We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWH.............The Corn Pudding!!!”
Review of Red State BBQ

Red State BBQ
Ranked #7 of 903 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Clinton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWH.............The Corn Pudding!!!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Gotta luv it!!!!! Everything made fresh daily....Need more Bread Pudding Daily,,,,,,Enjoy keep up the Good Work

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dxrhoden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    230
    67
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Made three visits within a week. Pulled pork plate is delicious and every side we tried was good. We had corn pudding, baked beans, cole slaw, beer cheese grits and french fries. All the sides are homemade daily but portions of sides could be a little larger. On one of the visits we had barbecue sandwiches to go while we were traveling. Not a good idea. There is so much pork you need both hands. The peach bread pudding is very good but the last time we visited they were out of the bourbon ice cream which makes it even better. Delicious. Service has been great.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jean y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“#1 out of 748? Come on!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I have a feeling someone has been padding the books on Red State BBQ. It was good BBQ, even very good, but #1 restaurant in the Lexington area? I do not think so. I would think the atmosphere would have to count for something. This is not your sit down fancy place at all. It is CLOSE to US25, I mean close. Those big trucks go by at 60 miles an hour, you feel it.

BBQ Very Good
Beans Excellent
Cole Slaw Good, too running for creamy type
Beer Cheese Grits Good, probably real good. Tasted just like the name, but TOO beer cheesy for my taste
Deserts Do not know, because they were out of their signature items, on a Saturday night

I like how they had four or five different sauces on each table to choose from.

People were GREAT, the people and the BBQ are the BEST qualities at Red State.

All and all, I would go back because their BBQ is very good.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank koko0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
radiodavelex, Owner at Red State BBQ, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear koko0707,

I'd ask that you please take a moment to read the prior reviews of our restaurant and where those contributions are coming from. It would be impossible for us to pad them. Of late we've been getting two, sometimes three reviews per day. Many are from Senior Contributors and Senior Reviewers such as yourself. In addition, Red State has the good fortune of being close to the Kentucky Horse Park where hundreds of thousands of people visit each year and two miles from I-75 where just over 50,000 travelers pass exit 120 on a daily basis. That's why you'll see reviews from Saint John, Michigan or Baraboo, Wisconsin, and from as far away as the United Kingdom.

Either way, we apologize for your subpar dining experience, but thank you for taking the time to review our food and your dining experience.

Sincerely,
David Carroll
Owner,
Red State BBQ
859-797-4361
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome BBQ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Holy cow great bbq !!! Go here and eat!!! BBQ was awesome and the sides were alllll great!! Best service!!! Go go go u will love it!!!

Helpful?
Thank tsov1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baraboo, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stopped here on the recommendation of a tour guide and were not disappointed. Not a very big place, but the food had massive flavor. The prices are reasonable and the portions are big. The only downside is the parking off a very busy highway. I would recommend parking near the motel so you don't have to try to back out into traffic.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TimChristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red State BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Red State BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing