We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky
Ranked #37 of 71 Hotels in Lexington
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We wanted to be near the University of Kentucky for a volleyball tournament and this was certainly very close to campus. We asked the front desk about good local eating places and shop and their recommendations were spot on. Our room was perfect for our needs--nice to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. It was clean. The fitness room had brand new equipment that allowed current technology to plug in. Breakfast was fine (wish I could say there was something special but it was not that memorable frankly--but nothing wrong with it all either!). Enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillLexington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for choosing SpringHill Suites while in Lexington. We are thrilled to have met your needs & truly appreciate your positive review. Thanks again & we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

We stayed here because we were in town for a wedding. They did let us check in a little early...so that was nice. The room was fairly large and clean. But the carpet had stains and the furniture was kind of dated. Would like a regular coffee table...not just a small little square table by the sofa. No table to eat at...etc. Beds were fairly comfortable. Bathroom was big. But the staff was not very friendly and it seemed the maids were oblivious to the fact that having to walk around their carts and huge piles of laundry is not great for customers. And the doors to their service areas were open. And not once did any of them smile or say hi. And there was a group of teenage boys who seemed to be taking over the hotel. They were at the fireplace when we came in...and stared at my daughter. And they were in the hot tub later when we wanted to maybe use that. And then they were at the computer when my husband needed to use it. I have a feeling they might have been related to one of the maids and not actually guests of the hotel. I was never recognized as being a Marriott reward member. The breakfast was bland....frozen egg patties, four odd types of cereal....a little fruit...a waffle maker...some pastries. It just was not anything special. They advertise that coffee is available at all hours in the lobby. We only saw the coffee there at breakfast. I will probably not choose this hotel the next time I am in Lexington. Behind the hotel is the Red Mile racing track. And the rate for the night before we stayed was almost DOUBLE because of the UK game. SO we only stayed one night. I don't like it when hotels almost double their price because of a special event......

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndianaKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillLexington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you so much for your stay & I apologize for your average experience. We strive to exceed our guests' expectations & pride ourselves on excellent customer service. While groups & sports teams can be a challenge, your value is our first priority & we hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Please let us know if we can be of assistance on your next trip to the Lexington area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

For this month we incorporated our family fun day with a Boy Scout outing, so we came to Lexington the night before.

We were able to receive a military discount, a plus.

Our room was a different layout then what we have seen before, a plus.

The pool, which was the reason we picked this hotel was not what you would think base on the pictures, which leads you to believe it is much bigger than what it is, a big negative (especially when traveling with kids).

Really good hot breakfast, a plus.

If traveling with kids, we won't be back. If traveling without kids, maybe.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank medic1644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringHillLexington, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you so much for choosing SpringHill Suites for your family fun day. I'm sorry our pool didn't meet your needs but glad to hear you enjoyed our other amenities. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the Lexington area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed there for University of Kentucky December graduation. While hotel was full, staff was attentive and room rate was not very high. Clean and quiet. Rooms quite roomy and comfortable. Pillows a bit soft but bed good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Paid for a king bed, but it was not a king. Very small bathroom, no place to put your clothes, and very small bedroom. Had to watch TV on the bed,because you couldn't sit comfortably on the couch and watch. no real coffee table, so no place to eat. Bring your own tolietries! asked for extra shampoo, because there was only 1 tiny container of shampoo, conditioner, lotion for 2 people, and then I got ONE small container! Considering it was Thanksgiving week (Nov. 23-26)3 nites, they could have decorated the hotel for xmas, they had a fireplace in the lobby, only turned it on after I asked, (it was also freezing outside). Very generic hotel. They started closing the breakfast up to 1/2 hr before the end, lot's of people coming down, nothing really left. Pool was so small, we were there for 3 nites and we didn't even go in it. more than 2 people and it would be crowded. If we go down to Kentucky again for the Bourbon Trail, we definitely will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joanlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Fantastic hotel, room nice and clean. Usually don't.t rave about comp break fast, but the springhill was excellent! Only stayed 1 night as a stop over but would highly recommend this hotel if in the Lexington area.

Room Tip: 4th floor facing the red Mile
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mamdog1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights for work at the UK campus. The property is very close to the medical campus which was ideal. Staff was friendly and hotel was fine. Building is a bit older but in good functioning. The location of the property is right by a restaurant and abandoned gas station... The latter being weird but not awful in any way. I would stay here again if in the area as it was in the right place for a very reasonable price.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Peekie45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lexington hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Lexington- Downtown / University
1 mi away
Hilton Lexington Downtown
Hilton Lexington Downtown
#12 of 71 in Lexington
1,227 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Lexington
Hyatt Regency Lexington
#7 of 71 in Lexington
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lexington
Staybridge Suites Lexington
#28 of 71 in Lexington
114 reviews
2.5 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Lexington University / Medical Center
2 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky

Address: 863 S Broadway, Lexington, KY 40504-2601
Region: United States > Kentucky > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lexington
Price Range: £90 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Lexington Near the University of Kentucky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Lexington Near The University Of Kentucky Hotel Lexington
Lexington Springhill Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing