We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good, some bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Mile

The Red Mile
Ranked #28 of 116 things to do in Lexington
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Some good, some bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I had been looking forward to visiting this historic track for some time. And I admit that it is charming. The track itself is well-maintained and you get closer to the action than at any track I'd ever been to. And instead of a wire fence neck-high, there is a brick 2 foot high fence separating the crowd from the track in some areas. It's difficult not to love. In addition, there is a guy that runs the gift shop out of the clubhouse entry that is the best I've ever seen at a harness track. All kinds of shirts in sizes from infant to 6X. Mugs, hats, etc. A great place to shop for a harness racing fan.

That said, there were issues. The clubhouse wasn't open for live racing, which is sad. And while there is an area to order food and sit down while watching simulcasting, it's poorly maintained, with TV's not working at some tables. My wife called several times in advance trying to coordinate a winner's circle photo for our one-time visiting the track, and never got a call back.

There are definitely facility management issues keeping this from being a top-notch racetrack.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    16
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Race Track”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This is a very nice race track in Lexington! The area around it is very pretty and it is a typical track you see in North Carolina. I would love to go back to see a race here again. I believe the races fall on Thursday and Sunday evenings in August.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Prairieprof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“historically beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

been here several times over the last 3 years with our best friends to watch races and see their horses and enjoy it every time.It's a classic racetrack, not the conglomerate type. It's old school harness racing with some of the class bloodlines in the Standardbred Industry.
don't miss a chance to go

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our first time at the Lexington Junior League and we will come again. It was amazing !! The horses and riders were such an experience to watch !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KathrinE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A harness racing icon that must be see!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Harness racing is an All-American icon and the Red Mile is awesome. Go during the racing meet and see how great this type of racing is. The grounds are old school at its best ! They even have a horse sale in October and you can watch buyers bidding on their next harness racer.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Mile also viewed

 

Been to The Red Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing