We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Atmosphere and Food”

Cheapside Bar & Grill
Ranked #224 of 900 Restaurants in Lexington
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cheapside is located in the heart of Downtown Lexington. Three blocks from Rupp Arena facing Cheapside Park & the Fifth Third Pavilion. We have been serving great food and fabulous beverages for over 30 years. Our menu features variety: great burgers, sandwiches, smoked and roasted meats, and a new and growing section of the menu featuring fresh and Modern Mexican cuisine. We feature a large selection of premium tequilas, craft beers and classic cocktails. Cheapside has long been known as a great place for outdoor dining and Happy hour on our famous Patio and the Oasis deck. Also featuring the best in local live entertainment on weekends. Come for a great dinner and stay for the party!
Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere and Food”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

The food was good and the menu diverse. It is certainly upscale for the pub atmosphere that surrounds you. I enjoyed my salmon and tavern tots. The outdoor seating is excellent and service was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4CornersScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    50
    34
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscola, Illinois
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“busy place with so many dining options”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were looking for a place to eat outdoors and decided on Cheapside. It is appealing from outside the entry with so many people at the various bars and dining in the courtyard. We requested an outside table and were directed to one that was open to the outside through several removed windows. This option kept a roof over our head and some of the a/c air blowing on us as well. When a table did open upstairs he did offer this to us, but we were satisfied with where we were. The server was quite pleasant, but it was apparent that she had a number of tables and not all were in the same area as our table making it more difficult to give good service, but she did try. THe menu was not huge, but offered a number of choices. It did not take that long for our food to arrive and honestly it was very good and not something that I had eaten before. I would go back to Cheapsiders and hopefully next time sit outside on the patio or the elevated patio above that potentially has a view.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tuscolaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very busy holiday!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our server Olivia apologized for the busy festival crowd and proceeded to make our visit fun! It was the 4th of July and the place was a madhouse!! Under the circumstances our food was wonderful and service was outstanding! Olivia had her hands full, but made us feel welcome and kept up the best she could!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
111 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent food, enjoyed the upstairs patio”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

The food was good, the service was good and the upstairs patio was a nice way to eat on a warm summer evening.

Two complaints. First - the menu on this site is out of date. Second, their lemonade was all ice and they charge for refills.

The short ribs made a great meal, with everything they included. My wife was happy they would turn the cajun salmon sandwich into a grilled salmon sandwich.

Liked the old menu better. This was a day trip to Ashland Henry Clay Estate, and we might visit again when in the area. A good choice for a relaxing dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave-OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
126 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Loud like a college bar”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Cheapside B and G is downtown and has an older inside bar area, and a couple more modern (I use the word advisedly) added on, with some outside seating and some upstairs on a deck-like arrangement. The music throbs which means you probably could plot the death of the planet at your table without anyone knowing but you might not be able to hear afterwards. That said, the music mix is eclectic and good. The margarita was fine, nothing exceptional, as were the ribs and the chicken quesadilla. Half a rack of ribs is a lot of meat, so plan accordingly. Beer choices were not outstanding. I would classify this a great place to hang with a bunch of buds interested in some serious drinking or a large and loud girls' night out sort of place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travel035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cheapside Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Cheapside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing