We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent bar in Lexington!!”
Review of Bluegrass Tavern

Bluegrass Tavern
Ranked #379 of 913 Restaurants in Lexington
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Southern New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent bar in Lexington!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Seven of us came to Lexington for a bachelor party this past weekend and this place was awesome! The first night we ended up coming here after hanging out in Cheapside Park for Thursday Night Live which was a blast in itself, tons of people drinking outside amongst the bars that are there along with drink tents outside, real good vibe. Being as that it was a bachelor party we wanted to be a little ridiculous and we were in town to head to the derby, we brought a unicorn mask and a viking helmet for the groom to wear...which many of us ended up wearing them throughout the night. Everyone loved it, everyone that passed by us wanted to take pictures with us...the vibe was a good fun party vibe. We came back the next night all decked out in our derby's finest gear since we it was going to be pouring rain at the derby and we wanted to get some use out of it, they remembered us and wanted us to stay there again. Special shout out to Chris the bartender who makes a mean old fashioned and loves to have a good time! Awesome spot, needs a check out if in Lexington!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjruper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    4
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Oe a few excellent Lex bourbon bars”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The best amongst a strong lot of excellent bars with skilled mixologists and excellent bourbon selections. While the food experience we had in Kentucky was disappointing, we had almost flawless bar and bourbon experiences. This was our favourite bar in Lexington with very rare bourbons..and some with the prices to match.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChillyAlbertans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bourbon Selection in Lexington”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Nice little spot with a lot of Bourbon to pick from. Did not give them five stars because they serve no food at all and I went too a similar bar in Louisville that did. Would definitely go back, but would have to eat dinner first :(. However, if you want the best Bourbon selection in Lexington, look no further.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best Place for Bourbon in the Bluegrass”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Bluegrass Tavern is not to be missed if you are a bourbon aficianado. They have and extensive collection of bourbons amidst a very well stocked bar. Their bar staff are knowledgeable and can help you make selections. I planned a trip to Lexington recently that included an evening blocked out for the Bluegrass Tavern. I wanted to try some of the bourbons that I had read about in Bourbon Review Magazine and the experience did not disappoint. It is cozy and cool at the same time and if you are lucky the staff of Bourbon Review Magazine might just pop in for a drink, as happened to me when I was there. Best of all it is just a block or two from the downtown hotels and Rupp Arena and it is open late for any post game, post conference or post event socializing.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Bourbon Paradise”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

This is a straight up bar/tavern. No food or music - just lots of bourbon. It appears to be older than it is with a warm and "antique" atmosphere. The bartender however left a lot to be desired. He just wasn't interested in being friendly or very helpful - too bad.
If you're wanting to a bourbon you've never heard of it this is the place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank protravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluegrass Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Bluegrass Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing