We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern Style”

Lexington Visitors Center
Ranked #13 of 117 things to do in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: When you are in the Horse Capital of the World, be sure to stop by and see us at our new downtown Visitor Center, 401 West Main Street, in Victorian Square. Look for the awning with the famous blue horse, Big Lex. We are open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. (Open Sunday afternoons from noon till 5 p.m. in the summer.) Speak with a Visitor Information Specialist, browse our informative brochures and maps, watch videos about the Bluegrass Region on one of five interactive screens and check out our Bourbon still and other memorabilia.
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Greenville, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Southern Style”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Tucked away, downtown, in the midst of construction, you'll find some knowledgeable southern women who just won't steer you wrong. They knew where we should eat, and gave us a few local haunts, suggested some off the beaten trail shopping excursions and dealt with a group of six adults all with different tastes, all with charm and grace!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    22
    11
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best Stop in Lexington”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

If you are planning a trip to Lexington, stop here first! The staff is very knowledgeable and extremely helpful. We spent a good deal of time discussing downtown, bourbon, horses, and driving tours. The scenic tour that Connie recommended as we headed back to Cincinnati proved to be beautiful. She also suggested that we eat lunch in Midway at Wallace Station and it was delicious! Kudos to the Lexington Visitors Center!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank msc196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“your one-stop shop”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I stopped in as I am preparing to move to Lexington. Lyn and Connie took very good care of me with maps, brochures, tips, etc. I also enjoyed the complimentary stickers, postcards, etc. While there I overheard a lot of folks ask questions about bourbon tasting, so they are well-versed on a lot of activities around town.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kcooksey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Glad I stopped by”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

The people at the visitor's center were really friendly and told us all about the area. They suggested we go see some of the horse farms on the Bluegrass driving tour which covers about 30 horse farms. They showed us the roads to take on the map. It was self-paced and free. Some of the barns for these horse farms cost over a million dollars with gold handles and ornamentation. As you can imagine, the tour was very scenic. We saw quite a few horses out grazing and the pastures were huge. It looked like a lot of upkeep and money. The visitor's center also gave us free Lexington stickers, bookmarks and postcards.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Jaybee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, SC
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good information”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Great information on sites to visit, recreation, hotels, etc. for Lexington and surrounding areas! Good rest area also! Discount coupon books are available, free of charge!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbDarlington_SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lexington Visitors Center also viewed

 

Been to Lexington Visitors Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing