We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food - Better Servie” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coba Cocina - CLOSED

Coba Cocina
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish, American, Southwestern, Latin, Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Some guys are born curious. They can't just wonder what's around the corner. They've got to go see for themselves. The Greers are like that with food. You might call them culinary explorers. You might run into Lee tracking the true cubano in a Tampa barrio, the perfect pork chop in a Rio churrascaria. Phil sweet talking the secret of sweet corn tamales out of an ancient abuela in a Yucatan taqueria. One or both hot on the trail of the tastiest brisket taco. The most piquant Peruvian ceviche. The most authentic salsa. Margaritas that'll make you want to mambo. Whatever wows them on their travels, they bring right on back home. To wow you at Coba Cocina, Cobar Cantina, and Cocoh! Confectioner.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food - Better Servie”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I go back for the fajitas however the service still isn't where it should be for lunch. I'll keep giving it a chance because the food is so delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AfsiLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    76
    36
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fajita!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Try the fajitas, it has steak and chicken, i tried the steak one and it was awesome, it was sizzling!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank eliasjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Interesting restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I ordered the enchiladas and got one of each of them (except the one with spinach). It came with rice and re-fried beans. One had beef, one had chicken, and the other was some type of fish. They were topped with lots of sauces and when it came out the presentation was great! Upon eating the dish, i was disappointed with the flavor and the sauces on top were average.

The queso, salsa, and refried bean dip that we started with as an appetizer were all pretty good - but were nothing special. We do plan on going back to try the gelato at Cocoh! Confectioner though.

Lastly, the environment was pretty cool and watching the jellyfish at least provided us with something interesting to look at and talk about. And the service was excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Las Vegas, baby! What a building!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic building, fashion forward and beautiful, even the jellyfish. We had Sunday lunch here decided to try it because we drive past it as it caught our eyes. The prices were very reasonable, the food was plentiful for the price and very well presented. My daughter had fajitas and they were good but the platen did not come to the table steaming. We were looked after and the manager came to ask of we were enjoying the experience, yes it was what I see when I visit Vegas for trade show business. I hope they make it. The building cost a fortune and they need more traffic, a more business setting, downtown would make it a hit but it is a little remote, you need a car. We will be back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 6009interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fancy architecture, noisy, noisy, noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Recommend by hotel clerk. Mexican food just fine and price OK. Building is remarkable in the clerk (above) described the building more than the food. My experience was a noise level that reminded me of the dining hall in my army days. Loud, loud, loud. People dining should be able to converse without strain. Not here. The hard surfaces of the building reflect sound, IMO.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jimmy62_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coba Cocina also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing