased. The front desk was friendly upon check-in and the room was modern, clean and tastefully decorated. Breakfast the first day was a bit chaotic because there was a convention going on, so a line started about 20 deep outside the door on a Sunday morning. When we reached the front, the hostess took our breakfast coupons, and told us to sit wherever we wanted. We found a seat and headed to the buffet line which had the usual suspects, cereals, scrambled eggs, sausages, biscuits, gravy, toast and fruit. The juice machine was broken and the coffee was trickling, so they were obviously overwhelmed. On every other morning, the breakfast was a ghost town with fresh, piping hot foods, and all beverages operating. The hostesses were very friendly, especially the one who called everyone "honey" and came over to check on us to make sure we were doing okay and didn't need anything. Housekeeping came regularly and did a thorough job. The bed was unbelievably comfortable as well. Our room faced the highway, so there was some highway noise, but that's sort of expected when you face a highway. The heating/cooling unit also turned on many times during the night when we had turned it off, so we unplugged it and weren't wakened again by the strange humming noise. We're freakishly light sleepers, so this probably wouldn't have been a problem for anyone else. Overall, this was a great place. You are in Lexington within minutes, plus access to the highway gets you to where you need to be quickly. When we're in Lexington, we know where we will stay. We'll also use more of the amenities, like the Fun Dome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for leaving such a detailed review. Our goal is to make sure everyone walks out with a smile. I am sorry to hear breakfast was so chaotic on Sunday. We are currently deriving a plan of action to alleviate the congestion during peak hours. I hope the next time you are in town you will stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Traveling with pets is a challenge and this pet friendly hotel was very nice. I requested a first floor room near a door and was happily accommodated . The king bed was super. Very comfortable!
Room was clean, restaurant was handy on site and complimentary breakfast was good.
Desk staff friendly and helpful.
Very convenient location. This one stays in my address book.

Room Tip: Back rooms would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supercommuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great comment. We take great pride in providing exceptional service to our four legged guests as well as their owners. We hope to see you at The Clarion again soon.

Thank you

Melissa McGuire
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This was our second stay at the Clarion in Lexington near the horse park. The hotel staff is fantastic. The hotel itself is clean, has a great indoor pool, basketball court, Jacuzzi and sauna. There is a game room, nice bar/restaurant and free breakfast that is actually pretty good. This is a family friendly hotel. We booked again for next year. The rooms are comfortable and the prices are reasonable. The hotel is rather large so try to get a room near the pool if you plan to use it. You can walk the equivalent of a couple blocks to reach the pool from some of the rooms. The friendly and efficient staff made our stay excellent. There is plenty of parking too. We had our horse trailer. The desk clerk directed us to an open area of the parking lot where we were able to turn around easily and leave our trailer parked during our visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SonjaOcala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review. I am so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We pride ourselves on being a great family friendly destination. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
1.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#32 of 71 in Lexington
218 reviews
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
4.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 71 in Lexington
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Lexington
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#51 of 71 in Lexington
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#21 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £65 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing