We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick with the Barbeque - Burgoo was disappointing”
Review of Billy's Bar-B-Q - CLOSED

Billy's Bar-B-Q
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stick with the Barbeque - Burgoo was disappointing”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The barbeque mutton was outstanding - you can tell it it is very slow-cooked, but the burgoo tasted like a tomatoey vegtable soup. Staff/service is a plus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John_B_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    41
    20
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“GO TO THE PIT”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really good food and excellent service. Very family oriented. Best barbecue ribs I had while in Lexington. But also my daughter tried a MOTEN burger which we didn't knew was it was and she was really happy she tried it. Fries are great and the shakes incredible. A must to visit!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMAURAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago area
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good local spot”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is a nice local place with good food and a good craft beer selection. I had the BBQ mutton and my husband had the BBQ pork and both were very good. Baked beans, cornbread, and green beans were also really good. Slaw and onion rings were pretty flavorless. The onion rings were swimming in grease; and I'm someone who likes greasy comfort food, but this was way too much. Staff were very friendly and food came out quickly, so overall this place is worth a visit, just beware the deep fried foods.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tweeter_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Just OK.”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We ate at 5:00 on a Tuesday and had the restaurant pretty much to ourselves. The staff was friendly and our food was served minutes after we ordered. We ordered the beef and pork dinners as well as pulled pork sandwich meals for the kids. The beef and pork was moist and tasty but the sauce was nasty...and I love vinegar, it just tastes like straight vinegar. The green beans, new potatoes, french fries and corn bread sides were all OK, nothing great. The onion rings were inedible. They were so fried they were just a huge stuck together blob of crunchy, greasy half burned cardboard. It hurt my teeth trying to chew them...repulsive!

This was not the worst BBQ we have had but, if you have had good BBQ, you won't be too impressed!

Helpful?
Thank AZLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livonia, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Forget Memphis, Lexington has the best BBQ!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Wow, we wanted to try a mom and pop place with good BBQ, this is it. Have you ever had pulled mutton? They have it and it is awesome! The sauce is boss and the meat is sweet and delicious. A great selection of local beers on tap and awesome down-home service. Go for the cheese grits and the black-eyed peas... trust me!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TK2012114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Billy's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing