We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First "poor" review I have ever written.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
Ranked #28 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“First "poor" review I have ever written.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had made reservations at this hotel as I had stayed in it before with no problems and knew it to be clean, safe, and reasonably priced. They also allow pets and I had my dog with me. This time, I checked into the hotel with the usual uneventful check-in. Desk staff was friendly and quick. There were signs on the doors and in the lobby that said something to the effect of "pardon our mess... we are remodeling". So I got my room key, drove around to the outside entrance into the building nearest to my room and went inside. In the hallway were multiple large industrial fans blowing. They almost completely blocked the hallway, but I was able to weave through them to find my room. All the doors to the rooms previous to my room were wide open and there was a chemical smell of some sort, so I assumed they had been painting (remember the remodeling signs?) and went to my room. Upon entering the room, I discovered that it had a strong odor as well and appeared to be partially freshly painted. On the bedside table was a white powdery substance that I hope was plaster but didn't really want to find out. Not wanting to deal with the smell and the mystery substance, I went back to the front desk and explained the situation. They told me they had not been painting but had cleaned the carpets and that must be the smell. Then they gave me another room. This room was on another wing of the same side of the building. When I went into this room, my dog quickly leaped onto the bed. I led him back onto the floor and he immediately jumped back on the bed again as if he did not want to be on the floor. (Fleas?) Anyway, this room did not have a smell or a white powdery substance. Instead, it had a sticky gooey substance, a large spot of it, in the carpet on the far side of the bed. The room was "straightened" but did not appear particularly clean. I also noticed that this entire wing (including the hall w/ the fans) appeared to be abandoned. I had seen other people going in and out on the other side of the hotel and it did occur to me that perhaps, with the dog, they were putting me on the empty side that was having renovations. Deciding to ask for another room, I took my dog and went to my car to drive around. That is when I walked past the hooker in the parking lot who was busy working out a deal. Nope. Not staying. I did not even bother to let the desk know. I just left and found another hotel. I figured they would only give me yet another room and not refund my money. With "deals" going down in the parking lot, I decided I really didn't want to be out walking my dog at night and went to another hotel. For what it's worth, this is the third time I had been at this hotel and the previous two stays were fine. Perhaps after the renovations are over, it will improve.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volfan42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA2240, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Im terribly sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us, Our renovations are now complete on the first floor I do wish I was aware of this at the time that this happened I would have like to have been able to investigate the situations as well as the rooms. None of our hotel is ever abandoned we stay pretty full at all times we do however have certain pet rooms our pest control company sprays all rooms and inspects regularly for any insects. I do hope that you might give us another chance as you said this was the first bad experience I am terribly sorry this was unpleasant but would like the chance to prove to you that our hotel has grown and is getting better every day. Please no matter where you stay always report any activity to the front desk so it can be taken care of immediately. Thank you for taking the time out of your day to respond I appreciate your feed back and will definitely take all of this under advisement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    400
    286
    131
    85
See reviews for
372
356
163
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The motel, price, breakfast and the staff were all so good that we decided to stay there again on our return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Connie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA2240, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments I greatly appreciate all feed back I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and was glad to see you return with us. Thank you again for your comments as well as your business you are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Springs
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This hotel is at the very lowest rung of acceptable accommodations, but just barely. The room lighting was poor and the room was dark and dingy.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank 689Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TERESA2240, Front Office Manager at Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments I appreciate the feed back and will look into correcting the issues, our rooms are in the middle of being renovated and we are trying to remedy the lighting situation with the design given to us. I hope that this issue will be corrected soon. I do hope that you will come stay with us again when you are in the Lexington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#22 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
GuestHouse Inn & Suites Lexington
3.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
Red Roof Inn Lexington North
#39 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
Howard Johnson Inn Lexington
#44 of 71 in Lexington
3.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
6.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Lexington South / Hamburg
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#36 of 71 in Lexington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington
Address: 2240 Buena Vista, Lexington, KY 40505
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Microtel Inn of Lexington is located just off interstate 75 at exit 110. Come check out all that Lexington has to offer.We are minutes from downtown, Hamburg shopping area, University of Kentucky Hospital, St Joseph Hospital, Transylvania University, Kentucky University, 9.5 miles to the Bluegrass Airport, Keeneland horse racing and 10 miles from the Kentucky Horse Park. Rupp arena is less than 4.5 miles from our hotel. We offer renovated rooms with new carpet. Our rooms are all equipped with flat screen televisions. We are blessed to have a wonderful staff with excellent customer service skills. Our hot breakfast includes biscuits and gravy, sausage, hard boiled eggs, danish, bagels, donuts, muffins, hot and cold cereal and fruit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites By Wyndham Lexington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn Lexington Hotel Lexington
Microtel Lexington
Lexington Microtel
Microtel Hotel Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing