We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home cooking!”
Review of Ramsey's Diner

Ramsey's Diner
Ranked #5 of 921 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Adamsville, tn
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great home cooking!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited Ramsey's for dinner. It was late and the restaurant wasn't very crowded. Sarah was our waitress and she was fabulous, so sweet and friendly. We all had the meat and three of different menu items. The food was wonderful and portions are very generous. The vegetables are locally grown during the summer months. Don't miss this locally owned establishment.

Helpful?
Thank Nanette1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    253
    67
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The place for a homestyle Kentuckian taste”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

If you want something Kentuckian, Ramsey's is the place. Perhaps the food is not amazing, or the highest quality, but it is Kentuckian, and like the environment of the restaurants, it is comfortable. Don't go if you are expecting the best food you can imagine. Go there if you like real Kentucky food, or want to know what that is. Unfortunately all the Ramsey's restaurants I have been to get a little more business than they can comfortably keep up with, at least during peak hours, and there have been several times when they could not keep everything on the menu available. But if someone wants to know what Kentucky food is, this is probably the best restaurant to take them to.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lexington R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good Prices, Good Portions”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We dined at Ramsey's while visiting friends in Lexington. The prices were very reasonable and the portions were large.

My husband had the Hot Brown as we were told it was a real Lexington dish. He enjoyed it so much that he's trying to recreate it at home. I had a Reuben and it was more than I could finish.

Our friend's son had the buffalo chicken tenders and they were too spicy for him. I could smell the buffalo sauce across the table, clearing my sinuses.

We did not have any dessert, but our friends said that their pies are amazing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great local place with home cooking!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful local restaurant with lots of choices! Hot brown is amazing, also great omelets, turkey Reuben, and Cajun catfish, just to name a few! Veggies are also delicious, especially when locally grown produce is featured. New location in Zandale has a lovely, open, atmosphere and has quickly become my family's favorite Ramsey's in town!

Helpful?
Thank LaurenB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“UNDER-cooked (Raw would be more accurate)”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

AFTER reading good reviews... we went to Ramsey's. Absolutely could not eat anything ordered,. Deep-fried pork chops looked great, however the only thing done was the flour crust....meat was raw!!! DO not order anything they coat with flour and serve as deep-fried or fried. Even the fried green tomatoes were not at all done. Same thing about the corn on cob. ABSOLUTELY raw. Waiter ask why we were not eating...we explained that none of our food was done,,,,,manager came out and stated they could broil the undercook food for us. We ask for bill....paid and that will be the first and last time at Ramsey's. Also when we were ordering, we ask for any type of bread other than cornbread. Waiter stated that is all they served...however on their breakfast menu states they offer white toast??? As Ray Price (country music singer)stated, "there are people out there starving for it and can't get it." He was talking about county music...same goes for country, home-cooked meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramsey's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ramsey's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing