We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very good experience.The cleanliness of the facility and the friendliness of the staff made the stay enjoyable.The full, hot breakfast was a delight on a very cold morning The King bed was very , very comfortable and smelled really clean..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad you like our bed! I have the same bed in my home, and I love it too.

I've been living in Lexington for the past 25 years and I think this winter has been the coldest winter I can remember. I am glad you got some hot food in your stomach before you ventured out in the cold.

We hope you will come back and stay with us on your next visit to Lexington area.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

This Hotel is ok, it is going through renovations, it is a little dated, It was clean, and the staff was friendly. The hot tub was shut down during our visit, which was disappointing, and the indoor pool was nice, just a little chilly. Because of the renovations it is hard to overlook certain things, like the mess, and paint smells. The bed was comfortable, but was looking for more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you experienced due to the ongoing renovation and the whirlpool being closed.

As you noticed, we are in the middle of $1 million renovation. We try to minimize this has on our guests, but as you experienced, we have a lot of things going on at the hotel. We are hoping to have the renovations completed by the end of March.

All of us at the hotel are really excited about the renovation and we can't wait to show them off once everything is completed. I hope you will come back and stay with us, and let us know what you think about the improvements.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stay here every weekend! I work here in Lexington Ky butI live a 100miles frome here. The staff here are very friendly and if I need anything at all they are right on it! The rooms are very clean and plenty of space!! The beds are very comfortable! Love having that indoor pool! Close to everything! Great breakfast bar!! Great place to stay!! Also quiet!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for your continued support.

It's guests like you who make us successful and I am glad to know that we are doing our job to make sure your stays are satisfactory.

We do appreciate your business and we look forward to welcoming you this weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Salem, Michigan
1
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Enjoy the large indoor pool; Comp Hot breakfast; friendly staff; restaurant/lounge is nice after a long drive. prefer a slightly softer mattress but it doesn't hinder a good nights sleep. We plan our overnight stops on trips south @ THIS Best Western.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

I love your phrase, "Happy South of Lexington"! We are the happy south of Lexington.

I am glad that your stay was a pleasant one. We try everyday to make sure our guests are completely satisfied with their stays, and I am so glad we were successful with yours.

With the free full hot breakfast bar, indoor and outdoor pools, business center, fitness room, whirlpool, and Murphy's Bar & Grill on site, I believe we offer the best value in Lexington.

We look forward to your next visit, and we can't wait to show you all the improvements we are making!

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I stayed two nights. Front desk staff was very friendly. Got my key quickly. Very convenient location with its proximity to the interstate. Just a quick hop on the interstate and you are right in the heart of Lexington. Will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrnisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words about our front desk staff.

I am really lucky to be working with some of the nicest, kindest, and friendliest people in Lexington. I do believe that we have the friendliest staff than any other hotels in Lexington.

I hope had a chance to have some breakfast before you got on the road. We do appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit.

Kim Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 1 night her on our drive south. It was a very nice room, lots of sitting room and a wonderful bed. Very clean with all the necessary things for our visit. The staff at the front desk both at check in and check out were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post your comments.

I am glad you liked our bed! I have the same bed at my home and I love it too.

I hope you will come back and stay with us soon!

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

It had been years since I stayed at this property, and I have to stay it is much better than I remember it being when it was Holiday Inn South. Originally, I believe it was a Sheraton. At any rate, the present owners have made some nice updates and the public areas and guest rooms are quite up-to-date, clean and nice. This property is convenient to I-75, but it pretty much the most out-of-the-way full service hotel for all Lexington has to offer. Still, it is worth checking out and it is a good value. The on-site bar and grill offers a nice quiet atmosphere and basic bar food. The free, hot breakfast is quite good and satisfying. There is also an indoor pool (and a seasonal outdoor pool). This is a solid option for travelers.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjl3845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unflappable, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Conference Center South, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Thank you for your nice comments!

In 2008, we underwent $1.3 million renovation. We are currently undergoing another renovation. By April, we should have all of our bathroom tiles replaced. I am getting ready to order granite vanities for all of our guest bathrooms and I am hoping we will have them installed by end of May. We will also be replacing the drapery in our rooms; hopefully, we will get the new ones by the end of next month.

We strive everyday to provide the best product possible for our guests, and I am certainly glad you noticed our efforts.

I hope you will come back and stay with us this summer once the renovation is completed. I think you really are going to love all the improvements!

Kim Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 71 in Lexington
236 reviews
9.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#32 of 71 in Lexington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center South

Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#18 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £58 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the daily complimentary hot breakfast bar. Bennigan’s Restaurant is open daily offering favorites you know and love. The hotel is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you're planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing