We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well-appointed, this hotel offers convenient rest.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South
Ranked #44 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 November 2009

The front desk personnel were efficient and friendly when I called for reservation, checked in, and when I checked out. Having the breakfast buffet (with real eggs) was convenient. I didn't use the fine indoor pool and recreation area, but it was clean and spacious.

I was reluctant to stay out on the edge of Lexington (10-15 minutes from downtown), but the room was less than half the price of the downtown hotels and many times quieter. At this Best Western, the sirens and concrete of downtown are replaced with a country motel atmosphere. The clean rooms were well-appointed with refrigerator, microwave, sitting area and more. I particularly liked the in-ceiling heat in the bathroom.

If you want a good value and a good rest, I recommend this hotel. It is quiet, clean, and a short drive to all the excitement. The folks are friendly; the lodging is comfortable. Whether traveling alone or with family, it is well-appointed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredbytheriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 451 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2009

This used to be a Holiday Inn. The change over might have brought in some new carpet, bedding and shower heads. Beyond that, it's the same, tired property. They cut down on the lounge space (and serve nasty fried/nuked food) and have a free hot buffet (pretty minimal with scrambled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy and potatoes). We go there out of habit and for the location. The rate is usually good when we travel in the spring, too. This time we also made a fall golf trip. They do have an indoor pool and hot tub (water doesn't get too hot). They closed the outdoor pool soon after Labor Day, which I think is strange. Would have liked to hang out. But, it rained practically the whole time we were there, so no big deal this visit. Check-in can be an issue when a large group comes in. A Waffle House is right out front for fans of this food. If you're picky, this might not be the place for you. It is an older hotel. Housekeeping kept the room clean. Minor mold in the bathroom grout and shower curtain. But. it's convenient to several golf courses being off 75. Gas stations on the corner with fast food. Lots of fellow golfers in the halls.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We had booked this hotel online for a couple of days while we visited family. We had specifically chosen this hotel bc of the indoor recreation center so our children would be able to play and relax as we had driven cross country. Upong check-in we discovered that the recreation area was completely closed off bc they were repainting. No apologies were offered and neither was any compensation. We then needed to use the internet and surprise, that didn't work either. Again, no apologies just some lame excuse about the phone lines still being down from the night before. The room was small, smelled awful, and definately needed to be updated. The rest of the hotel was the same, except for the lobby. Strip club is across the street! The breakfast was decent but not any better than the other hotels we had stayed at over the last 4 days. With all of the other options available in this area, I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calibound2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We stayed here overnight on our way to Memphis. It was OK for the night because we had to do laundry and they had machines. Even though we had a non smoking room I felt the sheets smelled of stale smoke and it kept me awake all night.
The breakfast they serve is excellent . They have many choices including hot items.
They have a nice pool and good outdoor space.
They staff are friendly and helpful. Would I stay here again? Probably not.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corky12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I have stayed at this hotel before and intend to stay there everytime I am in the area.

This is not the Ritz Carlton, it is a Holiday Inn. For a Holiday Inn, and Holiday Inn class hotels, this is one of the best. I have always found the staff to be courteous and friendly, and very helpful. The rooms have always been neat and clean, and it seems like they always have some work going on to repair or improve the facility, or the rooms.

The central courtyard is a treasure. You may sit in your room or outside your room and enjoy the weather or ambience, or lounge at the patio tables or use the outdoor pool.

I found the pool to be very clean and comfortable. The pool gently tapers between 3 feet and 5 feet, but then drops rapidly. If you cannot swim be sure you do not venture past the 5 foot line.

The complementary breakfast was nice and the sausages were almost greaseless. Very enjoyable.

The cost per night was very reasonable.

I would recommend this hotel to my friends

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Durfmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
10.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Conference Center North
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
6.1 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#23 of 71 in Lexington
236 reviews
9.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Lexington
Candlewood Suites Lexington
#32 of 71 in Lexington
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Conference Center South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Conference Center South

Address: 5532 Athens Boonesboro Rd, I-75 at Exit 104, Lexington, KY 40509-9491 (Formerly Best Western Lexington Conference Center Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Lexington
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lexington
#17 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £59 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel Conference Center South 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington, conveniently located on I-75 and Exit 104, is only minutes away from the popular attractions like Keeneland, University of Kentucky, Rupp Arena, and the Kentucky Horse Park. Adesa, Overnite Transportation, Amazon, St. Joseph and Shriners Hospitals, Ashland Oil, and Kentucky Basketball Academy are less than 15 minutes from the hotel. Clarion Hotel Conference Center South Lexington offers heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, whirlpool, business center, and fitness room. Parking and wireless internet access is always free, and guests will love the daily complimentary hot breakfast bar. Bennigan’s Restaurant is open daily offering favorites you know and love. The hotel is a perfect place to hold a business meetings, family reunions, or wedding receptions. Whether you're planning a small meeting of 20 people or a large reception for 300 people, our sales office and on-site catering service staff are ready to make your event a complete success. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Conference Center South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lexington Hotel Lexington
Lexington Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing