We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Family Focused Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Ranked #24 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Gatewood, Missouri
2 reviews
“Awesome Family Focused Hotel”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

After four days of travel and staying in 2 hotels that made our family feel that there had to be absolute silence, which is not an easy feat for 4 kids. I cancelled our last booking and we decide to drive until we got tired. The Clarion hotel was easy to find and had great rates, so we decided to stop. We were pleased to find the hotel had a restaurant, a pizza parlor, and most importantly a fun dome. My kids finally were able to have fun and not get yelled at for getting to loud. After playing in the arcade and basketball court and a quick dip in the pool, we ordered pizza for our room, which was perfectly cooked. After eating our fill and showering, we snuggled down in what was one of the most comfortable beds we had slept in the whole trip. We woke up the next morning and had a great breakfast, where the attendants were helpful and very nice. If we are ever in the Lexington area again, this hotel will definitely be on our list to stay at.

Room Tip: The room we had was nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harris6family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am so happy to hear that you and your kids had a great time. The FunDome is perfect for families and kids including the indoor pool, basketball court, and video games all in an enclosed area so not to disturb guest in their sleeping rooms. I hope that you will think of us the next time you travel through Lexington or if you are looking for a long weekend getaway.
We look forward to seeing you again soon,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    224
    111
    66
    47
See reviews for
222
136
38
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chestnut Hill, MA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This is a large property with lots of guest rooms in a multitude of wings. There is also an amusement center, and a pool. It's a large and a bit confusing place.

First impressions: peeling paint on the exterior, tired-looking furnishings/carpet/trim in my room in the 500-series in the back wing. Cracked sink. Very pleasant staff. Maintenance man went out of his way to make sure I got all my motorcycle-borne luggage in without a problem.

Room was large and quiet. AC was good on a cool night. Sleep conditions good, nice bed, lots of pillows (see photo).

Breakfast was the usual stuff but well-prepared and tasty.

Summary: You won't be wowed here, but it'll be OK.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ExGMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
I am so sorry that the condition of your room needed improvement. We are currently undergoing upgrades and improvements and I will make sure that your room is addressed. I am happy to hear that you sleep well and got a good start to your day with our complimentary hot breakfast buffet. I hope that you will come to see us again when you can enjoy the many great amenities we have to offer.
Ride safely and we hope to see you again soon.

Kindest Regards,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

After a full day of travel, a quiet clean hotel with a sports bar just down the hall is so appreciated. We enjoyed some Lexington favorites - Hot Brown ( a yummy sandwich with mornay sauce), Kentucky Derby Pie and bread pudding. The fridge was noisy so unplugged that, but other than that no complaints about the room.

Breakfast was good except for the pre made coffee. Please hotels stop using that coffee - it is only a tiny step better than instant. Please brew coffee!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kkayr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
I appreciate your feedback and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel and all of the great amenities it has to offer. We are always excited to receive feedback so we can continue to make improvements for the future.
Once again thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angel Fire, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at this property for just over a week while participating in an event at the Kentucky Horse Park. It was a clean, comfortable room, but the aid my group received in organizing and planning logistics/meals/activities for our twelve young adults and their parent volunteers was wonderful and over-the-top helpful. And it wasn't just upper level management - it was everyone one from the van driver and the folks in the bar and restaurant to the events manager. They made our lives so much easier. Even the main gentleman who managed our final awards banquet put up with several delays in the time frame and cheerfully stayed quite a bit later than any of us thought that he would have to. I will say that the physical plant is a bit old and could use a bit of sprucing up, but that is so unimportant when compared the hospitality that we were shown. They are doing a great job.

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs both getting to and moving inside the building on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyKos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Our staff is definitely what makes this hotel great. I am so happy that we were able to make your stay a success. I appreciate your feedback and we can't wait to see you again during your visit.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This hotel was cute, cozy, and very welcoming. Everything from the warms smiles as we check in to the kindness of Larry's hospitality at Cortlands made me feel right at home! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lexington!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamGrace22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Larry and the rest of the staff took great care of you. We love hearing about the great service that our staff provided to you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Called late and found an available room after midnight. We were tired and needed a place to stay. The staff were great checking in, organizing the breakfast, and checking out. Really appreciated the hospitality of the staff! Room was good for what we needed. No complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simmod2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am glad you contacted us for your overnight stay and so happy that we could accommodate your needs. We always love receiving great comments on our staff and really appreciate you taking the time to tell everyone about your stay. I hope that you will think of us the next time you travel through Lexington.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durand, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We come down to Lexington every year for Breyerfest and am always amazed how better the hotel keeps getting. The breakfast bar could be a little better. (never any bacon) And coffee is from a machine not too fresh. "Bill" was a very help staff member. He got ice for our water cooler and helped load it into our truck. He was super. He stopped what he was busy doing to help us. On Friday night we could not find a parking spot close to our room (I am a disabled veteran) and the young gentleman directing traffic out back and beyond helped us park by the pool entrance. (sadly I din't not catch his name) Looking forward to our next trip there next July. The rooms look great! Getting better! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarionlex, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center North, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
I am so excited to hear that you are returning again next year for Breyerfest. We appreciate your business and we are always looking for ways to improve your stay. We have become very attached to the Breyerfest family and we are so happy to be a part of the awesome event.
In regards to breakfast we try to keep a good variety of options and rotate between bacon and sausage. During Breyerfest week bacon was offered on Monday, Wednesday and Friday mornings. The coffee machine makes each cup fresh and we usually receive rave reviews on its taste. I apologize that it wasn't to your liking.
Once again thank you for choosing Clarion Hotel. We appreicate you and can't wait to see you again next year.
Sincerely,
Melissa McGuire
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
5.0 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
10.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Lexington Conference Center
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Lexington North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Lexington
La Quinta Inn Lexington
#50 of 71 in Lexington
413 reviews
1.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#34 of 71 in Lexington
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center North

Property: Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
Address: 1950 Newtown Pike, Lexington, KY 40511-1332 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lexington North)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Lexington
#22 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center North 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy well-appointed accommodations and exceptional amenities at Clarion Hotel Convention Center North. We’re close to many exciting attractions including Kentucky Horse Park and the University of Kentucky. With a free shuttle to and from Blue Grass Airport and over 13,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is ideal for any type of travel. We are also near The Red Mile Race Tracks, Lexington History Center, Mary Todd Lincoln House, American Saddlebred Museum, Jean Farris Winery, Equus Run Vineyards, Georgetown College, Commonwealth Stadium, Fayette Mall and Transylvania University. Enjoy relaxing and exciting on-site recreation, whether you’re traveling with kids or a kid at heart. Our FunDome Recreational Center features an indoor pool, basketball court, video arcade, and plenty of fun for adults too. You’ll never miss a minute of the action with our on-site sports bar. Plus, you can even bring Fido along with you and enjoy our pet-friendly accommodations. All of our spacious guest rooms feature flat-screen TVs, hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, coffee makers, microwaves, and refrigerators. Long-distance travelers will appreciate our guest laundry services. Some rooms have sofa sleepers, desks, and activity tables. Get together at the Clarion Hotel Conference Center North. Lexington hotels like ours provide the social atmosphere that makes it the perfect place to meet up with friends family and colleagues for any business or special occasion. Book now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing